Ratings based on 1,540 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bx, NY

Nice hotel, close to Disney and lots of shops

Posted May 16, 2017
Checked in for a one night stay while driving to Disney World with the family. Hotel grounds were clean as well as the room (couldn't enjoy the pool since we forgot out bathing suits in the car). Check in/out was easy and quick, staff was friendly. One thing i did not like was the fact they have a problem with people putting flyers under the room doors and for someone who just came in, you think it was hotel approved only to find out they warn you about it on a commercial on the TV. Food was nasty and overpriced. I believe they should warn you about this while you check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay. We do not permit any outside companies to pass out handbills/ flyers to our guest rooms so this 'company' was doing this without our permission. We will keep an eye out for them and call the police if we see it. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roseburg, OR

old filthy, poor service.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: This place needs complete remodel and staff training.
Ceiling in bathroom had bubbled paint. Cockroaches, maids left correct number of towels 2 out of the 5 day stay. Restaurant food was the worst I have ever had!!!! Not enough staff at night to bring the towels we never received. Made reservations here because of the Radisson name I will not be staying at any Radisson hotels!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room and that you were shorted towels in your housekeeping service. Our standard is 4 sets of towels per day so we apologize if you received less. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Park Inn by Radisson standards. We were also disappointed to hear that the food did not meet your expectations. If you have any specific information such as the room number and dates of travel and specifics about the food we would appreciate it if you could contact the hotel and ask for the Front Office Manager or Hotel Manager so we can make this right and use the information in the follow up with the relevant department heads.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Clean place.
Cons: Fix the front door.
Location: Excellent near everything
I love it. I will stay again an excellent place, nice, clean, wonderful pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our convenient location, clean rooms and our 24 hour pool. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the Front Door issue and have already resolved this. We look forward to your next stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't Honor the reservation for 5 people

Posted Apr 17, 2017
When I got to the hotel at 1.00am with my 3 children deep asleep, the rudest person checked me in and told me that the room was a 2 double beds and didn't have rollaway beds anymore so If I wanted to go I was free to do so, but there was no way he could help me even though my reservation was explicitly made for 3 children and 2 adults. Lucky me I only needed to stay there for a night. Everything else old and dirty but what's to expect for a 100 dollar/night room... The resort fee (which is an absolute nonsense) was refunded on checkout
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service and your experience is certainly not our usual high standard. We have both King and 2 queen bed rooms and these are listed and photos are available on Expedia. The maximum occupancy of all rooms is 5 but they either contain a King bed or 2 queen beds. If this is not enough beds to accommodate a particular party then rollaway beds are available upon request for a nominal fee. However, we did not receive a request in advance for a rollaway for your reservation and due to the holiday weekend and full occupancy our rollaway beds had all already been requested by other guests upon your arrival. The daily resort fee includes parking, Wi-Fi, scheduled shuttles to the parks as well as access to all of the resort amenities (2 pools, tennis courts, basketball courts, kids theater, gaming area and children's activities). The resort fee is explained on the Expedia site and is included on the email confirmation. However, I was pleased to see that as everything was not up to our usual par with your arrival experience and your room that this fee was waived as a goodwill gesture. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The place is wonderful . The place was close to all of our activities . The staff was excellent and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to all of our friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
We were thrilled so see that you had a great experience and that you found the staff to be excellent. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad , but nothing special

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Reserved room with king size bed got with 2 queen ! No problem ! Rooms isn't dirty but its not for business people seems like it's more like resort for people with kids for park ! It's already alder need to be worked on changing or renewing stuff well !! Again not bad but as it's by radison I was expecting better !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. Should you have any concerns during or after your stay, please reach out to any of our employees directly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Horrible Stay

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This hotel was very out dated..Everything in the rooms was old.There is no carpet the shower heads are horrible and stains are everywhere on the floors..Very uncomfortable stay. Stick with the International traditional hotels while traveling..Marriots etc..etc..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room and that the décor was not to your personal preferences. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Park Inn by Radisson standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
To many issues to fit in 50 characters overall horrible experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We were sorry to see that your experience did not meet your experience or our usual high standards. As there are no contact details or name in your review we are unable to follow up with you directly. Please reach out to us and ask to speak with the Manager on Duty so we may better assist you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible night sleep

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Beds and pillows are very uncomfortable. It was didfucult to sleep. Pillows are thin and hard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed and pillows We know a good night’s rest is very important. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to parks.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The bathroom was cluoged, the room smelled humid, and the carpet smelled bad. But the staff were nice and the restruant was good and the arcade was fun, the bar was also nice. But on the first floor it always smells like grease.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to see that you had some housekeeping opportunities that are outside of our norm. We will share this feedback with the relevant department manager for follow up. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed the bar, arcade, restaurant and that you found the staff to be friendly. We hope to see you again soon.