Ratings based on 951 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Perfeito

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Tudo perfeito nesse hotel eunamei concerteza vou voltar
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Have a great day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from King George Va

Drug Problem

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Our hotel was filled with marijuna the evening we checked in AND the following morning. So bad we had to stuff towels under the doors. Overall our suite was comfortable space wise but burns in the carpet and horrible stale skunk smell. Sad this hotel seems to attract that type of crowd from what we could tell:/
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by Jane, Hotel Management
We are so sorry to hear of this issue you experienced, as this is not normal for our hotel. We are now a 100% smoke free hotel, and do charge any guest that does smoke. We apologize for the actions of other guests. Thank you for sharing your comments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing!

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Nice hotel near Universal! It has the free shuttle service which was so convienent. The breakfast was great and the pillows were so comfy that I didn't want to leave. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2016 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express. We are happy you enjoyed the stay and we hope to see you again. Have a great day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Holiday Inn Express

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: The staff were very eager to help and provide you proper service. Breakfast was excellent and coffee was quality.
Cons: Communications with Shuttle service and Reservation Conformations.
Location: Location is within walking distance to Universal Studios Theme Park. Many resources for food and medicine are also within walking distance.
Rooms were small but everything else about the hotel was very good to excellent. Pool was on the small side also, but we spent most of our time at Universal Studios so we did not even use the pool that much for it to be a consideration. Staff was very helpful but some were not fully trained. So you had to wait for them to ask someone else before they could properly direct you. Breakfast was great and rooms were very clean. If you plan to use the shuttle bus to Universal, be aware that tickets need to be set the day before. The shuttle service makes the rules, not Holiday Inn so it can't be blamed for Shuttle issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2016 by Di, Hotel Management
We are certainly glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your feedback certainly helps explain the process for the complimentary shuttle for Universal. We appreciate your great comments regarding our breakfast as well as our clean rooms. We will share your thoughts with our team. We do hope to host another stay for you in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Universal, Paper Thin Walls

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Shuttle service to theme parks, breakfast, clean rooms
Cons: Extremely thin walls, loud noise throughout the night, rude/loud guests
Location: Lots of restaurants and convenience stores nearby
PROS: The hotel was extremely close to the Universal Parks, and had regular shuttle pick ups to take us back and forth, which was the main reason for booking. The room was also very clean and the complimentary breakfast was great! CONS: The walls were paper thin and we could hear EVERYTHING that was happening in rooms next to us and throughout the hallways. This was not too bad during the day, but at night it was horrible! I don't know how people let their little children run around screaming in hallways at 1am, but it sure happened! At one point my husband had to get out of bed to go into the hall and yell at the people in the hall. We know rude guests are not the hotel's fault, but the fact that the walls were so thin that we could hear all of this was( even the crumpling of a plastic bag in the room next door could be heard!).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2016 by Di, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel. While are glad to hear that you enjoyed your clean room and our excellent breakfast, we are certainly disappointed that you were disturbed by noises during your stay. As you stated, our guests are active at all times of the day, but we will pass on your other comments to our management team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Universal Studios

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Great breakfast, clean, nice staff. Close to Universal Studios - shuttle was full and a little to far to walk but only took 5 minutes to get to park.
Cons: More available shuttles during peak season
Location: Universal Studios SkyCoaster ride!! Great restaurant nearby - Hash House A GoGo
Had issue with air conditioner when arrived. Within 10 minutes Maintenance was in our room replacing the unit. Very pleased with the customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2016 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express to host your Universal vacation. We will definitely pass your comments along to Universal, as Universal does operate the free shuttle service. We are pleased you enjoyed the stay. Have a Happy New Year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Good hotel with nice and helpful staff. Location wise very affordable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2016 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Happy New Year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Small rooms but clean. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was ok. Overall, for the price and convenience to the parks hotel is passable
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2015 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cortez, co

Nice hotel. Friendly staff

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Pros: The staff was the best part
Cons: The only problem we found was the musty smell of the room
Location: Good location. Lots to do all around there
The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The room was iceman but had a musty smell which I assume comes from the humidity in the area. We had a very nice experience and enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2015 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments. We apologize for any musty odor in the room. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the stay. Have a good day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Ok hotel,very close to universal

Posted Dec 5, 2015
I would say the room was just ok but not great.our room needed work as in toilets did not flush all the time,cracks in shower fiberglass,bathroom door all scratched up and doesnt slide very easily and room next to ice machine and i kept getting woke up by people getting ice so its just little stuff.but i would say for what i paid for it room itself wasnt worth it but the breakfast buffet was awesome and the staff was very nice and respectful and that made up for it
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2015 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice comments regarding our team members. We do apologize for the room and noise issues. We appreciate the feedback.