Ratings based on 5 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
20% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Practical accommodations, close to Convention Cent

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: not your fault but we needed a closer convenience store, we had to drive longer distance to find one
Location: we needed to be close to the Convention Center, fair distance, easy to drive to and from
satisfactory, we needed to save on trip, but enjoy good location and ammenieties
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
Value Place strives to provide guests with an environment they can enjoy, feel comfortable and safe, and want to return too. We are glad to hear we did that for you. We wish you well in your future travels and hope you will visit us again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Did not have our room

Posted Feb 18, 2015
hotel overbooked and did not accommodate us at all. Four hours of being in the road and stranded without accommodations. Really bad situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear your stay with Value Place was not a fully positive one. We strive to accommodate our guest as much as we can. The issues you mentioned will be addressed and handled as needed. Thank you for your time and we apologize again for any inconvenience you might have encountered during your stay with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando, Fl

Not a hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
I was not happy here, stayed out of desperate christmas holiday bonanza due to sky high rates in Orlando. Stayed two weeks, for get about linen, towel change unless you pay for it. They advertise as big kitchen but nothing in it you have to pay(buy) all the utensils if you pay its yours. Nothing offered to people as courtesy there is not even a small area to socialize with people. If u have no car its just u stack there. Not recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
The Value Place team deeply apologizes for your negative experience during your stay with us. The issues you have mentioned will be addressed and handled. It is our mission to provide our guest with a positive experience, and in your case, we are deeply sorry that you were not pleased. We wish you the best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

The stay was ok for the price just basic

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: the refund policy
Location: n/a
But by paying all ahead....and u need to check out early....you are at a lost cause u get no refurnd at all....not even a prorate
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your customer insight. We apologize for the inconveniences you did have during your stay with us. The matters at hand will be addressed. Thank you for choosing Value Place, and hope you will give us another try.
3 out of 5
by robin from detroit michigan

not satisfied

Posted Mar 29, 2012
Pros: i like that it had a kitchen and it was close to the airport.
Cons: it had no pool or no ice machine. you had to ask for towels, soap and wash cloths instead of being brought to you daily.
Location: did not like that nothing is around it. no attractions.
the hotel staff was not accommadating at all. there were little place you can go and dine. you did not have proper housekeeping. linen was not changed on a daily basis.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
I apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We will look into everything you've brought to our attention. We strive to provide every guest with a great experience and apologize this did not happen in your case.