Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dumfries

Nice hotel in centre of Kirkwall.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Very warm welcome from reception staff. Immaculately clean. Evening meals were delicious and waiting staff were very pleasant and efficient. No hotel cark park but public parking just around the back of hotel which is free after 5.00 pm until 9.00 am. Only downside was that our bed wasn't comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel. Near shops.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The hotel was very central
Cons: Could not find anything.
Location: The hotel location was very good. Everything was easy to get to, as the island small.
We had a good experience, because the hotel was comfortable. The young lady in the bar (with the green hair) was very friendly. She also suggested places for us to visit. (Sorry we didn't get her name)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

received a parking ticket at the parking nearby.

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: a clearer sign posted to find the hotel and please remind the guests that a parking ticket is expensive!!
Location: close to the St. Magnus Cathedral, close to shopping.
Received a parking ticket for 30 pounds! this made it an expensive hotel experience!! I found the hotel was poorly marked out, hard to find. Once found we did enjoy the hotel, good service, friendly staff, good food!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

.

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: It's history.
Cons: Stay was excellent. Stalk very friendly and helpful.
Location: Stayed night on way to Isl of Skye
Stay for night as stop over on way to Skye.Liked the history of the hotel and staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Kjell from Södertälje

Trevlig stad .

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Bra läge för att utforska Orkney ,
5 out of 5
by Craig from Ayrshire

Albert Hotel-Very Good

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable and attentive service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great room, not a great deal else.

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: The rooms and the location. The staff were very friendly although not often about!
Cons: Allowing for breakfast after 9am, and coming to some sort of deal with the car park next door.
Location: There is not an enormous amount to do in Kirkwall but it is convenient for exploring the rest of the islands. The hotel's very close to the ferry.
The rooms are disproportionately good given the rest of the hotel, very clean with huge bathrooms and very comfortable beds, and to a certain extent this justifies the price, which was pretty high even out of season. Other facilities and services aren't great- breakfast finishes at 9am everyday except Sunday, which seems a little early for a hotel that presumably caters mainly for holiday makers rather than business travellers. Also check-in finishes at 9pm unless you call ahead, which again seems early especially when the second of the two daily ferries from Scrabster (at least in March) gets into Stromness at 8.30pm. We did not eat in the bar or restaurant so cannot comment on the food. It is very conveniently located for exploring the islands and pottering about Kirkwall, although there is no parking- you need use the pay-and-display car park next door, which in theory you can only leave your car in for three hours at a time, or try to find a space in the free car park a few minutes' walk away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Nice clean, friendly hotel in central Kirkwall

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Friendly, central hotel, recently refurbished. Not too fancy, but clean and warm, with helpful staff and a good breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Mrs Elizabeth from Dundee

Lovely hotel.

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed one night in the superior room which was lovely. Very central location. Had to park in nearby car park but it was cheap so ok. Breakfast was very good including porridge and full cooked Scottish!
5 out of 5
by paul from London

Nice hotel in middle of town

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed with my daughter for a couple of days. Very quiet as out of season but staff were very helpful. Hotel was clean and in great condition.