Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

IT WAS A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT HOUSE

Posted May 1, 2016
The house was not the one in the picture, it was a wreck, the whole house was old and disgusting.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2016 by IPG Florida Vacations, Hotel Management
Hi. I'm very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the property that you stayed in. Did you happen to contact our office to voice your concerns while you were here?
4 out of 5
by Kelly

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by IPG Florida Vacations, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great feedback! We hope that you stay with us again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great stay

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Location
The place was nice. I called about drain problems and also the pop-up to the small bathroom basin cover was stuck and water was not draining. They sad that they would send someone over to fix it and they and ever did. It was horrible sharing a bathroom with 3 teenage boys due to this problem we only had one working bathroom. The towels they provided smelled so bad. I had to go buy detergent and wash the towels myself. I wish someone would have told me about the lack of hot water. The hot water starts getting cold after five minutes of use. This was horrible I had to take a cold showers because there was very little hot water.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2016 by IPG Florida Vacations, Hotel Management
Hello. I'm very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the villa that you were in. If you are able to provide a bit more information, I would love to look into this to find out what happened.
2 out of 5
by GERALD from Chicago

Most uncomfortable stay ever!

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
There were unexpected fees which were not apparent in original booking. The cleaning fee was not shown until Hotels.com subcontracted our booking to Expedia.Didnt realize I had to deal with a total of 3 companies for I reservation. Quite a bit of time was spent trying to get a resolution in this regard. No hot water in shower or bath tub. Not the home I selected. The home I selected pictured a outdoor therapy spa / hot tub. Mattresses very uncomfortable and uneven. I kept sliding down into what felt like a hole.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice pool home

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: We had a pool home very clean rights on us 27 20mins Disney would recommend ask for villas on highlands reseve
Ipg rentals very good desk staff very polite and felt with things very prompt
1 out of 5
by Martine

cassy

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Nice and quiet, I love it but regarding the cleaning it was a total disaster and also disappointed ,for quietness and nice neighborhood I will come back but for cleaning wise I will never come back to this place
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wesley Chapel

Not luxury at home

Posted Aug 17, 2015
House was old and needs to be updated! Needs new grass around the home and trees knock down. Pool screen was dirty and broken. patio by the pool got flooded due to the rain. Beds were old and hard. Covers for beds were old. Only 2 tv's and they were 19inches. IPG needs to really considered better homes for what they charge!
5 out of 5
by David from להבים

בית לתפארת

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
הכל היה מצוין למעט תשלום עבור שמירה בסך 70 דולר שלא הופיע בשום מקום
2 out of 5
by PALIE from Guadeloupe

Mauvais service

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
Tout avait bien commencé: Appartement confortable et bien équipé. Mais impossible d'avoir le wi fi. Ce n'est pas un hôtel, mais une résidence avec des appartements gérés par différentes agences.Le gestionnaire nous demande d'attendre Lundi(car nous sommes arrivés samedi) pour une intervention du techinicien. Lundi, ce technicien dit qu'il ne peut rien faire, c'est un problème avec la compagnie! Retour à l'agence qui nous propose un autre logement moyennant 101$, alors qu'on a payé 153$ de frais deux jours avant!!! C'est du vol, quand on propose un service, on l'assure sinon on trouve une solution correcte pour le client. Je ne recommande pas cette agence IPG
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reed

Cleanliness an issue

Posted Jul 18, 2015
The toilet was clogged in both bathrooms and there was a roach problem