Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: La alberca
Cons: Los restaurantes
Bien en general muy cerca del parque. El funcionamiento del barco excelente
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Worth Every Penny

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Staying at this location with my family felt lux without the huge bill! The property reminded me of a trip to Europe but it was better than that! No language barrier! The express pass you receive with staying there was the icing on the cake. I recommend this hotel highly.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind! If I have to choose one thing, it is nice to have a bathroom with a separate toilet and shower area. Ours was together. Just a convenience issue.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Schöne Atmosphäre

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Das Hotel ist Portofino gut nachempfunden. Es sitzt sich abends sehr schön an einem kleinenHafenbecken.
Cons: Das Frühstück ist wirklich sehr teuer. Das Buffet ist zwar gut, doch der Preis ist mit gut 20,00$ pro Person etwas happig.
Location: In unmittelbarer Nähe zu den Universal Studios, es gibt einen kostenlosen Bottstransfer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fantastic

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Great confort nice atmosphere..beautiful decoration
Cons: Nothing bad about this place. May be price but worthy
Location: It could not be better. With Universal next door
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Rooms are spacious

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: The locations is superb for Universal.
Rooms are large and comfortable for a visit to the theme parks. This hotel is pricey but is still worth the price with fast passes and room size. The pool is nice and the restaurants are great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pocatello, ID

Great Italian Atmosphere

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: We loved the decorum. The resort was a great place to take a leisurely , night stroll or just sit out in the court yard with a favorite drink.
Cons: Our only complaint was the $1,200 charge, $200 a day, to cover possible charges we might have made. We would have liked to know ahead of time.
Location: Ease access to Universal Studio and Adventure Islands. Citywalk was fabulous!
Our room was comfortable with 2 quality queen mattresses, marble topped table. The bathroom was very large with a 2 sink vanity. Hotel staff was very courteous, friendly, knowledgeable making it very helpful when questions arose.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

"Unusual" stay during Hurricane Matthew threat

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: I have reviewed this hotel in the past and had nothing but overwhelming praise for it on all levels. Having stayed at most of Orlando's major resorts (including all at Disney and Universal), I felt that this was my favorite in the city. My opinion won't change after this visit, though there are some things I had issues with.
Cons: As my review title reflects, our stay took place on the Thursday and Friday nights of the Orlando region's Hurricane Warning window. Living in Miami, I am no stranger to threats of hurricanes and not insensitive to the precautions that are necessary to prepare for such a potential catastrophe. I have also worked at a luxury resort during such a storm and therefore experienced at how such a situation can be handled. That being said, I was disappointed with how Portofino chose to restructure its daily operations. Long story short, they chose to shut down essentially all recreation and F&B outlets, save for a single buffet option for breakfast/lunch/dinner until normal operations resumed Saturday morning. For what they charged a night, which was not modified due to the storm, I felt shortchanged of my investment towards my resort choice. This was further exhassperated when I visited sister properties Cabana Bay and Sapphire Falls which had recreation and F&B outlets far more resembling the norm than those offered by UOs flagship resort, at almost a third of the nightly rate. In fairness, management did make a noble effort to rectify the situation, I just hope they take greater care into considering the overall value delivered by their resort compared to what their guests are paying for, especially taking into account the options available on-site.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Excellent

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Room was clean, comfortable and excellent location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel close to Universal

Posted Oct 4, 2016
The hotel is beautiful but, we checked in late, around 11:30pm and there was only 1 FDesk person with several people in line. Waiting a while to check in at that time of night with tired kids was a bit annoying. Then the night before we left we wanted to get a copy of our bill and it was the same experience. Only 1 clerk with a line of people and 15 minute wait. Other than front desk staffing issues the hotel is fabulous and the Express Bands to Universal was worth staying at the Portofino!!
5 out of 5
by Andrey from Seattle

Little Italy

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, friendly staff, best location to access Universal studios and very relaxing atmosphere after daily crasiness!