Ratings based on 1,541 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach, and close to Dunkin Donuts!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Stayed at Laplaya resort in DAB,formerly a Best Western property for 25 yrs.it consistently declined once it was sold to a private owner.I understand it was sold last year to an unknown hotel chain shortly before the hurricane did a great deal of damage to it and many other hotels in the area.it remains shut down with security fences and guard patrol.we tried the Cass del sol hotel for the first time and found it very accommodating and clean with very good staff in all areas of service.we are going back next month for another weeks stay,and are looking forward to our second visit. by far a much more professionally run property than we had got used to over the years at layplaya.sometimes you have to "adjust" your loyalty!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice older hotel.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: My room was large and very comfortable, the location was great.
Cons: The front desk needs to know if a room has been prepaid via Expedia.
Location: The beach, nice restaurant across the street.
The room was very comfortable, the staff nice, I stayed there one night. Only there is a issue that I have to deal with now... When I checked in they asked for a credit card, no problem there -for incidentals, etc., but I did mention that Expedia had already charged me for the room, the desk clerk said "no they had not" and put the room on my card. I checked my account today and Expedia had charged me for the room when I booked it, and the hotel charged me too! Now I'll have to make some calls to get it corrected and ask them to refund for the overcharge. Guess the hotel clerks had better get some Expedia pre-paid room schooling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rome ga

nice hotel on the beach for a cheap get away

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: breakfast pool area
Cons: hot tub added where the fire pit is
Location: Charlie horses seafood restaurant
had a fantastic time pool area was amazing just wish it had a hot tub. amazing breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Older hotel but have been upgraded & on the beach

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The breakfast included was excellent and have a friendly staff
Cons: Need to improve on maintaining pests (roaches,ants)
Larger rooms with balcony and on the beach close to restaurants and shopping
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beach hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The room is large and they had a nice breakfast.
Cons: they should not advertise the room as having an ocean view.
Location: It is right on the beach and has a nice pool.
The room was large and it had a small refrigerator as well as a kitchen sink. The room was advertised as having a beach view, but it was impossible to see the beach from our balcony which overlooked The dumpster and the underground parking garage entrance. I checked in at 4 PM and thought I could get a better room since this was listed as a Expedia VIP hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Check in was very difficult. We waited in line for nearly 30 minutes to find out that her room still wasn't ready. This is at 4:30 in the afternoon. Currently they had problems with their cleaning staff. However once we got into the room it was a reasonably nice room about what you would expect for how much they charge. The location is awesome, the beach is great l.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Great stay!!! Clean, friendly, accommodating, and great price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Location good. Nice rooms.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pool stays too cold to use. They said the heater was being repaired. They said the same thing ladt October. No one used the pool longer than 15 minutes. My son's lips turned blue it was so cold.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
When we arrived to our room found bugs in our bed as well the next day we where boxed in the parking lot someone parked behind that wasn't even in a spot and we where told from the beginning they where strick on parking guess not
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Marina, Hotel Management
I apologize that your expectations weren't met, the above issues have been addressed and we hope that you will be our return guest.
4 out of 5
by BENNIE

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
stay was fine except pool was cold because its in the shade of the building most of the day