Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful ocean view from our room.

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Great place to go for a Valentines Weekend. Great beach access. Terrific tennis courts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful hotel and property overlooking the ocean

Posted Feb 9, 2016
We took our two dogs. Our room was adjacent to a park and long coastal trail where we were able to run/walk with our pups. Also good for biking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, peaceful place to get away from it all.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
My husband, daughter and I visited for a weekend in November. The hotel is exquisitely decorated and the grounds are beautiful. We had a ground-floor room with an ocean view and a fire pit. One of the staff members gave us a s'mores "kit" and the experience of making s'mores while listening to the waves was priceless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great room, eventually

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Arriving to a glass of champagne is always a great way to start. The Ritz has figured out that the frustration of waiting in line to check in could easily be tempered by a free glass of the bubbly; good move. Of course, I could be blamed for ordering the "limited view" room but when my wife and I walked in and saw the balcony view of the parking lot, I exclaimed "Expedia does it again". Ever since the first time I reserved through Expedia, when I received a broom closet for a room at hotel in NY and was told by the front desk that this was the "Expedia room", I've been a bit wary. Seemed that the Ritz was no different. However, a trip back to the front desk (and another glass of champagne later), we were switched to a much nicer room overlooking the garden area with a partial ocean view. Kind of wonder what would have happened had we had a reservation longer than one night. In any case, the Ritz reacted quickly and graciously to our predicament. From that point on, we enjoyed the view, the bar, the restaurant (Raya), the outdoor bar (wish we had known about this one prior to the inside bar), the beach. By the way, there is a refrigerator and coffee maker hidden behind a mirrored door; found that out as we were leaving....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Hotel with beautiful view

Posted Oct 5, 2015
The staff was very friendly and all requests were accommodated. An issue arose affecting my stay and comfort and they immediately offered to resolve it by offering to discount my bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Champagne at arrival. Executive Suite with an ocean view and some of the most customer-focused staff imaginable. Tiffany at the front desk works from a well rehearsed script and she nails it. Couldn't be happier with our visit.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Not five star. Conseage did not call me as promised. No turn down service. No amenities in bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

calm and peace

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Casual and friendly
Calm and peaceful weekend getaway where you have access to the beach. The hotel is on a cliff and you can walk down to the beach, which is secluded so it feels like a private beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

High-end Holiday Inn.

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The staff - without exception they were cheerful, efficient and a joy to be around.
Cons: The rooms, but this would require a major remodeling.
Location: We spent all three nights sightseeing and dining in Laguna Beach.
The rooms are surprisingly small and poorly designed. Each room has an ENORMOUS, individual air conditioner which randomly goes off and on, even during the evening hours when you're trying to sleep. We initially asked for a different room and the front desk was very courteous and accommodating, but we cancelled the request when we realized all the rooms were identical. It took a couple of days, but we eventually got used to the air conditioner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Great! The location and stay was awesome. I would come back again.