Ratings based on 431 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old but nice hotel on the lake .

Posted May 27, 2017
I stayed just on night , i liked walking by the lake ,over al it wasa good experience .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Perfect for "in a budget" lodging

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, and affordability.
Cons: The bathrooms could greatly improve the experience if renovated.
Location: Groceries, restaurants, walk paths.
The staff is excellent and very helpful. The location is great: walking distance to groceries and restaurants. The only downside is that the hotel would greatly profit from a deep "facelift". It could use some serious renovation in the bathrooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Beautiful view of lake

Posted May 21, 2017
Easy check in/check out. Staff friendly worked to get best room location. 10% discount at nearby restaurant offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting and unusual location right on the lake

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: One of a kind, founded in 1912, fits with the historic character of the town.
Location: Great little town. Last time we saw Andrea Mitchell having an interview in the town square.
Easy walk to town in the evening, with excellent restaurants and book store. Lovely pool, but plagued by "blind mosquitos," which are common in Florida. I understand they invade for a couple of weeks, then disappear. They don't bite but there were huge numbers of dead ones in the pool. I enjoyed my swim anyway. Pool was warm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to airport for early flight.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Convenience to airport
Cons: Hotel needs updating
One night stay for early flight--staff was pleasant, hotel room could use some updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to downtown Sanford

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff
Monroe's is a nice place to stay in Sanford and enjoy the downtown area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice, clean hotel with a great view

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Landscaping; also, move the mirrors from by the front doors, you can see in people's rooms with those there even with curtains shut
Location: Great restaurants, shops, Willow Tree, St. John Steak & Seafood, just sit on a swing overlooking the lake!
First of all, this was a beautiful location. Can't beat the lake view!! Hotel is really clean, pool is clean, but grounds could use some pretty grass/landscaping. Room was very clean and comfortable and very quiet (overlooking pool). Staff was amazing and so helpful. This place has SO much potential. I would definitely stay here again cause I fell in love with where it is. Loved the ability to walk everywhere, and loved St. John Steak & Seafood just a few steps away, awesome restaurant to be so close to the hotel and the view there so serene.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ny

Great location! Older but well maintained.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Had a pleasant experience with friendly staff. Loved walking around the river walk!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Outdated hotel in nice location

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Beds were okay.
Cons: Total makeover from start to finish. This hotel has nothing enjoyable to say about it.
We should have had a room change as soon as we entered the room 144. The paint was peeling off the door and recently the steel trim around the door had been payed off in a past attempt to enter the room. The door would not lock using the appropriate mechanism and there was a lot of play even when locked with only one dead bolt. The vanity top outside of the bathroom was very low and old. The receptacle and cover were absolutely filthy and the back of the door was filthy and the hollow flimsy door for the bath did not fit the opening and almost impossible to close and then open. The lock set on it was from the 50's. The bath tub was about 14 inches deep and the chrome ring around the plug was missing and paint chipped and rusty. I will never stay here again. Not worth the low price they charge.maintenance appears to be non-existent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

very nice location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Enjoyed the location, a lot in walking distance, bathroom and windows could have been cleaner