Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Beach is close. Del Mar street is very nice.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Nice and clean.
Cons: Hotel appears to be remodeling. Needs a couple of things to make it a very good hotel
Location: Close to downtown - all of the shops and eating places.
Nice visit. Would stay here again! Hotel is still cleaning up and appears to be going through a renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Affordable, nice hotel by the beach

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Clean, balcony, close to everything.
Cons: Check-in should provide details about hotel, i.e. parking, pool, breakfast, laundry services...a simple flyer would've been suffice.
Location: Between the freeway and busy street, but the noise didn't bother us. Everything is within walking distance: pier, downtown, restaurants, shopping.
Very satisfied with our stay. The hotel staff was very courteous and attentive. The walls/doors are thin, which made us a bit nervous since we had two toddlers in the room - we didn't want to annoy other hotel guests. Luckily, our room was close to other "understanding" families. It's family friendly, nice pool, and everything is within walkable distance. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Staff very friendly and accomodating. Nice free breakfast. Decent location. Air conditioning in common areas not working very well, but otherwise a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o

Enjoyed my stay

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Friends I was visiting told me this was a holiday inn or something similiar till very recently. Designers did an amazing job on the make over if this is true. It was my second favorite stay on my trip. I liked the colors and decor at this place. They updated everything well. Much nicer than I expected with a more relaxed feel. I usually book after looking at pictures and reviews. Sometimes the pictures are misleading. This one was accurate. The room, bathroom, everything was updated. Ironically it was one of the least expensive hotels on the trip. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Nice room overlooking San Clemente

Posted Jun 27, 2017
King bed with private hot tub was relaxing and quiet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel. Walking distance to everything

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Quiet and comfortable
Cons: More fruit options and turkey bacon for breakfast. Perhaps grapefruit juice instead of just orange juice. There was no oatmeal either.
Location: walking distance to shops, grocery, coffee and restaurants. Make sure you eat at Hapa's.
Very nice stay. Despite being on the highway side of the hotel, with the window closed there is hardly any road noise. Nothing that would disturb sleep and with the TV on during the day, it was no trouble. Comfortable bed. Not much to the breakfast but it was enough. Everything was clean and comfortable. Kept the do not disturb sign on the door and wasn't bothered at all. Easy check in and out. Walking distance to grocery store, coffee, town and a quick ride to the beach. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Todd Forester GM, Hotel Management
Thank you Jai for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to your return. They just started a free trolley that picks up at the top of Del Mar which as you know is across the street. The trolley runs every 10 min and runs to the pier and the new Outlet Mall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Nice place, stay there every time we visit San Clemente. Great location, close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Todd Forester GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for always choosing us. As The Volare Resort our wonderful staff that has been here on average of 7 years will continue to take great care of you every time you stay with us. We will look forward to seeing you soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Many hotel visitors were dissapointed the pool was not heated and the Water was far tooo Cold to swim in, while the weather was great for an evening or afternoon swim.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No food

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Do not expect any food from the hotel!
4 out of 5
by Heidi

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great service