Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful hotel and property overlooking the ocean

Posted Feb 9, 2016
We took our two dogs. Our room was adjacent to a park and long coastal trail where we were able to run/walk with our pups. Also good for biking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, peaceful place to get away from it all.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
My husband, daughter and I visited for a weekend in November. The hotel is exquisitely decorated and the grounds are beautiful. We had a ground-floor room with an ocean view and a fire pit. One of the staff members gave us a s'mores "kit" and the experience of making s'mores while listening to the waves was priceless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great room, eventually

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Arriving to a glass of champagne is always a great way to start. The Ritz has figured out that the frustration of waiting in line to check in could easily be tempered by a free glass of the bubbly; good move. Of course, I could be blamed for ordering the "limited view" room but when my wife and I walked in and saw the balcony view of the parking lot, I exclaimed "Expedia does it again". Ever since the first time I reserved through Expedia, when I received a broom closet for a room at hotel in NY and was told by the front desk that this was the "Expedia room", I've been a bit wary. Seemed that the Ritz was no different. However, a trip back to the front desk (and another glass of champagne later), we were switched to a much nicer room overlooking the garden area with a partial ocean view. Kind of wonder what would have happened had we had a reservation longer than one night. In any case, the Ritz reacted quickly and graciously to our predicament. From that point on, we enjoyed the view, the bar, the restaurant (Raya), the outdoor bar (wish we had known about this one prior to the inside bar), the beach. By the way, there is a refrigerator and coffee maker hidden behind a mirrored door; found that out as we were leaving....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Tokyo

Three nights....

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Three night stay in October 2015. Room was a "Laguna View" on north side of the complex with a nice view of the ocean. Room felt a little on the small side but was well set up. Service was exception from the bell captain to reception desk to the servers at Dana Pool Cafe (lunch), 180blu (cocktails, dinner), enoSTEAK (dinner) and Raya (breakfast) In particular, enoSTEAK stood out and we had a fabulous dinner there the last night. Prices seemed reasonable to me especially considering being located in an upscale hotel - but we didn't get into the wine. Only one cocktail each (which were perfect). The only negatives were the events on the lawns near our room. A bit of noise on the first night when the event stage and tables were being deconstructed and loaded onto trucks (finished at 1030pm-ish). Other events had an area sectioned off that we wanted to access to watch the sunset (so we had to walk a bit to the south side of the complex). Minor comments really but you may want to ask if there are events near your room, especially if you have young children. Overall, would definitely recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Hotel with beautiful view

Posted Oct 5, 2015
The staff was very friendly and all requests were accommodated. An issue arose affecting my stay and comfort and they immediately offered to resolve it by offering to discount my bill.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amy from CA

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Was very disappointed in room options. Their description of "limited view" did not imply first floor, noisy pool front. We asked several times to change rooms to move away from the kids & the pool (after all, it was a couple's get away) and never heard back from the front desk. Incredibly disappointing - especially for the extravagant price. In addition, layout of the hotel is expansive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Champagne at arrival. Executive Suite with an ocean view and some of the most customer-focused staff imaginable. Tiffany at the front desk works from a well rehearsed script and she nails it. Couldn't be happier with our visit.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Not five star. Conseage did not call me as promised. No turn down service. No amenities in bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Christopher from San Diego, California

The Ritz, a 1 year wedding anniversary experience

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Our overall stay at the Ritz was fantastic. From the moment my wife and I drove up to the valet area, we were professionally taken care of and our bags were brought directly to our room making it easier to carry our 10 month old son. We enjoyed all the activities the hotel had to offer. What we liked most was the pool and the beach. The fact that the hotel provided shuttle service and towel service made our experiences that much more enjoyable. We will definitely come again.