Ratings based on 6,795 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Convention Centre

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Visit was for business but room had poor WiFi, kept losing signal and weak signal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Great place to relax and enjoy life but not enough places to park near room if u leave after dark and come in late there is no where to park with out having to walk
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. During times of high occupancy, our parking situation sometimes can be challenging. We do apologize if you were inconvenienced. We would like to point out that we do have a parking garage on property and transportation is provided between the garage and your unit. We are glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and hope to see you again soon! Anja
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
I had a great experience. There was alot of things to do in the resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa. Our goal at Westgate is to provide you, our guest, with a professional and courteous staff as well as quality accommodations and amenities. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to your next visit. Anja
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Great hotel; ok staff

Posted Sep 23, 2016
When I got to the hotel I went through the security gate by smoke house grill. They didn't even stop me. They opened the gate without finding out who I was. That wasn't a great impression. But once I got checked in and got to the room it was gorgeous. I booked my stay as the cheapest option, hotels choice. So I was expecting a studio room. The room I got was a 1 bedroom with a living room and full kitchen. It was amazing. Very modern with new everything. The bathroom was amazing, with a double rain shower head shower, and all marble with tiles. That was how the kitchen was also, all marble and tile. Beautiful room. All of the staff but one was very nice. The only problem I had was with one of the pool bartenders. He was very rude and seemed more interested in the football game on the tv than the guests. Security was very nice, but was too nice. The whole week I only got stopped once by security asking to see my parking pass. Even at 2 am I just got waved through the gate. So that's probably my only big complaint about my stay. Another thing: they keys get decensitized very easily. I had to get a new key 3 times during my week long stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
We thank you for visiting the Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa, as well as for taking the time to share your experience in this review. It is very much appreciated and at the same time very helpful for future guests. We are happy to read that the unit you were assigned exceeded your expectations and that your found our staff to be pleasant and helpful. We do apologize for the manner in which you treated by one of the bartenders as this is not our standard for customer service. We will be sharing this information along with your concerns for security with our team for further review. Thank you again for being our guest. We hope to have the pleasure again soon! Anja
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Great service, great suite!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We had a pleasant stay at Westgate Lakes, the suite was spacious, comfortable and very well equipped. Staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and that we felt like home. Would definitely stay there again for my next trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for being our guest and providing a review. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and we would love to have you stay with us again the next time you are in the area! Anja
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de Mexico

Hotel, con alberca, en términos generales bien

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: la vista que tienen la habitaciones, las instalaciones y la tranquilidad que se tiene
Cons: no ponerle tanto cloro al agua de la alberca y la limpieza de las habitaciones
Location: Excelente y muy cerca de los parques de diversion
Buena, excelentes instalaciones, alberca bien pero el agua tiene mucho cloro, la limpieza en las habitaciones no es buena.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando Florida

Not so good

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The transportation to and from the amusement park was horrible also the transportation was to and from the airport is horrible it's limited transportation. If your hotel room is located in the back of the property and you call the front desk for someone to pick you up from your hotel room to bring you to the lobby no one will come they will send no one is horrible. You will have to walk to and from your hotel room every night you stay there I would not recommend you stay at this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share with us a review of your stay. We regret to hear that you were displeased with the shuttle service we offer to and from the local attractions. Please note that this service is complimentary to all resort guests and is, of course, optional. Should guests wish to travel back and forth to and from attractions on their own schedule, we do recommend using a taxi service or renting a vehicle. When it comes to airport transportation; this is not something we offer at the resort, but are sorry to read you had difficulty with that company. In response to having someone pick you up at your unit, the resort does have onsite transportation available; however, there can be a wait time of up to fifteen minutes due to the size of the property and the number of guest utilizing this feature. We do appreciate your feedback as all feedback received is used to help identify areas which may be in need of improvement. Thank you for visiting. We hope to see you again soon! Anja
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Poor location if not driving

Posted Sep 15, 2016
At check in we were advised/pressurised to attend a 90 minute timeshare one to one sales pitch in order to avail of a number of discounts. During the 90 minute pitch we were pitched at by 3 different individuals, 2 of whom were very insincere, stereotype spouting and irritating who refused time after time to take no for an answer. Finally, after 90 minutes when they accepted our refusal to purchase a timeshare I found them to be quite cold. However on the brightside, the room was large, very comfortable and well equipped with a fridge, cutlery, delph and a hot tub. The amenities - crazy golf course, swimming pools, basketball and tennis courts were good, payment of approx $135 in total for 2 people for 12 days was made at check in in order to avail of amenities. A word of warning to those not driving, the location is an hour walk from the main restaurants on international drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are disappointed to see that you may have had a less than exceptional experience with us. Please be advised that being a timeshare resort, we do offer the opportunity for our guests to partake in one of our presentations. There is never any obligation to attend, and we never intend to make you feel uncomfortable in any way. We do hope that you were able to enjoy of our resort amenities, and that this did not deter you from fully enjoying your Myrtle Beach visit. It is our hope that you may allow us another opportunity to better impress you in the time coming. Nat
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Wifi is so sloooooow and high pressure sales

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Upon arrival, it was okay. Nice resort amenities. However, there are salespeople trying to sell you a timeshare. It just makes one not enjoy their peaceful vacation. Shoulda just stayed at the Hyatt Regency. No pressure and pure relaxation and luxurious. That place is worth every penny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. As a timeshare resort, we certainly allow our sales staff to promote and offer some of our more popular vacation packages and timeshare properties; however the overall customer service experience provided to our guests should certainly not be altered in any way. We hope that you have another chance to come back and vacation with us in the future. Luna
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice hotel close to sea world and restuarants

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Everything was perfect!!! Great location to get to and from major attractions and restaurants!! Rooms very clean and beautiful with amazing views of the lake!! Security at hotel was unbelievable, you always seen someone who worked their either patrolling or doing maintenance! One of the best places I have stayed in a long time!!! Will be booking another trip to Orlando soon and this will be where I choose to stay!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is such a delight to know that you enjoyed our ideal and convenient resort locations and that you were able to experience a lovely lake view from your unit. We are also glad to see that you found our staff to great in every way. We certainly look forward to seeing you vacation with us again soon. Luna