Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great experience in old town Orange

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Great choice in the old town Orange, steps from main historical sites, very accessible to highway and 100m from the main town square with lots of restaurants and shops. The room was in great condition, clean and good amenities. The only challenge I found is parking - make sure you get directions from the Reception staff BEFORE you arrive in town. The hotel is located in a pedestrian area, therefore difficult to access by car. The allocated parking space is about 300m from the hotel. Overall great experience for a short stop in the Rhone Valley.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Very kind hostess, clean room, excellent center location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
only one night but looked forward to return journey again one night, lovely hotel in a charming area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little charmer

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
A little complicated to find but greeted by lovely staff/owner. Walking distance to Roman theatre. The breakfast was good with a cafe au lait etc machine. The only negative was the teeny tiny shower but we managed. Restaurants right there
4 out of 5
by Jane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
The location was great! The dining room is quaint and very relaxing. The owners are quite strict about changing check out times or for help with charging my battery pack on their own computer hard drive. Not very flexible. I traveled around France last May and a little this year and most of the other hotels were more accommodating with these very requests. The wifi is free and that is good but it would drop off constantly after a short time and one had to sign in over and over and over again. I had a purple room and this is my least favourite colour. Not sure anyone uses purple as a decorative colour anymore. This is just personal preference though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great traditional style hotel right in the town.

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly owners and ambiance.
Cons: Bathroom shower could do with updating if possible.
Location: Orange is a roman town with a wonderful amphitheatre. Lots of vineyards nearby (Chateauneuf du Pape for instance is just outside the town).
This is a lovely place at the heart of the old town. Fantastically located in a narrow street. The building itself is very old and so doesn't have the space or conveniences of a modern out-of-town hotel. But that is its charm. The rooms are small (particularly the bathroom which was tiny) and there's no elevator. But it was clean and typically French. The owners were excellent and arranged parking at a nearby car park.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent small hotel run by young couple who are really helpful. In a very central place close to everything on a small square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Stylish and friendly overnight stay in Orange.

Posted Oct 24, 2015
L'Herbier d'Orange is a stylish, well-appointed small hotel, right in the heart of Old Orange, and located directly behind the Roman Theatre & museum. Cafes, shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance, and the Roman Arc de Triomphe is only a 10 minute walk. In fact you can even walk to the SNCF station if required (15 - 20 minutes dragging luggage) which I had to do, as I inadvertently arrived in Orange during the lunchtime shut-down, and there were no taxis to be found, however on telephoning the hotel, I was given excellent directions and arrived none the worse for the walk. The owners - a couple from Brittany - are friendly, and offer a lovely breakfast with crepes (which I didn't try as I only read about it later...). The rooms are spotlessly clean, spacious and airy, and furnished in a fresh & modern southern French style. The hotel is housed in a 17th century building, with a wide stone staircase (no lift however). It is charmingly situated in a small square, with a café and restaurant opposite. I only stayed one night but wish I'd stayed longer!
5 out of 5
by LESLIE from Darlington, UK

Perfectly situated

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely stay and a hotel perfectly situated to see every sight of the town, several restaurants of very high standard very close by. would highly recommend to anyone looking for a very good budget hotel