Ratings based on 918 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lake arrowhead ca

awesome

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Great rooms and service close to pacific city restaurants and shopping easy walk to the beach, hotel provides beach chairs and towels .. best bloody Mary's .. can't wait till next door opens with new pool..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Water Front Beach Hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Had read reports of disrupted stays due to current refurbishment activity - glad to report in our experience these were negligible. Restaurant & Bar Staff very attentive (almost too attentive). Reception Staff friendly and efficient. Valet Service chaotic, and the only downer on what was a good stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach, shopping and restaurants

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach, shopping and restaurants.
Cons: Do a better job of notifying customers of construction.
Location: The new Pacific City Center was fabulous with great places to eat.
Usually this is a great place to stay. This weekend was VERY disappointing. First of all, Expedia did not notify us that there was construction going on. So we arrived and the construction was evident. There were work mean just outside of our window and hammering going on in the morning. When I brought it up to the lady at check out she dismissed my complaint by saying, sorry it was on the website and they surely told us at booking time. I explained that I booked it through Expedia. After pressing a third time how disruptive the building was to our stay she finally offered to comp our parking. I still think $300 was excessive to stay there that night. We couldn't relax on our porch because of construction workers and the noise kept us from getting much needed rest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Under construction!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Let guests know at time of booking of construction. Need more pools, hot tubs, restaurants. Pales in comparison to other "resorts".
Location: Beach, shopping, restaurants
Very disappointing. We were not told when the room was booked that the hotel would be under construction. Each day, the path through the lobby to the elevators was different based on the installation of tile, drywall, etc. Due to the construction, the fitness room was closed - which is a very important amenity to me when I travel and was confirmed prior to booking. Although the hotel offered passes to the fitness room at a neighboring facility, they staff at the neighboring facility was not informed adequately of non-guest use and was confused by the pass. Adding to the frustration, the one and only pool was closed in the afternoons to allow for taping of a television show. Again, very disappointing. We were, again, offered pool passes to a second neighboring hotel, which we declined due to inconvenience. There is only one hot tub, with a 7 person capacity, at this hotel, which was not enough given the size of the hotel and the fact that children were using the hot tub with pool noodles. The pool towel bar area was never staffed, so there was no one to monitor small children's use of the hot tub. Finally, there is one accessible (not in the restaurant) outdoor gas fire pit, which this hotel frowns on use for smores. We have stayed many times in neighboring properties and their staff was overly accommodating in its use of outdoor fire pits for smores at night and even sold smore kits. There is only 1 restaurant/bar & 1 small market. Not much of a resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oskaloosa,IA

Beautiful view

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: The view and being on the ocean
Location: It was great. The shuttle took us to Main Street and we were able to visit shops and bars and walk back to the hotel
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. My husband had to have his glasses repaired, and they found a place close and called ahead for us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Great hotel and staff!! Excited to see the changes when they are all done! Hope they are adding another hot tub!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Nice resort, close to beach.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Very nice resort, close to beach and down town Huntington. Can walk to pier and restaurants. Very pretty restaurant and pool areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from e

Will be beautiful when renovations are complete

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Great staff. Small work out facilities. Concierge staff excellent. Went the extra mile to help me arrange activies
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Stay in Huntington beach hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: - Location; - Amenities
Cons: Parking
Location: Walking distance to dinning and shopping; Just across a street from the beach.
- Very nice property; - Very friendly staff; - Beach towels, kids toys for beach, sun umbrellas, beach chairs, volleyball have been provided (to my complete surprise); - Have been promised for ocean view but actually it was on a side of the hotel - see on attached picture and decide for yourself; - For construction view from window have got offer to reduce overpriced valet parking fee - nice but useless as I've parked on the street (5 min walk) for free. Hotel of that quality could provide free self-parking with valet option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top Notch Service!!!

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Beautiful ocean views, and a very comfortable room!
Cons: Just a little tricking finding things with the construction going on, but we were made aware by the hotel in advance, and it was no problem.
I can't say enough about the wonderful, well-trained staff! The valet, front desk, bell desk and staff at Shades Restaurant were so accommodating!! It was really great. Whenever we needed our cars pulled around, the valet had them up front in moments. When we needed our bags stored, etc., the bellman arrived almost immediately. Everyone there was so polite and informative. They made it a wonderful experience! We didn't have to worry about anything.