Ratings based on 5 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Other than the fact that they couldn't find my Expedia confirmation number and having trouble letting someone else check in for me ..Overall it okay. The hotel rooms has a horrible smell though-wish they can change it
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
We appreciate you sharing this with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and we will do what we can to solve the issues you mentioned. We wish you the best and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Very basic but satisfactory

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Room was clean. Good security. Staff was a bit abrupt, but helpful overall.
Cons: A picture or two on the walls would be nice. Our air conditioner/heater didn't work as well as it should.
Location: Close to UCF.
A very plain place to stay but if you are on a tight budget, need a small kitchen (with full-size refrigerator), and wish to be in that part of town (on Goldenrod, just off the 408), I found this hotel very satisfactory.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
Value Place strives to provide guests with an environment they can enjoy, feel comfortable and safe, and want to return too. We are glad to hear we did that for you. We wish you well in your future travels and hope you will visit us again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

budget stay

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: well lite parking lot clean room
Cons: replace the bed it was a 6 inch cheap coil spring bed with a solid board for a foundation replace with a foam bed
ok replace the cheap coil spring bed with foam bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
I apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We will look into everything you've brought to our attention. We strive to provide every guest with a great experience and apologize this did not happen in your case.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

You get what you pay for, which is nothing in my opinion

Posted Jul 29, 2010
The room is cheap because they will charge you for extras that normally are included at most hotels. There is no WiFi in the rooms but Internet, but you can get an eternet cable from the front desk. There is a fee. I can't recommend this hotel to anyone. I will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear your stay with Value Place was not a fully positive one. We strive to accommodate our guest as much as we can. The issues you mentioned will be addressed and handled as needed. Thank you for your time and we apologize again for any inconvenience you might have encountered during your stay with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison WI

Not Impressed.

Posted Nov 25, 2009
Will book regular hotel next time instead of value place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your customer insight. We apologize for the inconveniences you did have during your stay with us. The matters at hand will be addressed. We wish you the best.