Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: room amenities, they were good about my dog, although she is a service dog and not a pet I did not argue the issue of pet cost as she is in retirement
Cons: night staff was aloof
Location: plenty of places to eat and shop
The hotel was ok for general room comfort and amenities for me, but when I made reservation I had to try to call hotel to be sure to get a 2 bed room as I had a friend want to join me. They assured me on the phone that they could accommodate my request even though I had booked through Expedia...they made it sound like a negative reservation method. Upon arriving I was told they would not be able to give me a two bed room versus a one bed, because I had booked through Expedia...and nothing else was available. Thankfully another friend had a two bed room so we adjusted but the staff made me feel I was less welcome. I had also tried to get first floor near exit, handicapped (this also tried through phone 4 weeks previous)was told not available and I was in the 4th floor, in center. Although I will probably use Expedia again I will hesitate and check all other options first.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Nice rooms and no problems at all. It can be a little confusing to find, but GPS makes it easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay. Can't beat the price

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Nice accommodations and very friendly and helpful staff. Would stay here again. The place was clean and in s good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great hotel, great helpful staff.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: great, freindly staff. great value for money.
Cons: it used to include breakfast, shame they stopped this.
Location: plenty of restaurants and shops in the immediate area and close enough to all the major attractions and malls.
used to stay here 2 or 3 times a year when we vacationed in the Orlando area, far enough to avoid the tourists but close enough to get to the attractions if thats what you want. Cant honestly fault the place, for the cost ther can be fewer, if any, better value. All the staff are polite, freindly and always willing to help. If you're looking for 5* hotel facilities then this isnt for you but if you want quality on a budget then I 100% recomend Candlewood at Lake Mary and will definitely be coming back. Thanks for making our stay great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gulf coast, FL

No breakfast!!

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Clean and quiet.
Cons: Offer some kind of breakfast with plenty of hot coffee and Half&Half...powdered creamer is nasty!!
Location: Near Sanford where we visited family for Christmas. In a quiet, uncongested area but near shopping and restaurants, etc.
Very disappointed that no breakfast was offered. Nearly every motel now offers breakfast of some kind. On Christmas morning there were no restaurants open either...had to eat food from a near-by gas station. Rooms were clean, bathroom especially clean and well supplied with towels and washcloths. Room was quiet, didn't hear street or hallway traffic. We chose this motel because it was pet-friendly. Our queen bed had 4 pillows and was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Friendly, helpful staff and very clean room. Very good value for the money and was quiet except for traffic noise near pool. Pool could use more chairs and different style for more comfort. Overall, it was a nice experience and I would recommend this to anyone staying in Lake Mary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our hotel after your departure. Here at the Candlewood Suites in Lake Mary, FL we are very open to constructive criticism. This is why I am taking you concern for more pool chairs very seriously and will make sure we have more seating around the pool for our guests. Thank you for pointing this out to us and I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again soon next time you are in the area. Thanks, Rachid Alaoui
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Perfect location for my needs

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: NA
Location: Very convenient to freeways and restaurants.
Had a job interview in Lake Mary and this hotel was only 8 minutes from where I needed to be with easy access to freeways. Friendly staff and very clean. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, I want to begin by wishing you luck on the outcome of your job interview. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us here at the Candlewood Suites in Lake Mary, FL. I am very glad that we made your stay memorable & I hope you will come back next time your in the area to stay with us again. Thanks and Good Luck, Rachid Alaoui General Manager
1 out of 5
by gfs from Ft. Lauderdale

Very noisy due to room location.

Posted May 28, 2014
Reservation was not honored as made. The total process was extremely disappointing. I will not use Expedia again and will not use Candlewood either on future visits to the area!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2014 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
Dear gfs, I want to begin my apologizing for not meeting you needs as requested. I am very displeased with my staff to hear that we did not take the best care of you possible. I can assure you that this is not typical of our team here at the Candlewood Suites in Lake Mary, Fl. Please come back one more time and give us the chance to make it up to you. I can give you my personal word that your next stay will be a million times better than your last. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review for us and to give us the constructive criticism we need to make things better! Thanks, Rachid Alaoui General Manager
2 out of 5
by Mary from Sanford

The A/C is very loud. There was a very musty smell

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Stayed at many Candlewood Suites and this is the worst. Room was set up for 1 person and we registered for 2. Only had decaffeinated coffee. No rotating plate in microwave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Here at the Candlewood Suites in Lake Mary FL, we strive to provide the best service possible and I am sincerely sorry that we did not provide for you. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for us , allowing us to see what aspects we need to improve on. Please come back again to give us another shot if you are in the area. I promise that it will be 100% better than your last stay! Sincerely, Rachid Alaoui General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hotel from Hell

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Fix my problem
Went thru Expedia, rooms were not right, tried to get them fixed at hotel to no avail. Expedia would not fix our problem. Hopefully will get a refund. I will never use Expedia or go to Candlewood Suites again.