Ratings based on 7,233 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Nice resort close to universal studios

Posted May 21, 2017
Very clean and comfortable rooms. Several nice pools to swim in. Only complaint was that the deli/marketplace/gift shop closed early. So there were no places to have a snack/drink after coming back from the theme parks.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Your comments are appreciated and welcomed. It brings us happiness to see that you were able to enjoy of our cleanliness, comfort, and resort amenities. Your feedback regarding our amenity operating hours will be shared in our attempt to better ourselves for our future guests. It is our hope that this does not hinder you from allowing us another chance to better impress you in the future. Nat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long Island, New York

Beautiful hotel. Nice pools clean

Posted May 21, 2017
We celebrated our45 th anniversary, everything was great service ,grounds kept clean the only complaint we had was the Time Share meeting was suppose to be 90 minutes it turned out to be over 41/2 hrs long It became relentless. But a bad taste to long !
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It brings us delight to see that we had the pleasure of hosting your anniversary celebration. Please be advised that although we offer the opportunity for our guests to partake in one of our resort previews, there is never any obligation to attend. We never intend to make you feel uncomfortable in any way. It is our sincere hope that you may allow us another opportunity to better exceed your expectations in the future. Nat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Mother's Day/Graduation

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The staff and the room.
Cons: Added shuttle service off the premises would be a plus.
Location: The location was fine. However, you do need a car unless you want to spend a lot on taxis.
I stayed at the Westgate on Mother's Day to celebrate my mom. To say the least, the Westgate, gave my mom a wonderful Mother's Day. The 50-Minute massage at the Serenity Spa was amazing. We were also in town to attend my nephew's graduation. The two days spent just hanging around the resort was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It brings us happiness to see that you were able to enjoy of our resort's friendly staff, accommodations, and Serenity Spa during your visit. It is our hope that we may have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future. Nat
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Welcome to Orlando :(

Posted May 17, 2017
We booked our trip as deal of the day through Expedia. Unfortunately, it said nothing about this being a time share and sales pitch as part of our time and stay. It was a bit and switch when we checked in to layer find out that all the people in our group had similar experience. Totally shady and then you want me to buy in and support your high pressure captured audience garbage.....uhhh no thanks. Won't be coming back and surely won't be an owner. The resort had a lot of amenities, next to a lake, restraints and a market. However, parking was first come first serve and full most of the time. Horribly, loud neighbors and upstairs all hours of the night. Strange shared entry to your unit. Maintenance was sub par, mold was painted over in the bathroom and the kitchenette sink knobs turned all the way around. Check in staff was nice, but the direct you to the sales desk as a required part of checking in, then hand you off to the bell hop who guides you to your room. Our tv was not working so 2 maintenance guys showed up and changed the remote and then stood there for a tip....really? How about fix that before we get here? The sales pitch stated it would take 90 min, but when we show up at 8 and we ate still dealing with it at 11:30 that is ridiculous! Maybe I should bill you for a half day of my vacation wasted. I told our assigned sales guy straight up we did not want to do this, we will not be buying so take us to end of the 'tour'.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Your comments are appreciated and welcomed. We are disappointed to see that you may have had a less than satisfying experience with us. Please be advised that your satisfaction is very important to us, and we aim to do all that we can to ensure of it. There is never any obligation to attend of our resort previews, and we never intend to inconvenience you in any way. It would be a great honor if you permitted us another opportunity to better exceed of your expectations in the time to come. Nat
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

Time share pitch

Posted May 17, 2017
Hotel was great and staff was to but they tell you that they will give you free breakfast and a tour of the resort with out telling you it's a high pressure time share pitch. They even bride you by saying they will give you money at the end of the tour. It was frustrating. However the grounds are in a great location as well as this resort has 7 pools I would stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It brings us happiness to see that you were able to enjoy of our resort's amenities during your visit. Please be advised that although we are a timeshare resort and we offer the option to tour, there is never any obligation to attend one of our presentations. We never intend to inconvenience you or make you feel uncomfortable in any way. Because we do value your time, incentives are offered in exchange for it. It is our sincere hope that you may permit us another opportunity to better impress you in the future. Nat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lowell ma

Resort just "ok"

Posted May 11, 2017
Check in and out was fast, rooms where just ok, outdated. Lot of noise from other guest late into the night. Most of staff where friendly. Lots of construction going on, tooo noisy. Food was terrible, dont eat there. Parking was great. Dont buy any time share or travel packages they are trying to sell, just get the reduced park tickets and say no at the endof the seminar.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It brings us pleasure to see that you found satisfaction in our efficient check-in staff. Please be advised that we are currently in the process of making a number of updates and additions to better our property for our guests. It is our sincere hope that you allow us another opportunity to better impress you in the future. Nat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

John

Posted May 5, 2017
Good place close to everything depending on room studios to small for more than 3 people but anything bigger is fantastic stayed in both studio and 2 bedroom apt we are a family of four !!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It brings us delight to see that you found satisfaction in our resort's location and accommodations. We hope to see you again during your following Orlando visit! Nat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Great stay

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: It was all inclusive, everything I needed in one place.
Cons: maybe a shuttle to the convention center
Location: I cant say, I was there for a convention, I didn't do much outside of the the convention activities.
I was bumped up to a VIP room and it was very spacious and comfortable. The food in the bar/restaurant was excellent and the staff was very accommodating. I enjoyed walking the very large resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed of our convenience during your visit. Your feedback will be shared in our attempt to better locate our areas of improvement. It is our hope that we may have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future. Nat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Resort for the price.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The shops and pools around the resort. The onsite grocery store and deli was super convenient.
Cons: DO NOT take the taxi service that the resort provides. Costed $10 for a mile drive to Walmart. Uber is much cheaper. Free bus to parks was ok.
Location: International Drive was about a mile East of us.
Very large resort, many young families and couples. In general, staff was very nice and helpful. Did not take part in timeshare presentations... Room was fairly clean, shower needs an upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Your comments are appreciated and welcomed. It brings us happiness to learn that you were able to enjoy of our resort's amenities, convenience, and friendly staff. Please be advised that we are currently working hard to update our resort, to better serve our guests. The taxi service provided is not owned or operated by our resort; however, your feedback will be shared. It is our hope that this does not hinder you from visiting us again in the future. Nat
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff were excellent!

Posted May 2, 2017
I would not recommend this resort to anyone. It is outdated and not at all what you would expect. I do have to say the staff made it a pleasant experience. They were wonderful from the front desk , To the room service plus the staff at the pool. It looks like they are going to update property with a waterpark but just found everything to be old and not well-maintained.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Your feedback is appreciated. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed of our resort's staff during your visit. Please be advised that we are currently working very hard to update our resort, to better serve our guests. Our resort staff would be happy to offer one of our already updated units, so long as our availability permits. It is our hope that any possible concern was brought to the attention of our staff to be addressed. We hope to better impress you during your following Orlando visit. Nat