Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Disappointed all around about the hotel. Would not stay at any of these facilities in future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuart, FL

Moldy tub

Posted Oct 18, 2016
One thing that really turns me off is when the caulking is black with mold. It should be stripped off and recaulked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Worth

This was a Two-fer for me - first and last!

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Cons: Keep people who tell you they are allergic to cigarette smoke as far away from the smoking rooms as possible.
Room itself was very basic, but ok. However, upon check-in the clerk said I had been booked into a smoking room (while I know Expedia had told me I had booked a NON-smoking room). She moved me to a non-smoking room when I told her I was allergic to cigarette smoke. However, the room she gave me was right next door to a smoking room and the first night there, the occupants (4 young men) set right outside my door and smoked like there was no tomorrow. Of course, the A/C unit brought all that smoke right into my room. Once the smokers were gone the next day, all I could smell was mold. I ended up being quite sick the entire time I was there. If I hadn't already prepaid via Expedia I would have left, but that was my mistake! While the couch was ok to sit on, the bed was as hard as a rock and the pillows were too. Needless to say, I didn't get much rest and I won't be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cary, NC

Good hotel for the I-95 traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Reasonably priced at I-95 intersection. Lots of restaurants nearly
Cons: It is showing its age.
Location: Great location by the interstate. Beautiful lake nearby, good golfing, lots of restaurants
Only stayed one night on a trip down I-95. Competitively priced for the hotels at this intersection. Pretty basic hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Just needed a place to crash.

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Wasn't the best, wasn't the worst. Just needed a place to crash during my trip. Served that purpose. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Spot in Santee

Posted Mar 14, 2016
I spent three nights here, commuting into Charleston in the mornings for a simple, one-morning project that dragged into three whole days. The price was great, the room was recently remodeled, and the staff was fantastic. The motel had high midweek occupancy, with a mix of thru-travelers from I-95 and sport fishermen drawn to nearby Lake Marion. Santee State Park provides a nice diversion, and there is a golf course immediately behind the motel (greens fees unknown). For the latter two days of my visit, I preferred to return here in the evenings rather than dealing with the price and hassle of Charleston hotels. Santee has the usual fast-food offerings, plus a smattering of sit-down restaurants, including a Cracker Barrel, at least one Chinese place, and a couple of nicer surf & turf establishments. There's a Dollar General directly across the two-lane road from the motel, which is a heck of a lot better for the traveler than the usual relegation to vending machines and overpriced toothpaste. I didn't try the 'continental' breakfast, but they do have one. Recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Ok for an overnight stop

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Staff, price, location
Cons: Pipes rattle
Location: Restaurant next door and across the street
Clean, close to restaurants. Seems to have been painted recently but still outdated. Staff very good. Pipes would rattle at times. Has refridgerator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

overnight stay

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: ASize of room, refridgerator, cleanliness
Cons: Heating pipes occasionally rattled
Location: Next door to restaurant
The room was spacious and clean. It had a refridgerator and nice tv. It looked like it was painted recently, but could use updating. The staff was vey nice. Restaurants across the street and next door. Our only negative is that it was a chilly night so we turned on the heat and the old pipes would rattle from time to time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Much better than I expected...

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Great for the price! Much cleaner than I expected. Doesn't look the best from the outside, but I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the door to my room. Huge room with a couch, coffee table, armchair, and king size bed. Flat screen tv with plenty of channels. Clean bathroom with heat lamp and plenty of water pressure. Fridge and microwave. My only suggestion would be to shampoo the carpet soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Room was exceptionally clean, recently renovated and quiet. Staff was friendly and efficient.
Cons: The HVAC unit needs to be replaced. It could barely cool the room and was quite noisy.
Location: Santee is a major overnight stop on I-95. The lake there is famous for its giant catfish fishing. Other than motels and corporate fast food outlets
I wasn't surprised by the typical worn-out Super 8 exterior on Santee's motel strip. I wasn't expecting much even though this motel had a high satisfaction rating on the Expedia site but the price was right (cheap). So I was very pleasantly surprised when I opened the door to a recently renovated room that was exceptionally clean.