Ratings based on 363 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kutztown

nice motel on the lake

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Window treatment must be changed to allow for better darkening of the room. I did not sleep well.
Location: Near downtown and on the lake.
Friendly staff, great bed, clean room. The blinds only filter the light at night on the 1st floor rooms so the room is not dark. We did hear others that were rude in slamming their doors at 1:30 A.M. then slamming items in their room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Nice hotel, enjoyed the water view and walk around

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Room was comfortable. A bit noisy. Reasonable rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Too noisy neighbors very loud all night no sleep at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Great view of Lake Monroe. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Great knowledge of area. Walking distance to downtown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great Central Florida location with a beautifuil L

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: See what about your experience
Cons: Some things still a little "dated" in the rooms like electrical outlets but all in all comfortable and clean in a really nice setting
This is a superb location right on Lake Monroe so beautiful sunrises and sunsets, very serene and relaxing. The staff is superb, very customer service oriented and guest accommodating, they really act like they care about you and your needs and treat you like they appreciate you as a customer. The hotel is renovating rooms and updating but it is not disturbing as seems they're doing a few rooms at a time so as not to interfere with current guests activities. We enjoyed our stay and the location is convenient to almost any Central Florida area. Try it, you'll like it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Florida

Old hotel kept clean

Posted Feb 1, 2017
This hotel looks like it was built in the 1950's. Although kept clean, its age shows. The soundproofing between rooms is not there. The bathroom fixtures have been recently painted. The pool area is nice, the closeness to Lake Monroe provides good views. There a two average restaurants within walking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
The place felt dangerous! Brown paper covering windows in rooms! Some very dodgy people occupying rooms! Did not feel safe so didn't stay! Very unhappy expedia recommended this place!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Comfortable Hotel Right on Lake

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: I loved the location and the views of the lake. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and we all loved Monroe, the hotel cat.
Cons: I'd really like to have breakfast offered in the morning.
Location: Downtown Sanford has lots of good food and interesting shops to keep you occupied. Plus, there are two great restaurants right next to the hotel.
This is an older hotel, so if you expect everything to look like a corporate hotel built in the last ten years, you'll be disappointed. With that said, everything was clean, in good repair, and overall quite charming. Our room had been recently remodeled and was quite nice. The hotel is right on Lake Monroe, with great views in all directions. The pool was great, the staff was friendly and helpful, and we all loved Monroe, the hotel cat! Also, we very much enjoyed the two restaurants on either side of the hotel, which were also located right on the water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff but dated hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Booked this place last minute. Pictures looked nice online and location on lake did end up being pretty. Rooms are dated, felt like staying in an old house. Nothing super alarming as far as cleanliness but could have been cleaner. There were ants. There is a bar right next door that had motorcycles revving up nonstop at 2 AM which kept us up. This place is fine if you are just looking to stay for one night, I personally would not have stayed more than one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Nice motel

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The room was very nice and clean, the pool was dirty.