Ratings based on 1,495 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

STAY AWAY - ROACH HOTEL - FALSE CHARGES

Posted May 19, 2017
Cons: Pest control should be done before guests arrive, not during guests' stay.
We stayed at this hotel from 5/7 to 5/9, during our recent trip to Disney. My husband woke up in the middle of the night to use the restroom and he was shocked to spot a roach going down the wall. He took a picture of it (attached) as proof right before he killed it. The next day, my husband called the front desk to tell them and the lady asked my husband whether we would like someone to come and spray the room. How insane? We have two little kids, who were in the reservation, so how could they offer this while we were in the room? I would never directly expose my children to pesticides, much less in a hotel I am paying for! My husband declined their offer by saying that we have little kids, but they never made any other offers. We were at least expecting them to move us to another room. We left the next day outraged. Things continued getting worse. We received a charge for $50.09. We called Expedia to complain. The agent called the hotel and was told the charges were for the Tiki bar, a place we never set foot on. We escalated the complaint with Expedia, who were hung up several times until they finally got a hold of Serena, the hospitality mgr, who claims we never made any complaints about the roach. REALLY?!! She also claims someone from the bar would call us about the charges. It's been over a week that we stayed there and we have not been refunded for the false charges. We have been robbed by this hotel, and their unprofessional staff has yet to own up to their mistake
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Resort

Posted May 12, 2017
My family stayed at Summer Bay Resort for 5 days and absoluty loved it. The 24 hr pool was great allowed us to cool off after a long day at the parks. Food was really good, it would have been even better if they had a meal plan. The time share talk was a long 3hrs and was told it would be an hour of our time. The entire family had to go (kids too) which was not fun. Overall a great place, rooms were huge, kitchen perfect, balcony huge and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Serena Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are elated you loved your stay and the amenities. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team members. Our resort offers a tour with breakfast and a presentation on the benefits of vacation ownership. We have a lot to share with you, but we don't want to take up too much of your valuable time, either. We are sharing your feedback on the presentation length with our team for ongoing improvement. We sure hope you chose to stay with us in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Beautiful vacation spot especially if you have kids! Room was well maintained only a few items that needed some TLC. Staff was friendly and always willing to help! I would highly recommend and would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Serena Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are elated you enjoyed your stay and the amenities. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team members, we sure hope you chose to stay with us in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Clean, Family Orientated Resort- Very Pleased!!

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Everything except the Free WIFI could use a little improvement.
Cons: The free WIFI.
Location: Great location, about 15-20 minutes to the gates of Magic Kingdom. -Publix on site, close to Super target and all kinds of restaurants
I felt it necessary to write a review for this resort. We read a lot of reviews before we booked and valued the opinions and reviews people wrote. Here is what we thought of building 406: -very clean with almost everything you need including lots of toilet paper, paper towels, soaps, shampoo/conditioner, kitchen utensils, blender, coffee maker with supplies, ++towels, etc. -clean grounds, buildings, pools and excellent recreation pavilion. -no hassles about timeshares. (asked me when I checked in and one courtesy phone call that evening to which I denied interest and never heard from anyone again) -The Free WIFI was just OK. It was good for what I needed it for but it was intermittent at times. We used Facetime with home and it was a little choppy. -the staff were all very nice and friendly. -the food on site is reasonably priced and pretty tasty. On site there is no cash use at all, you need to use room charges or credit card, Just a FYI!! -the kids splash pool was awesome for the kids, the other 5 pools were also great. Of the other pools we went to, all but 1 had a zero entry which is also perfect for the kids. They loved it!!! -there are 2 playgrounds that are in great shape and safe for the kids. -we did not use this but there was tennis courts, mini golf($), shuffleboard, horseshoes, basketball court. All were in great shape but my kids were a little young for them thats all. -gate at the front checked every car coming in so it felt safe as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Serena Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our resort. We appreciate the positive comments and feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our team members as that is service we pride ourselves in, we sure hope to welcome you back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Place To Stay

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The elevator sensors
Location: Really close to all major theme parks!
Everything was perfect! We had such a good time at the resort. There was so much to do and we enjoyed every bit of it. This really made our stay feel even more like a vacation! Summer Bay is not just a place to go to lay your head. You can rest in the hot tub, relax by the pool and sip on a martini, play games in the arcade, catch a late night movie... There was just so much to do!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Serena Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are elated your stay was perfect enjoying the amenities. We sure hope you chose to stay with us in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to amenities

Posted May 4, 2017
Enjoyed our stay at Summer Bay Resort. Great shuttle service lots to do for the kids. The rooms were nice. All the comforts of home. The only down side was I rented a luxury condo under the assumption I would have a private deck or patio to enjoy the Florida climate. What we got was two chairs and a side table in a corridor shared with our neighbor. I love to enjoy a coffee first thing in the morning in solitude. Not having to make small talk with multiple neighbor who is having his morning smoke. Also not the breath of fresh air I was hoping for.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Serena Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are elated you enjoyed your stay and the amenities. We sure hope to welcome you back in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Great for the young kids

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: I really appreciated how kid and family friendly this resort was.
Cons: The bed was too hard. My room looked nothing like the what the beautiful, modern room I saw on the website. The furnishings and decor were very old.
Location: This resort is perfectly located near food and attractions.
Check in was great! The girls at the front desk really made me feel welcome. Samantha was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Serena Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as we are always seeking opportunity to make enhancements. We appreciate your kind words regarding our team members and will be sure to pass on accolades to Samantha. We sure hope you chose to stay with us in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at Orlando

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Good hotel overall. Clean room and good location near Disney World.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Serena Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are elated you enjoyed your stay and hope you chose to stay with is in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Perfect stay

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: This resort has fantastic amenities. Next trip, we will reserve a day or two just to enjoy the resort.
Cons: My 1 and only complaint is the awkward sleeper sofa. It was fairly comfortable to sit on but the seat cushions wanted to slide forward.
Location: Easy drive to Disney. Multiple restaurants along 192 and around the corner on 27. Could simply hang out at the resort!
Just returned home from a 5 night stay at Summer Bay with my 8 y/o son. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo. We were very well pleased from the second we arrived. The staff members were friendly, the resort grounds are beautiful, the condo was lovely and clean. Our main purpose for this trip was Disney. Several reviews complained about the distance to the parks however, I had no problem finding a "short cut" (back roads) on Google maps to miss most of the traffic therefore, our commute was effortless and within 15 minutes. We took one afternoon to enjoy the resort pools and beach. We really enjoyed renting the jet skis. There is a Publix grocery adjacent to the resort which was super convenient. The resort does provide the simple things you need (salt/pepper, dish detergent, dish towels, dish washer detergent, laundry detergent / dryer sheets enough for 2 small loads, and, of course, shampoo / conditioner/ soap). I cooked several meals during our stay and had all the utensils / pots / pans needed. Loved being able to do laundry so I have minimal to do now that we are home. Mattress was a little hard for my taste but, I had no trouble getting a good night's rest. Shower good; jetted tub was a plus! I was offered (not pressured) the time share presentation at check-in and that was the end of the sales pitch. Will definitely book for our next Orlando trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Serena Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the amenities. We sure hope you chose to stay with us in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Great stay!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Had an amazing stay! Check in was effortless, great and friendly staff. Room was clean and cozy! We had a condo and it was perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Serena Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are elated you had an amazing stay! Thank you for your kind words regarding our team members and you accommodations. We sure hope to welcome you back in the future!