Ratings based on 604 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Great Place-Perfect location

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: The room was showing its age but still very clean. a little construction noise but not that bad and no way to remodel the rooms without some noise.
Location: Beach, restaurants, just driving around. Get a rental car the island is beautiful. Stay here but you need to see the Dutch side and the other towns
We could not have been happier with our stay at La Playa. Kelly and the rest of the staff were wonderful. They are remodeling the units and ours had not been done yet, but it was still very nice. The room was always clean and everything worked (we have no idea about TV since we never turned it on). The location was perfect-just walk to the beach. They have a great beach bar with excellent staff, free beach chairs and a great breakfast with a million dollar view. We plan on returning as soon as we can and I am sure this is where we will stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by katy, Hotel Management
Good morning We would like to thank you for your message We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests. Your comments are precious to us and will help us do our utmost to fully satisfy your needs.We are looking forward to reading your opinions. Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel. Sincerely yours La Playa Orient Bay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, England

Pleasant hotel in need of a a little TLC.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Modernisation in progress will improve the facilities.
Location: Right on the beach with plenty of choice of water activities, sun beds, restaurants and bars. Small local shops in easy walking distance.
The hotel is in the middle of refurbishment - It is a little tired and will benefit from the modernisation. The kitchenette is poorly equipped (not even a kettle) but the two hotplates, a fridge & a microwave is about all you will use! The location leads directly onto the beach with an adequate beach bar, serving casual food, and a separate bar/restaurant area a few steps further off the beach, where breakfast is served. There is easy access to the local 'plaza' with restaurants and shops including two small supermarkets. After several hours of rainstorms the drainage couldn't cope resulting in some flooding to the carpark - water over the door frames of rental cars and also over the patio of ground floor rooms. The staff worked very hard to sort the problems & keep the hotel clean and always with a smile.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, Fl

Very close to the beach - Couples oriented.

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Equipment - Outlets, Wifi
Location: Pinel Island Moho Beach Dutch side of the island
The hotel was very close to the beach and it was beautiful. This would be a good place for couples as long as your are comfortable with lots of topless women. I would not recommend this place for a girls trip or uncomfortable with some nudity. There was not a lot to do as far as external places to to go and things to do. Cab rides to go anywhere run $20-$40. Hotel was clean and in decent shape, Terrible wifi connections and cell service. A/C worked slightly inefficiently and almost all the outlets were loose and had trouble with keeping things plugged in. I highly recommend a trip to Pinel Island $20 cab ride and $12 for ferry to the island. Also MUST visit Moho beach and watch the planes land and take off. Cab fare $30 one way for the trip to Moho. All in all it was a good trip and I'm glad we went, but I would not go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Why stay anywhere else?!

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Proximity to beach. Food on point. Service even better.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Go to beach during the day your chair will be waiting for you. grab a cocktail and lunch. Mr. G has you covered. At night walk to square for dinner.
From Katie to Kelly at the front desk and Uri, Patrick, and Mr. G holding down the beach this place is heaven on earth. We come to St. Martin twice a year and always stay here. We once tried to stay somewhere else and after one hour of being checked in packed our bags and headed straight back to La Playa. The best food and beach on the island. You will not be disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, canada

Great quick vacation

Posted May 25, 2017
Good location, clean quiet hotel. Only complaint is how early things shut down at night. Everything else was wonderful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is on the beach but no beach view

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The service in the reception was friendly
So it is very windy very much waves and the algae are in the water and on the beach. If you like water sports is right. Breakfast is very simple always the same every day. Very expensive lunch and dinner. The pool is not good, the floor is plastic and no pool bar. The pool chairs everything old and worn out. The hotel itself is old consumed, The hotel area is a construction site impossible ways to get to the beach as you break your legs in the evening when it is dark we hardly found the apartment. 1172/5000 The mattress in the beds so hard and the springs come through. The whole bed consists of Bamboo screws look out. There is only one air condition in the room not in the bathroom or on the toilet you can not withstand warmth. The Small Kitchen is a joke no coffee maker. And everything old the walls dirty the bathroom in the shower germinated and calcified, The tiles on the floor are broken. You should really close the facility and rehabilitate everything. The worst thing is on the beach with the beach chairs, so we had to pay $ 90 for a week beach, towel and then one is told where I have to lie on the beach because on the left everything is reserved. Cruise people. There came a long-haired beach guy and told me in an impossible tone to me that I can not lie here. I told him that I also paid for it, but he did not care, because the ships arrive and they can make money with the people, so I did not book Orient Beach, Bikini Beach, any more. I can recommend Grand Case.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Nice hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Nice personal, clean rooms, good restaurant with excellent view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Nice hotel, very friendly staff and beach facilities were awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Had a very relaxing vacation, the staff was very helpful and polite. The bar is ideal and the bartender [ Patrick ] is the perfect fit. The location is great, you can walk to just about any thing you might need. I did not have one bad thing happen. If you are looking for a place to lay back and enjoy the beach this is it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Return trip

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The location is the best on Orient Beach !! Right on the beach, and a few minutes walk to restaurants, shopping and the grocery store.
Cons: We had a newly renovated room, which was very cool. The older rooms are also being renovated.
Location: See above. We felt no need to go anywhere else by taxi or car.
We stayed at La Playa last year and enjoyed it very much. We rarely go to the same place/hotel 2 years in a row, but we made an exception here. Katy and her staff were awesome(again) and very friendly and helpful. Patrick the bartender (aka known as "sexy Patrick" when I asked for the Wi-Fi password) always had a smile on his face and really made me and my girlfriend feel like we were quite welcome as old friends.