Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, New York

STRONGLY suggest not staying here!

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Located conveniently off of I-26.
Cons: New management (customer service and housekeeping) desperately needed.
Location: South Carolina State University and Claflin University
My family and I visit Orangeburg, SC annually. This year, April 2017, has by far been the worst hotel experience ever while visiting. The last time my family and I stayed at this hotel was four years ago. ALOT has changed since then. Upon arrival, we immediately noticed that this hotel must be under new management from our visit four years ago. Nothing gave us the impression that we were at a Country Inn and Suites brand hotel. The lobby was poorly decorated with trash, literally, on the floor. The furniture was dirty and in need of upgrading. After finally settling into our room after having to be changed from a filthy room, we noticed spiders on the bed linens and bugs in the corner. Both rooms (the room they changed us from and the new room) were in desperate need of vacuuming- which is evident in the hallways. The front desk clerks did not make the situation any better. The night clerk could care less about our concerns. When speaking to the manager the following morning, she could not explain why none of the phones in any of the rooms worked. The manager then proceeded to inform us that our standards may be "high," as her night clerk nor head house keeper could find nothing wrong with the rooms. We will NEVER stay at this hotel again, and at this point, in fear or staying at any Country Inn and Suites Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Anne Gregory, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room . We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Very convenient

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff made it comfortable because the hotel gym was too small ,workout machine not working and the Jacuzzi was not working.
Cons: The owner should note on the website that the Jacuzzi is not working and will not for awhile because a person like myself who need the Jacuzzi.
It was great to travel from NY to not having to drive to get a bite to eat.The fast food restaurants, grocery store, dollar general, hair supply, and nail salon was very convenient to get to. The hotel staff was very helpful and the breakfast was not like other hotels just slapped together Melissa really make some Grits, eggs, and bacon. She was helpful with refilling the coffee because that is an all day drink for me and she was on top of her job with a smile and at times followed with a great conversation. Being here I felt very comfortable and and home. Javon was helpful and with no complaints he made sure my family needs for towels, rags, change of sheets were not needed at all. You can tell the staff enjoyed working together as a team because I asked for something and the other went to get the person who handles it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from benitez

Nice

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Clean professional helpful safe close to food! Definitely a place to stayi95
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location off the highway

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Great staff at checkin. Elevator smelled like smoke and marijuana. Room was a good size for the five of us. Pool area wasn't very clean, spa water was green and pool was not heated. That was a disappointment for my seven year old who had lots of energy to burn off after travelling in a car all day. Breakfast was decent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

time worn

Posted Feb 3, 2017
facility in need of updating. carpet in common area showing the wear.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
4 out of 5
by Don

One night stay.

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Relaxing, comfortable, clean and good hot breakfast, plus affordable.
4 out of 5
by Greg

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Mark

Gone down hill

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed at this hotel many times when passing through. Past experience has been good. Service was great. Not sjre what happened. Once again staff turnover. We drove 8hrs new years eve to get to this hotel. Our goal was to relax and watch the ball drop. That did not happen. Cable phone and internet went out before midnight. Still wasn't on at 11 the next day. Front desk guy said it was not their problem. (His exact and only words) he was rude and dismissive, not only to me but other guests checking out. He gave us a managers phone number. The number does not work. The bot tub was a foot low in water and not circulating. The one employee and that offered the best customer service in the past was let go. She was pleasant and kept the buffet stocked. At 9:30am the buffef was bare and no coffee. I could go on but this place has gone down hill
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
5 out of 5
by Joyce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by IRENE

Good hotel but not near I95

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Dog friendly