Ratings based on 1,468 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Comfortable

Posted Oct 19, 2017
All was great, comfortable. Needs a proper restaurant attached to hotel. Staff were pleasant and informative. Would recommend again
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by FO Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Margarita, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. We hope to see you in Aruba real soon. See you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great Location, Great Rates, Great Staff!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness, cost and my room was very nice!
Cons: I didn't much care for the gentleman outside at the food/bar. When I tried to ask him to charge it to my room, he was really nasty and refused to.
Location: There is so much to do. The beach, the pool, the buses take you everywhere and there is always a tour to go on. This is the most beautiful island!
This was my first time going to Aruba. I am already booking my next trip and plan to stay at the Tropicana. Everything about this hotel was pleasant. In particular, the hotel staff was amazing. I made some nice friends! Love Love Love it here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by FO Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Kim, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with. We apologize that the service at the foodbar was not up to your liking. We will talk to the staff to see where we can improve. We hope to see you as soon as possible. See you soon,
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Bob's Pizza was very good. The gambling area felt dirty. Staff was helpful. We were only there 1 night, but it worked out ok for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by FO Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Cyndi, We thank you for the time to write a review about recent stay with us. It is very unfortunate that your stay was only 1 night, we hope next time you can stay with us longer. See you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Very lively hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I traveled to Aruba with my husband and we were here for a wedding. We only stayed in Tropicana hotel for one night and the rest in the bride/groom's choice of hotel, so we stayed here one night to save on money. I think you get a great bang for your buck. We had a suite with a living room, small kitchen, large bedroom and bathroom. The room is definitely dated but comfortable nonetheless. The staff at the front desk was great, friendly and accommodating. If you don't mind staying in an older hotel that isn't "sparkly clean" in every corner, but is a good clean room with friendly staff and nice views, I highly recommend this place. You can get to the beach from the hotel across the way (the Tropicana bracelet gives you access), it's literally a 3 minute walk from the lobby and you get towel tickets, too. There's good places to eat on site, too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by FO Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Jean, Thank you for your review. We have always believed that travelling with a team or group is a stressful endeovour, and if we are able to provide customer service that would lessen some of that stress, then we are on the right track. We hope everything went great with the wedding. We hope to see you real soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location to beach BUT.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Hotel is under renovations as of Oct 4th and being placed in an older room, it is much needed. Below are pros and cons about this hotel. PROS - walking distance to grocery store - walking distance to one of the best sections of the beach which has plenty of space - room does have refrigerator, stove, sink, microwave oven, toaster and cooking/eating utensils if you want to cook something - bed mattress and pillows were very comfortable - 2 spacious pools which 1 has a fun sliding board to use and the other a waterfall - outside grills if you want to grill in the pool area CONS - being placed in an older non renovated room, it was dated and you could see it as you walked thru the room - bathroom was not the cleanest looking - only 1 real restaurant on the premise which didn't have much of a selection of foods - located about 4 miles from the hi-rise resorts where a lot of the nightlife, restaurants and shopping mall are located *** NOTE *** This review is based off my experience and stay in the older non renovated room I was assigned. The highlight of this resort is the close proximity to the best section of Eagle Beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by FO Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all the constructive criticism and the apprises about our resort. You are correct, we are doing some renovations at the resort. We are in the process of improving every area of the resort in order to better serve our owners and guests. A vast majority of our rooms have already been renovated. See you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cape cod

Renovations needed

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds and pillows
Cons: Furniture is horrible, chairs in dining area are ratanand growing mildew ... couchadcairs are old and springs hurtyou.
Location: Beautiful beach, pool, and nice restaurants .
Staff was excellent,pools , beachs, mattresses,pillows,were all five star. However, renovations and new furniture needed desperately!!!! Couch and chair very very uncomfortable and unpaddedfrom age. Dining chairs had mildewgrowing onwhite Ratana's, need cleaning and painting. Kitchen cabinets need painting too! Ruins overall positive effect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Beautiful hotel close to the beach. Good breakfast and nice rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Luis, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our resort. See you real soon
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect location w/ No activities or entertainment

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Hotel located with walking distance of a supermarket (bring your own shopping bags), Pizza Hut (has indoor playroom for kids), and Taco Bell. Hotel is a little outdated but is undergoing renovations. Food was awesome at Caribbean Buffet all you can for $20 dollars. Go across the street to the other hotel La Cabana they have a live DJ and good food at Islander Gill. You also have to walk thru this hotel to get to eagle beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Sean, Thank you for your review and for choosing our resort. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our resort. We are currently in the process of updated every aspect of our resorts, a vast majority of our rooms have been completed. We are also adding more activities, we hope to see you real soon for you to see all the progress. See you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!Coming back!

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Busy, but private.
Cons: Wifi was really poor, even in the lobby. None in the rooms.
Location: Its a hike to the beach. Path to a grocery store did not seem safe. Great place for groceries. Loved the seafood store.
Was able to relax! Was offered some free activities, but not given reminders. Paper I was given at the time did not include info on the where and when, so I did not attend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by FO Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us. You are definitely one of our favorite guests. We hope to see you real soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: More dining in Hotel
Location: Not a great location you need a cab to do that
It was great I'm 84 and the stay there was OK need More dining areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by FO Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Ron, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. We are working on adding more dining areas. We hope to see you on your 85th birthday.