Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Oct 8, 2017
One of the best B&B's in America. Owners very accommodating and gracious, attending to every detail of our stay. Will certainly return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yummy breakfast

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely house and amazing breakfast. The owners are very knowledgeable about the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Great old Manor house!

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Got a chance to stay at Mayhurst and we loved it! It's a rehabbed Old South Plantation mansion that the current owners and the previous owners have renovated to the way it was decades ago. How horse were wonderful and breakfast was delicious. We are definitely coming back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Racist Owners

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
I think if the guests are "white" they probably had or will have a better experience than we did . The place would've been great if the owners were not so obvious that they are not a fan of any one staying there of any other "color " of skin other than "white". Especially the wife of the owner , they were so not friendly, I felt so uncomfortable with their cold welcome & very little conversation. I will NEVER go back there again because of how poorly I felt I was treated . When the wife first saw us it was like she saw ghosts & the way she said " how can I help you " was with such a rude tone it was almost like she thought we were lost & we didn't belong there . When we told her that her husband already checked us in earlier today she "oh ok " & walked away . I was appalled to see & experience this type of blatant prejudice still exists in 2017 .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful historic inn. Our hosts, Jack and Pat were wonderful with assisting in making plans, getting dinner reservations, the whole experience was great! They also cooked a wonderful breakfast both days!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable and historic

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: History
Location: Quiet and relaxing.
Pat and Jack were gracious hosts. The accommodations were comfortable and clean. The grounds are lush with vegetation and secluded which makes the property surroundings quiet and serene. The wine and cheese hour is a nice venue for meeting other guests and to learn about the historic significance of Mayhurst. The breakfast was delightful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful B &B in Virginia

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Elegant and beUtiful
Location: N/a
The owners, Jack and Pat could not have been nicer or more hospitable. I will go back to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Excellent B&B

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Careful preservation of its history, and the warmth of the innkeeper's welcome
Location: Wine-tasting opportunities abound and Mayhurst can provide complimentary tickets. Madison's historic Montpelier is a 10 min.drive away.
Mayhurst Inn is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in during recent years. It is a lovely and historic home, lovingly restored by the current owner Pat and Jack, with period furniture and wall hangings. It really has the feel of a late antebellum manor house. Our room was comfortable and clean, meticulously kept during our stay. The Innkeepers were friendly and welcoming, offering wine and cheese every evening at 5:30, and joining the guests for friendly, informal conversation. The innkeepers also had a wealth of information available on things to see and do in the vicinity, restaurants, etc. Breakfasts were ample to the point of being lavish and were served personally by the innkeepers, with real linen and silver. A first-rate operation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

weekend getaway

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great couple running the place. Very friendly and great food for breakfast