Ratings based on 1,545 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison

Nice economical hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2018
We just needed a hotel for one night- which the Tropicana fit well. Rooms needed a little updating and our room in particular was missing the room number on the outside of the room which was odd.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

As bad as a Super 8

Posted Jan 21, 2018
The packaged offered free wifi and it was false advertising. The pool didn’t open until 10am each day, my kids couldn’t use the hot tub even though we have one at home, and it was under constant repairs. We spend as much time as we could away from the resort as it was a huge disappointment. Expedia needs to do some research on their product because this one missed the grade big time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Resort is ok but wouldn't be my first choice

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: The front desk and maintenance staff was very pleasant.
Cons: The timeshare presentation staff as well as their method of recruitment (they put you in non-renovated rooms so you feel obliged to buy in).
Location: 5 minute walk from the beach
The overall staff were very accommodating, however, when I made the reservation it stated I would be in a renovated room. Once I arrived I was told I was placed in a non-renovated room and would have to pay to upgrade. The resort used me being placed in a non-renovated room as a selling point for me to buy into a timeshare. Using what "would be" the look for all renovated rooms in the upcoming years and asking about "how disappointed I was" with my room to invest into their future project. I was asked about living in the city (New York City) at the beginning of the presentation, at the end, when I stated I needed some time to consider the timeshare, I was pressured and told "if you can afford to live in the city then you can afford this and it shouldn't be a financial problem". It was done in poor taste to the point where I had become visibly uncomfortable and was then told I would be allowed to consider it and will be followed up with prior to checking out. I felt I had to almost avoid certain staff members at that point just to enjoy the resort. The casino was definitely not what I expected and the website states there are 2 restaurants when there is only 1.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colonia, NJ

Nice, updated room

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: The room!
Cons: What I would want improved can’t be improved, so there’s nothing to say here.
Location: It’s near Eagle Beach, which is a lovely beach. It’s also convenient to a large food store so you can save money and eat in your room.
We loved our room with a full kitchen, eat in area, living room, bedroom, bathroom, and balcony—all updated. Well maintained. The pools were lovely and the staff was great. My reason for the 4 stars overall is the hotel isn’t on the beach and the pools are enclosed within the tall buildings so they were often in the shade and the water was too cold to go in. (January). It was also quite far from the hotel “downtown” and the restaurants, so it required a cab or a bus. We walked it, but there were no sidewalks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brentwood TN

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2018
2nd time to stay Tropicana. Very convenient location. We can walk to the beach, many restaurants, and grocery store so we can get food and cook in the kitchen as well. Eagle beach is wonderful to relax. Short bus ride to downtown too. We will come back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Hidden fee, terrible bellhop, owner discrimination

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: I loved that this hotel was within walking distance to the beach and the grocery store.
Cons: Clearer fees should be posted through expedia
Apparently if you book with anyone other than them directly, they consider a child over 12 to be an adult and they charge an additional guest fee. I talked to them prior to, during and at checkout about this fee and was informed that it would be refunded. NOPE. So they got an additional $376.90 for a child over 12 and under 18. Also, forget getting a taxi from the bellhop. Even if you call in advance, the bellhop will give your taxi to a "known" customer. Do yourself a favor and go to the La Cabana and call for a taxi. This is a nice resort but there are many older time share owners that "have been coming her for XX years" and they think that they have more rights and/or privileges on the resort, which in a sense, they do. Colored arm bands are given out to show the differences of the elite old time owners and the low life renters. There is also a high pressure to attend a Timeshare presentation which was not on my agenda for a holiday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2018
The rooms and facilities are dated. The best thing about this hotel was the access to the beach, directly across the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Cons: Show pictures of what you are actually getting.
Pictures on hotel summary did not match room. renovations are being done, and new rooms are shown on website. Old rooms were supplied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Perfect hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Very affordable while maintaining a high quality of facility and a close proximity to the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by FO Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Mark, We thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write a review about your recent with us. We hope that you had a safe trip back home. See you soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Nice hotel across the street from beach

Posted Dec 31, 2017
It was ok. I paid a lot since it’s peak season and even after paying $362 per night that didn’t even include WiFi in the room, only for the lobby and pool areas. In order to get WiFi in your room you have to pay $10/day or $35/week. Too overpriced!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by FO Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Jackie, We thank you for the review about your recent stay with us. Our prices are very fair and competitive for this time of the year. You can look online and compare our prices with similar resort. We thank you for staying with us.