Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach

Amazing place

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Absolutely gorgeous room with a balcony over looking the ocean. Staff...amazing! Entertainment at night and food absolutely out of this world. Can't wait for my next stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Way over priced for the quality of service provide

Posted Nov 9, 2016
I have no problem paying good money for a true 5 star hotel, that provides unforgettable customer service and quality environment. I have stayed at many around the world and paid top price, like The Hotel Chateau Eza in the south of France and J.K. Place Firenze in Florence. Locally, many others also meet those standards such as The Grand Del Mar (for a significantly lower price than I paid at the Ritz). However, I am very sorry to say, other than the view from the back of the hotel, I was horribly disappointed in my weekend stay at the Ritz in Laguna. First upon arrival there was only one person at the front desk (helping another guest for 15 minutes) and no other employee in sight, even though I was checking in on a Friday night. Searching for food, I found there was only one restaurant in the hotel, and I just missed the 9:45 last call. The bar had a late night menu, but the $150+ tab got us a few glasses of wine and a mini pizza and chicken wings of the quality you would expect at a bowling alley. That was just the start of the disappointment, throughout the stay I had the feeling as if I was at a fancy Residents Inn; it would take too much of my time to document it all. The nickel and diming for mediocre service continued with the final bill, which included a $30 per night extra “facilities fee” and $40 per night valet parking fee (although Expedia quoted $35--and you are captive for parking at that hotel). Never again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A most gorgeous property in laguna

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Just simply marvelous and quite a beautiful property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southlake texas

The best. First class all the way

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Awesome hotel. Expensive but worth it. Amazing staff from the valet to the front desk, restaurants, lounge, etc. beautiful views from all common areas and restaurants. Kind of wish the main pool faces the ocean, but not a deal breaker...would go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

stunning views and friendly, attentive staff

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: location, staff and amenities
Cons: lobby decor
Location: close to lovely town of Laguna and above one of the finest beaches in Orange County
We had an absolutely terrific experience here - one of our best. I would highly recommend it to both families and couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Relaxing retreat...

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Clean, classy, excellent staff
Cons: no complaints, really!
Location: see above
My friend and I booked a weekend get-a-away to relax, enjoy the scenery, and pamper ourselves. This was just the place to do it all. The spa and pool are secluded and peaceful. We enjoyed yoga in the outdoor gazebo. Amazing views and excellent staff. Clean room and attention to detail throughout. No need to rent a car if you just want to shop and enjoy the beaches. The local trolley will take you up and down the coast where dining and shopping abound, as well as beach hopping! We were very pleased with our choice to spend a few extra dollars and enjoyed every ounce of return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Wife's birthday

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Great getaway! Came for one night to celebrate my wife's 31st birthday. From the min you walk in your feel vip. Everyone was really nice and greeted is by name. Food at raya was delicious. Definitely recommend going there. It is expensive compared to other hotels but worth going at least once. Weather wasn't best so we didn't spend time in the pool. Over all good times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from walnut creek. ca

Worth the price

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Location excellent. Everything about the Ritz was first class. Views fantastic. I would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Great weekend getaway. Everything you would expect from the ritz.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Resption stuff aren't as expected for 5 stars hotel.