Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: staff
It was fine. The nearby Fatz restaurant was convenient but later in the evening became loud, disturbing sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

nice hotel close to family

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The room was clean and quiet. Breakfast had enough different variety to choose from.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016
too expensive and rooms and bathrooms are not clean
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great stay for the price, I will stay again!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Clean, safe and comfortable. Staff very courteous.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Looks like they took over a run down hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Cons: everything
Check in staff was nice and efficient. Room, well that was another matter. I was in town for a conference, so I knew other places were fully booked, otherwise I would have demanded a refund and left. The table side lamp was broken, and when I went to turn it off, the wires shorted and light bulb blew with a puff of smoke. I unplugged it immediately. There were places all over the walls, where paint had been scratched off, and I have pictures. There were things that were obviously brand new in the room, so maybe they are trying to upgrade, but it was still rather creepy. Some people got into a fight in the parking lot, and seems hotel staff didn't want to do anything to break it up, as it went on for about 30 minutes. I go to this town 2 times a year minimum, but will not be staying here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very convenient for my uncle birthday party

Posted Oct 28, 2016
The room was very nice and comfortable home away from home. Staff was very helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay after Hurricane Matthew

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly despite bad weather
Cons: Better communication
Location: Close to I 26 was good to get in and out
The information needed weather to check in or not were inadequate. Hurricane effect on the town and hotel in particular was concern. No phone contact, no email about status. Luckily on the day of travel and check in, the power came back and could talk to reception. Check in was OK. Hotel is OK. Not bad or best. For the price paid in that area its OK. Break fast was adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orangeburg sc

Comfort of room hurricane Matthew no electricity

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: No electricity for my TV comfort
Our stay was fine even after the hurricane Matthew
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient I 95 stop over

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Arrived a few hours post hurricane Hermine. Was some leaks and damp carpet but that's to be expected. Staff was very nice. Lots of food and gas nearby. Am breakfast was decent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Z Tucker, AGM, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I appreciate your honesty about your stay and I will be sure to share this review with the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Convenient for overnight travel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Staff was very nice, cable was good, bed/pillows were comfortable/decent quality
Cons: Address mold/mildew in rooms. Get properly insulated doors so your guests can get rest. Clean rooms properly.
Location: Right off the interstate, standard restaurant chains in area (Chick-fil-A and Zaxbys nearby.)
The bed was comfortable and the cable had a lot of options (including free On Demand.) However, the "hotel" is actually a "motel" so be prepared to park outside your door. Also, based on the three or four different locking mechanisms on the door, it must not be a very secure area. Loud guests walking past my door all night. Mold/mildew on the ceiling above the bed. Weird brown splatter on wall and outside-side of tub... I slept fine, but I would only recommend this to someone that has an unrealistically low hotel budget for the area... For my hotel allowance, this was fine enough. I've had better for the same price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Z Tucker, AGM, Hotel Management
Hello Laura, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your feedback about our property. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as pleasant as you had expected. You are correct in stating that we are an exterior corridor hotel, yet, we maintain the same quality of cleanliness and customer service as any other property. As fdor the locking mechanisms you mentioned, it customary at most older built hotels to have a night latch and a deadbolt on the door. This is not indicative of a security problem, just standard among most hotels. I apologize if passing guests created a noise disturbance for you. We encourage our guests to contact a member of the front desk staff anytime they are disturbed or have any issue during your stay. Our front desk staff will be more than happy to assist you and resolve any issues. Thank you again for your candor and for choosing Baymont Orangeburg North.