Ratings based on 1,514 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia, USA

Little off the beach

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Not right on beach have to walk through other property, but at the most beautiful beach after get there. Always able to get a hut when we went too. People very nice and property clean. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffield, CT

Rent a renovated room

Posted Dec 12, 2017
I stayed here on 11-23-17 for one night ( booked through Hotels.com and was put in an antiquated room that was dirty, hair on the floor, and the bathroom was so dated, blue vanity, blue toilet ( with cracked seat with tape ) and a dirty shower curtain that had numerous stains ! The bath tub actually had the letters that read “ La canaba going across the side ( I guess back in the day the front building used to be a La Cabana property. Gross. Upon checkout I asked to speak to the Manager and spoke with Angelica, who was excellent, listened to our concerns and apologized for the condition of the room. We were in agreement, “ it’s one thing for a room to be dated and another for it to be dirty”. I informed Angelica that our itinerary had us coming back on Dec 1st for another weeks stay. She immediately called the front desk and ensured us that upon our return we would be in one of the newly renovated units. We completed our check out crossed the parking lot and stayed at La Cabana Resort ( which was recently renovated and we have stayed there 4 other times ) for the next 7 days ( excellent ). Upon our return, Angelica as promised reserved us a beautiful unit that was just renovated and super clean. Our daily housekeeping was exceptional, clean, floors what a difference. Upon check out I made sure I spoke with Andelica and thanked her for making our stay as pleasant as possible for me, my wife and 5 y/o daughter. Thank you again Angelica and the hospitality at Tropicana.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Cheapest hotel in the area, outdated facilities

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Depending on the season most hotel including the one at the low rise hotels area are booked or highly priced! This is the cheapest but the facilities condition are outdated, especially the bathrooms and the small tv at the master bedroom! This is a kitchenette type room and the central air conditioning system work well at the kitchen and living room but not at the bedroom. The Casino Restaurant and sport bar is really nice, but it could be used by none guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

I've have used hotel Tropicana more then 10 times,

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: Every thing.
Cons: Minor thing.
Location: N/A
This time my experience was much better then before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delaware

It was a nice hotel near the beach.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: If you have a complaint, they will fix it.
Location: Just love Eagle Beach, fourth time there. Some great places to eat!
Didn't like the first room they gave us, we thought they would give us a new one. It was old and a few things were wrong. We complained and they gave us another and we were very happy about it. Very quiet. not much going on at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Unfair marketing

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The hotel is under renovation. The desk staff were very helpful in recommending dining and sightseeing tours.
Cons: The cleaning of the rooms during the stay.
Location: Rent a car for the day to see the island. Try the Peru restaurant
The room was very dated and not clean. The lights in one of the bathrooms would only work if you touched the bulb. When we booked with Expedia it looked like we were going to have a updated room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal,Québec

Nice,close to beach.

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Nice. Good price. Close to world renown "Eagle Beach".
Cons: Like I stated previously, the rooms are quite old.
Location: Good access by public bus ( US $5.00 round trip) to travel different places. Also a huge Food Market at 10 minutes walking distance from hotel.
Rooms need update,because ceramics on floor, as well as doors show a lot of usage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, canada

Out stay at the Tropicana Aruba was great

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Quiet, safe and friendly
Perfect position for easy and quick access to Eagle beach and grocery store. We had requested a renovated room but we were in the unrenovated section. My only complaint, and I'm sensitive, was the funky odor of the room.... mildew! It was quiet, I enjoyed that. The rooms are mini apartments, very adequate. I would stay there again but it would have to be in the remodeled rooms. Pizza Bob's..... delicious!! From Trop it's so easy getting to the high rise area or downtown both 5 min. By bus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Very nice ocean side vacation spot

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Cons: snack & drink service at the beach.
Beautiful beach. Clean white sand. Suitable for a relaxing experience if you like a tranquil environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by FO Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us. We hope to see you real soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly run facility near beach

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Watched 3 or more room attendants take over3 hours to Clean room. Ridiculous. Got room upgrade?? Two bedroom only outfitted in one bath. Had to call for wash cloths and towels for main bath (after 3 hr cleaning ). Phones not working. Our checkout set at 11 am while our friends were noon. We asked fo noon but they said they needed to start cleaning. You’re kidding, right? Room temps set at 50f. Took 6 hrs to raise to 69f. Comfy mattress if you overlook the lousy operations. Go elsewhere!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by FO Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We take great pride on the cleanliness of our rooms, our room attendants work very hard. All our house rules are clearly stated on the confirmation for your reservation. We hope you enjoy your holiday season. See you soon.