Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

A relaxing non-traditional stay

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The relaxed nature.
Cons: Nothing, it was great for what it was.
When we arrived, we went to "check in" which is to say we picked up our welcome bag at the registration cabin. Inside we found our room key and some helpful information about our stay and the island. We enjoyed our stay and will be recommending this Inn for friends and family. If you are looking for a front desk, and staff to help you this is not the right place for you. This is a relaxed Island Inn that allows the guest a private experience. Much appreciated and enjoyed every moment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from signal hill

good place to stay

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Good place to stay on Orcas. Never saw any staff including at check in. Very quiet. The room was neat and clean. Bed not so comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washougal, wa.

Quiet countryside

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Comfortable place to stay when you want peace and solitude. No phones in the room and spotty cell service allowed us to truly get away from it all. Loved the deer and bunnies. The room in the lodge building had a comfortable bed, mini fridge and small tv. Bathroom was clean and had ample hot water. We were on the island for a wedding so didn't spend a lot of time at the Inn but it's location was an easy drive over to East Sound (the biggest population center on the island). A wonderful surprise was the restaurant- we enjoyed two seafood dishes that were delicious, ate in the deck overlooking Deer Harbor in the distance and enjoyed beautiful piano music.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Over priced. Hotel needs more cleaning staff.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Had to strip the bed in order to get clean sheets. Floors needed sweeping. Over priced and too far from Eastsound. Don't plan to stay ever again. The 2 bedroom house was quite nice for a family. But the smaller room in the lodge not acceptable. The furniture too large for the room. Needed better cleaning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy, efficient, a little worn, but comfortable.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Appreciated easy access to anything we needed in our lodge. Bed was very comfortable; shower was good, and we LOVED the bunnies and deer!
Cons: As mentioned, it would be nice to meet an actual person at check-ins during normal hours. The soap/shampoo dispensers could be updated.
In a lovely location on the west side of Orcas Island, Deer Harbor Inn offers a comfortable, if slightly worn, cabin-like ambiance...their restaurant is known around the island as a good place for family-style dining. If you're looking for high-end amenities in a magazine-worthy setting, this is not the place. Instead it offers a more rustic, low-maintenance "family vacation house" vibe, with plenty of well-worn mismatched furniture and supplies to "last the summer"... cozy and comfortable, if occasionally a little shabby. The check-in/check-out is efficient but a little impersonal: you simply enter the tiny office, grab your little white bag with key and minor written instructions, then you're on your own. Appreciated, if you happen to be running late, but there is a sense that not having any contact with personnel makes it a tad, well, impersonal! At check-out you leave your key in a box by the door, which, again, is efficient, but a connection to those running the place would have been nice. Being as "on our own" as that introduction suggests, we did appreciate the ample supplies left in our lodge -- towels, toilet paper, iron, microwave, etc. -- making anything we needed easily found and right at our fingertips. The rooms were clean and well-stocked, and when it was discovered that our TV did not work, we were able to get it fixed within 24-hours. All-in-all, a decent mid-level inn with thoughtful concern for most needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Hotel is in a nice secluded location

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Secluded location, good restaurant
The little hut we stayed in was adequate. We stayed 3 nights, first night our room was tidied, trash taken out. After that nobody filled creamer for coffee, no trash removal... Back patio hadn't been cleaned in a while... we never talked or saw any staff members. Not worth the $$$ ....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everett, WA

Landmark Inn is a delight.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: View, room, fan, restaurant for dinner close by, rustic lodge.
Cons: Better curtains to keep the sun out.
Location: Near a marina, easy access to all parts of the island, beach to walk on, and hiking, water activities, lakes on other side of the island.
This is the oldest inn on Orcas Island but has been updated to be a very enjoyable location. We rarely saw any staff but were fine on our own. It was a fine place to start to explore the island each day, even though it is not central on the island. Be aware that there are only a handful of restaurants without going to Eastsound or further away, but we were prepared with our own food and eating out just once a day. It was a very relaxing and beautiful getaway. We were not warned to MAKE RESERVATIONS further in advance than one week for the ferries, but w.e did get on our first choice both ways.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Nice, middle of the road hotel.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Saw lots of deers and bunnies! No view more of a country setting. Cute little harbor down the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Quaint and cozy.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Got to the lodge office and found a bag with my name on it containing the room key, island map and general information. Was in one of the rooms in the main lodge building. Room was super cute. Wood frame queen bed. Two wooden rockers with table. Electric fireplace. Mini fridge. Though lodge was full still very quiet. Bunnies, eagles and deer all over property. Went to the islandto hike and a very relaxing place to rest at the end of a long day. Would absolutely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, wa

Nice room.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Never saw any staff.. Picked up our key at the office in a bag with our name on it.. A little confused about where our room was. We had room 2. But thought it was cabin 2. Once we figured that out.. Loved our room.. Very sweet, comfortable and clean room. Everything you needed.. Loved the shampoo, conditioner, and face wipes provided.. Free wifi.. And deer outside.. Would stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by pam, Hotel Management
Thank-you! Pam