Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful getaway!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, lots of different spaces to be in, very comfortable, relaxing atmosphere. Other guests were friendly, hosts were very accommodating.
Cons: A call button for when the hosts have gone elsewhere in the house, sometimes it took a while to locate them.
Location: Lots of wineries, Montpelier (James Madison's home), museum, antique shops, restaurants
Arrived late afternoon for a get away with a friend. Was welcomed with wine and Old Bay steamed shrimp, cheese platter. Relaxed on comfy seating on porch, saw family of 6 deer. Everything in the b&b was beautifully furnished and the hosts were very accommodating. Another family was there and we chatted with them a lot! The beds had wonderful sheets, lots of extras in the bathroom. And amazing breakfasts both days, a fruit course, then main course: Grand Marnier French Toast w/ lemon asparagus and bacon, an eggs benedict like meal with avocado and melon, plenty of juice, tea and coffee. And the setting for breakfast was amazing. They also provided vouchers for 2 wineries nearby that they recommended, gave us printed directions, and both places were terrific! The downtown area was nearby along with restaurants which we never even needed with all the great food. The 2nd night was mini crabcakes on pasta or chicken wings! So relaxing, wonderful experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Columbus Ga

Great Experience

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The story, the renovation, the staff, location was perfect for us.
Our experience with this B&B was the best. Attention to detail and facility was first rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paige from Alexandria, VA

Wonderful inn in a great location!

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Everything was outstanding - service, location, comfort!
Location: Visit UVA, the homes of several Presidents - Jefferson's Monticello - Madison's Montpelier - Monroe's Ash Lawn. Enjoy some excellent wines too!
We spent our anniversary weekend with Kathleen and Troy at their wonderful B&B - Chestnut Hill. They are exceptional hosts - making sure everyone feels welcome and comfortable. The evening happy hours and yummy breakfasts were great. We recommend this lovely inn for that special celebration or just a get away weekend to enjoy the Charlottesville, VA area - history, wineries and more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013
5 out of 5
by Karen C. from Alexandria, VA

Wonderful

Posted Jun 21, 2013 on Hotels
Perfect romantic getaway in a gorgeous surrounding, just 40 minutes from Hiking trails in Shenandoah or Charlotsville. Kathleen and Troy are wonderful hosts. The house is amazing, the hosts paid great attention to every detail and it is somptuous. The breakfast is fantastic. You will want to bring the bed with you or at least the bedsheets. That was the main topic of conversation at the breakfast table. The best sleep I had in years. I definitely will go back.
5 out of 5
by Laura

Awesome Bed & Breakfast!

Posted Dec 4, 2012 on Hotels
This B&B is fantastic. The owners have renovated this historic house and spared no expense. The rooms are well decorated, comfortable, spacious, and have great bathrooms. Our room had a queen bed, sitting area, big TV, and a huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and separate shower. The basement has a great bar area where everyone hangs out. The owners are awesome and make you feel so at home. The food is amazing! Their breakfasts are two courses and so delicious. They were even able to accommodate my gluten free diet. They also serve delicious hors d'oeuvres and wine around 5 every day in the bar. Orange is a nice town and there are lots of great restaurants nearby. Convenient to historical sites and Charlottesville. We had a great time and plan to go back!
5 out of 5
by Mette

Try it!

Posted Aug 21, 2012 on Hotels
The Chestnut Hill B&B is the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at. The hotel is in supreme condition with a lot of nice details, and our room spacious and super clean. Todd and Kathleen are wonderful hosts and did their absolute best to make us feel welcome. The breakfast is to die for and the hosts were available with advice and recommendations for activities and restaurants. We will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Oct 16, 2011 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2011 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2011 on Hotels
Great place. Great hospitality. Would highly recommend it to anyone.