Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee

Great location in Winter Park

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Relaxing stay at a historic hotel in the heart of Winter Park. Enjoyed ready access to dining and entertainment. Attentive staff. Hope to go back soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Pia Brenan, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you Jeff. That is good to hear. We really look forward to seeing you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from S. Lancaster, MA

Old Charmer Hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the fact that I didn't need to use a car... everything is near by.
Cons: The noise... I could hear the other people walking, talking, their television and the train was pretty loud... I could see the train.
Location: There are so many wonderful restaurant and lots of shopping stores... it just a beautiful little town.
Built in 1922, this European style older charming grand hotel is in the heart of Winter Park surrounded by an abundance of wonderful restaurants, nearby and walking distance from shopping, 0.5 miles from the Cornell Fine Art Museum on the Rollins College campus and a little over 6 miles from Orlando. Most rooms feature exposed-brick walls, wooden shutters and continental breakfast delivered to your room. Some suites have furnished private balconies facing the Rose Garden and/or separate living rooms. You can hear the train passing by and the other noisy guests. It didn't too much bother me but if you are a light sleeper I'm not sure if there are rooms a way from the noise. I still enjoyed myself regardless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Winter Park, my pleasant room balcony overlooked a downtown City Park. a cozy private place to have a cocktails for two.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Pia Brenan, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Anonymous. What a lovely review. The balcony is indeed a wonderful place to relax with your favorite beverage and watch the world go by. We so appreciate your patronage. Regards, Pia Brenan, GM
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Evansville, IN

Expensive antique hotel with a greedy manager.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: I hate it.
Cons: The manager.
Location: I'm so mad I don't know what to say about location.
Unfortunately we had a bad experience. Friends of ours in Naples suggested we stay at the Park Plaza Hotel in Sanford, FL as we had a flight scheduled from Orlando, FL back to Evansville, IN and needed to stay the night as the flight was early the next morning. My wife pulled out my iPad and immediately booked us thru Expedia at the Park Plaza unfortunately not reading the cancellation policy of the hotel. We stayed the week in Boca, Grande, FL and this is the first time we had flown from Evansville, IN our hometown directly to Florida and although Orlando was 3 hour drive to Boca we liked the idea of leaving from home. Allegiant notified us about a flight change on our trip back and we needed to change our hotel reservation. We called Expedia and told them our situation and they agreeded to our request due to the airlines. Expedia called the manager of the Park Plaza Hotel and talked to the manager named told her our situation howevershe would not agree to any changes due to hotel policy. I was surprised as I was told this was a small quaint hotel and I called the manager myself after talking to Expedia supervisor about our situation. To make a long story short we did stay at the Park Plaza for 5 hours. We did not get to eat the complimentary breakfast or get a cup of coffee as we left to early due to the flight time change. The manager was not helpful and I believe it was through her greed that we were not allowed to change our reservation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Pia Brenan, GM, Hotel Management
Greetings Mr Robinson, I normally take our guest reviews very much to heart, and am sincerely concerned when a guest experiences issues with their stay. It is extremely unfortunate in this case, that when you were held to a one night penalty charge due to attempting to cancel on the day of arrival, and opted to come after all, you appear to have taken out your frustration on the Hotel and its hard working staff. When I spoke to you earlier by phone, you claimed to be a CEO of a company. One would think you would understand the importance of upholding policies in order to run a proper successful business. Disappointing Mr Robinson. Pia Brenan General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Very nice and helpful staff and charming place. However the walls are paper thin - you can hear conversations, cell phone rings, when folks take showers, etc. and he best was the 5:30am freight train that sounded like it went through he hotel. It is a great location but for me those conditions don't justify the. Room rates.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Pia Brenan, GM, Hotel Management
Greetings Anonymous, We are so happy that you were happy with our staff, but were disheartened that you experienced noise issues during your stay. There was a sizable wedding group in house while you were here, and I know there was quite a bit of movement between rooms. I do apologize for that. If there is another opportunity for you to stay with us I hope you give us another chance. I will personally ensure that you are well taken care of. It is important to all of us here at the Park Plaza . Sincerely, Pia Brenan, GM Park Plaza Hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unforgiving train whistles all night long

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Charming hotel -- terrible location next to CSX train. I was well aware the hotel backed up against the train tracks in Winter Park but was not prepared to be jarred awake at 1:30 am, 3:30 am and finally 6:30am every day. My husband commented that it sounded as though the train was in our bedroom. There is no way anyone could sleep through that. It's a shame because the hotel is adorable but it is no where near the level of sound proofing it needs to be to accommodate overnight guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Greetings Anonymous, I am sincerely sorry that you had issues with train noise. Some rooms sit much closer to the little Winter Park train station than others, and unfortunately you were subjected to some of the unscheduled freight trains passing trough Winter Park on the particular night of your stay. I really do hope that you allow us another chance to show you that you can enjoy a quiet nights sleep at the Hotel. Let us know the next time you are in the area and we will do our utmost to accommodate you in a quiet lovely room, Sincerely, Pia Brenan General Manager
2 out of 5
by Cassi

Pick a different place

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is charming, the lobby is pretty - but the entire staff needs customer service training. I got charged for a room I never booked and though it was rectified there wasn't much remorse to go along with it. The biggest problem is that there is a train station right next to the hotel, and trains roll through at all hours of the day and night. It's extremely loud and disruptive to put it mildly. The walls are super thin and you can hear all the conversations out in the hall, on the street and in the room next door. The rooms are very small. Disappointing because the location otherwise has serious potential. I would suggest avoiding this place if you expect to be respected by the staff and if you plan on sleeping at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Greetings Cassi, It needs to be explained that upon arrival you presented us with your debit card to check in both your and your sisters room. It is normal policy for Hotels to pre-authorize the card being used upon check in for the total amount of the stay, Upon check out the card was correctly charged, but. what remained on your debit card for several days was the pre-authorization amount. Our system showed immediate release of these funds upon check out, however, unfortunately being a debit card, the bank retains the right to block this amount for several days prior to releasing it back in to your account. Please realize that this is completely out of our control. On a separate note, I was saddened to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, as that by no means would that be my wish. The Wedding group were a nice group and we received several very positive comments from your family and friends staying in the Hotel. I hope that you consider staying with us again, and do appreciate your business. Sincerely, Pia Brenan General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great View With A Historical Feel

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed a weekend get away in the heart of Winter Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Greetings Anonymous, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you next time you are in the area. Regards, Pia Brenan General Manager Park Plaza Hotel
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
It was just so relaxing and the people who worked there were all so friendly and helpful. So were the people in the shops and restaurants,Enjoyed eating breakfast on our balcony.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Greetings Michael, A wonderful review that made us extremely happy. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your trip. We are at your service! Pia Brenan, GM Park Plaza Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016
This hotel is beautiful. Full of old world charm and character. The rooms are small but you also have a balcony that is a cozy place to talk or enjoy your morning coffee. The hotel staff is cheery and helpful. There are lots of quaint little shops and restaurants to stroll to. we travel a lot for work and usually do the Hilton/Marriott style hotels that are modern and the same all over the country. This was a welcome cozy change for us and we would recommend for a couple looking for a romantic getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Pia Brenan, GM, Hotel Management
Greetings Anonymous, What a lovely review. You certainly captured the charm of Winter Park, and of the Park Plaza Hotel. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we made you comfortable and happy in your home away from home.