Ratings based on 1,209 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Clean, comfortable and modern

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Amazing hotel. I felt like I was staying at a 5 star hotel. Room service was amazing and staff was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Glen, we really appreciate your high marks on the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown! We’re thrilled that our outstanding service and accommodations made your stay feel so luxurious and we hope that we’ll get to take care of you again on your next trip to the City Beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lehigh Valley, PA

Convenient to Winter Park.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Pool was beautiful and privately located on the 4th floor. Starbucks made great, consistent with great service.
Cons: Shower head was loose and did not stay in position. Tub drain would back up.
Location: Nice restaurants in the area and we went standup paddleboarding at Dinky Dock on the Rollins College campus.
Visiting the area as we are planning to relocate. Overall good experience and conveniently located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Orlando is an amazing city to live in and we’re glad you joined us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown as you get ready to relocate! It’s great that there was much to enjoy on your stay and we appreciate you bringing the shower issue to our attention. We hope to welcome you again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, VA

Not much help

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Nice rooftop pool
Location: Noisy location ... Highway construction and railroad. They did provide earplugs in the room.
Nice hotel. Downtown location good. Asked for recommendations for restaurants, etc. No help. Room had no microwave or mini fridge. When I checked out I mentioned that it would have been nice to have them in room. It was then explained to me that I could have had them if I'd asked but to save money on electric, they weren't included as standard equipment. Shuttle service was disappointing. Driver didn't know the area very well and the hours available didn't leave this as an option for a designated driver. Dry cleaning service not available on weekends. Front desk understaffed. Only one CSR on duty at any time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
While we’re glad you enjoyed our pool, we regret you encountered a few challenges on your stay. The amenities you’ve mentioned are listed as on request on Expedia and we’re sorry you weren’t aware of these details during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll give us another chance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg, Florida

Convenient Downtown Location at Reasonable Cost

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Cons: customer service
My experience started off rocky a few hours before my planned arrival. A hotel representative called me to tell me that if I didn't provide a different credit card (I had booked through Expedia so I was/still am a bit confused about this and I will be checking for double charges) my reservation would be cancelled. This call came at 8:30pm and I was going to be a late check-in (which I noted with my reservation) because I was traveling on business. I quickly grabbed a credit card as I was driving 75mph on Florida Turnpike because I needed that room as I had a hearing at 9am the next day. The hotel rep was rude during this entire exchange. I arrived at the hotel and explained the incident to the front desk who was very apologetic and said that the hotel was sold out and the person who called me was probably trying to make sure I was still checking in and she did not see any issues with my credit card. To which I replied, that is not what she said and BTW- I noted I would be a late check-in. So I still don't know what happened and why I received such a rude call. I will give this hotel one more try next week when I am there on business becuase it is such a perfect location for business in downtown Orlando but if this happens again . . . otherwise, staff on-site at check-in was fine and the room was fine. Valet parking was not on the ball.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Deborah, we’re sorry that your experience at our hotel got off to a rough start and we really hope we can fully impress on your next stay. If you booked third party, we’d like to bring to your attention that we don’t receive your contact information. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

convenient hotel to downtown area

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: clean rooms
Cons: friendlier front desk people.
Location: n/a
the rooms are clean and nice. front desk people could stand a little retraining on good reception manners.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Juan, we’re glad that our tidy accommodations and location really impressed. We apologize if our service fell short of your expectations in any way and will share your comments with our staff. We’d love for you to join us again at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown and appreciate your input.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its OK if you don't have a car

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Provide parking and breakfast
While checking in I was told I could nor park my car in the covered drive and that I would have to use the parking garage. You had to pay $19 a day to park so I parked 2 blocks down the street and checked in and was told that they did not have free parking and to take my chances parking several blocks down the street. They should of stated this on the reservation. There was also no comp coffee in the morning in the lobby, 2 blocks up was a Courtyard I will be staying at next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
While we’re glad our friendly service was a highlight of your stay, we regret we didn’t meet your expectations. Parking rates are listed on Expedia, which are comparable to our area. We do have complimentary coffee in-room and a Starbucks on-site, so we hope you’ll give us another chance. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Lobby and Pool, Dated Room w Faulty Bathroom

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Free warm soda on the 4th and 14th floors
Cons: rooms need an overhaul, and attention to detail. there wasn't a clock in my room and I didn't have towels
Great location for my needs. The breakfast service was not so great, and the food was really bad. I tried it twice and just couldn't go back. The rooms are really dated and sort of shabby. I travel a lot and am really not that picky, but this was bad. I asked the staff not to give me an adjoining room and they did. While I was by the pool the staff came and closed it. Seems like they didn't pass some city inspection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your perspective; we hope to clarify any misunderstandings. Our pool was closed to undergo a regular inspection by the city and we’re happy to share that we passed with flying colors. We did update our rooms in late 2015 and hope you’ll give our hotel another chance in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location but not the nicest area...

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Just stayed one evening... it was clean and comfortable. Not the nicest part of town, but a convenient location for going downtown and into Winter Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It’s great your stay was complete with a clean, comfortable guest room, so you get plenty of rest. We’d like to mention that our location is in a friendly, welcoming community, and we’re glad it was convenient for your trip. Thank you for your input on the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel conveniently located in downtown

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Check-in process was very pleasant and I was treated with great respect although being a younger patron (in my early 20s). Room was clean and comfortable with a desk and nice bathroom. Did not like the extra charge for parking, but I was able to park right around the corner on an adjacent street for free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown! We’re thrilled your stay got off to a great start and that your room met your expectations. We’d like to mention that our parking rates are comparable to our city, but we hope you’ll return in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017
The room was awful and not clean. Staff was not helpful. Asked for wake up call, never happened
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize if we missed the mark and if any aspects of your guest room were not as they should’ve been. Our housekeeping department refreshes each room every day, but we’ll share your feedback and look into what happened regarding your wake-up call. Thank you for your comments.