Ratings based on 791 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Very nice facility!!! Beautiful setting!!! Great Staff!!! Very enjoyable, and relaxing!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: What we liked best about this hotel: On universal campus, free speed pass, free early admit to Harry Potter, Great food and drink options, Friendly st
Cons: What we didn't like: everything is dated -electronics, nails sticking up in worn carpet junctions, electronic gym equipment does not have touch screen
Location: Universal studios, islands of adventure are a boat ride away. Restaurants on campus are fantastic Disney compound and sea world are close by.
We were here for a conference. There were plenty of things to keep my family occupied while I was while I was there. No snafus, great staff, easy to find rooms and amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really looks like Portofino in Italy

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The water taxi service to and from Universal Studios City Walk was great, and also transported us to other Universal Studios resort properties.
Cons: Prices of things were exceptionally high, for example, FIJI water in room, $7. All restaurants overpriced.
Well, after a very delayed flight into Orlando, we arrived tired and weary, and were greeted at the front desk by a wonderful agent named Diana. She was of German origin, was absolutely wonderful with us ( she sent us a welcome basket at the end of our first day there), and really couldn't have been anymore pleasant. We checked into our room, and being that it was rather late in the evening, went up to the concierge desk to inquire what restaurants were open. The concierge at the time ( around 9 pm Sunday evening, January 21) was quite curt and abrupt with us, not something one would expect from a concierge. We did not get her name, as we would actually have voiced a complaint. However, our NEXT experience with the concierge on the desk the next day, whose name was Faith, was the ideal concierge. She went out of her way to help us with the smallest detail, from printing off a copy of our Universal Studios reservation we sent her via email, to giving us discount coupons to the Mandara Spa ( which we went to, and had superb experiences, one of us getting a massage with a therapist named Stephen, who was so so professional and great at his job, to the other getting a facial, and told the esthetician that she had " the fingers of an angel", and also made reservations at the Bice restaurant, where we believe because of Faiths call to them, were given unbelievable service. Overall, we had a wonderful experience there, and would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MO

Very family friendly

Posted Feb 9, 2017
The staff were wonderful. Wish the main pool was open, but they provided alternative hotel pools.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MX

Great hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Good service, very easy access to universal parks and city walk. Great deal with the express pass and one hour early access to parks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Beautiful place in and out, nice convenient boat ride to and from park highly recommend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Posted Dec 24, 2016
It's clean, and the rooms are beautiful but the common areas are just too big in a way that makes it feel like a very nice factory. Not cozy at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For the price point, not up to a 4 star standard.

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Theme was nice, convenience to the parks, good restaurants, excellent front desk staff.
Cons: My goodness, this a four diamond winner? But doesn't even have complimentary water! I had to drink water from the bathroom OR pay 7 dollars for theirs
Location: Universal Studios is a water taxi away.
Portofino Bay claims to be a 4 star hotel, and indeed, at their reception they have the 4 diamond award prominently placed. However, I do not think the hotel measures up to this rating in all aspects. I’ll keep this simple: Positives: • The theming of the hotel was impressive, it felt like a small Italian village. • The Opera at night, the convenience of restaurants and coffee shops, all big positives. • The included “express pass” that allows you to skip lines at Universal, very nice. • Water taxi was nice • Room was big and comfortable for the most part. • Customer service was excellent, questions were asked and answers came immediately. Negatives: • The hotel and the rooms are showing wear and tear. Paint was chipping around the doors, and the bathtub wasn’t draining properly. • Mattress was worn. • No complimentary water, none, zip, zero. They want you to pay 4 -8 dollars for water. Unacceptable in my opinion. • No complete toiletries included in the room, even 3 stars provide those in most hotels around the world. • Fitness center was sub par, I’ve seen better gyms at 2 and 3 star Holiday Inn Express hotels. Conclusion: A nice hotel to be sure, but NOT worth the $300 per night price point. Drop it by about 150 per night and you have a more realistic price for the service and amenities. Your money would be better spent at another hotel in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Worth Every Penny

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Staying at this location with my family felt lux without the huge bill! The property reminded me of a trip to Europe but it was better than that! No language barrier! The express pass you receive with staying there was the icing on the cake. I recommend this hotel highly.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind! If I have to choose one thing, it is nice to have a bathroom with a separate toilet and shower area. Ours was together. Just a convenience issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Fantastic

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Great confort nice atmosphere..beautiful decoration
Cons: Nothing bad about this place. May be price but worthy
Location: It could not be better. With Universal next door