Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
32% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Crack Alley.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing at all.
Cons: 100% renovation.
Location: There were some restaurants close.
Had a $50 cash deposit required on check in. Nothing was said about this on any paperwork I received. looked like a hooker hang out. I got off of the elevator and there was an apparent homeless person sleeping in a chair in the elevator foyer. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone at all. Claimed to have a breakfast from 6-10 AM, but when I went down, there was nothing but a toaster and stale bread.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just don't go there!

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Th staff was nice
Cons: ventilation system, or unlocking the windows
I was in a hurry, yes, but such hotel should not be allowed to function at all. Besides the hygiene, which is negative, there is no ventilation, so you suffocate there
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel is good

Posted Feb 21, 2017
the hotel is good and clean the problem is too far from disney and the people "guest" that live there in a weekly rent are scary.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

too many hood rats

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: staff was nice
Cons: clean the area from bums
Location: not much bad aera of orlando
room stunk, like a old drunk. i was worried all night my car would be broken into. dirty microwave tv didnt work overall bad choice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirrrty sheets

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Went to this hotel, asked if they had rooms and they said no they are totally full. Walked away and booked a room on Expedia for $70. The girl at the front questioned me about it and looked confused. Went to the room only to find dirty bed sheets that had hair and blood stains on it and wrinkles sheets. Called downstairs to see if they could do something and they said it could've been someone's room they gave us. Turns out it wasn't, however they sent a maintenance guy who brought new sheets and he was so embarrassed and kept apologizing(was not his fault) the front desk girl did it even apologize. To top it all we had to change our own sheets. And make the bed. This hotel, should be called a motel and I'm disgusted that they even have the guts to charge $70. The room smells of musk and dirty underwear. Never ever again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

scary place

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Someone open my door without knocking,place smells so bad..please don't bring your children there..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Stefan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us with your review. We value your comments as they helps us improve our services. We regret to read that your stay was not up to satisfaction and that you felt unsafe. In regards to someone opening your door, that was an honest mistake from our end as our houseman was doing a routine check on vacant rooms. We do not give out keys to anyone else except persons registered to given room. We do take safety highly at our property and will continue to work hard on this aspect to assure that all of our guests feel safe during their stay. With appreciation, Front Desk
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never stay at Katerina Orlando! Ever!

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Hotel smelled so badly of cigarettes all of my belongings needed cleaning that I brought into the room. I actually found cigarette butts on the floor in the room. 11:32 pm a hotel employee opened my door hitting the inside security latch. My 2 children and wife were scared to death. I opened the door and he then stated, " Is yo heater on?" The smell of all bed and bath linens was of chlorine. There was also black mold in the shower. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Ever. It should be taken off of your website as a recommendation immediately.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Stefan, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us with your review. We value your thoughts and feedback as it lets us know where and how we can improve. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences faced during your stay. Having a clean and properly cleaned rooms is our #1 priority to make sure our guests feel comfortable during their stay. There is no excuse for the room state but I would like you to know that we have since made adjustments amongst our cleaning staff. In regards to our houseman opening the door late at night was because of a fire alarm that broke out on the fifth floor. Our system only shows from what end on each floor it comes from, therefor our houseman needed to perform a door-to-door check that evening. Opening the door without knocking is however not our standard procedures and this will get addressed. We will use your review in training purposes as we look into routines that will avoid happenings like yours. We hope we will get a second chance to show the true side of Katerina Hotel Orlando as we welcome you back in the future. With appreciation, Front Desk
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Disappointing

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Location: LOVED the Hillstone lake side restaurant 5 minutes away.
Location is awkward industrial area. There were so many people loitering in the parking lot, my daughter felt nervous. This was the first hotel we've ever stayed in that required a $50 cash deposit upon check in. If it hadn't been a holiday weekend with family waiting to see us, we would have turned around and searched for another place. The elevator is slow and in need of TLC. A broken mirror frame in one of the elevators. A torn shower curtain. Hallway carpeting needed vacuuming. The next day we arrived late in the day (around 9 p.m.) only to find that the beds had not been made and the bathroom had not been refreshed. When we asked about it the next morning, we were told they were short on maid service due to the holidays. Very basic breakfast bar consisting of toast, cereal and milk, juice, tea and coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Stefan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us with your review. Your comments is valuable and helps us know where to improve our property and services. We are glad to read the Hillstone was a good stop while staying with us. It does indeed have a great menu and a beautiful view. We sincerely apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations at the actual property. While it is true that we were short on staff it is no excuse to not get proper service and for that we are sorry. In regards to maintenance we are currently performing improvements to make sure future guests can enjoy their stay with us. We will use your review in training purposes for all our departments to make sure that we can meet each guests in proper matters. Even though expectations were not met, we hope to see you soon again so we can show the changes being made at the moment. With appreciation, Front Desk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Was expecting the worst based on poor reviews but was pleasantly surprised. TV was outdated but functional so no real complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Stefan, Hotel Management
Dear Ryan, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us with your review. Your comments are valuable to us. We are glad to read that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay. Making sure our guests feel comfortable during their stay is a very important aspect to us. The TV's are fully functional as you mentioned, even though some of them are a bit dated, but they are getting changed out as they stop working. We look forward to see you as a guest again in the future! With appreciation, Front Desk
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Had better than average bathroom and cleaning daily
Have not received the refund of $50.00 security deposit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Stefan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us with you review. We are glad that you found our bathrooms being better than average. We usually release the deposit within 48 hours of your stay. If it has been more than 1 week please give us a call and we can see if something is out of the ordinary. With appreciation, Front Desk