Ratings based on 1,269 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just close to beach

Posted Oct 16, 2017
the motel has gone down in the past two years since we stayed there
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by The Makai Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with our property. We appreciate your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs renovation and better staff

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Our recent stay at Makai was less than satisfying. The staff we're rude and tried to enforce a curfew on our guests. While walking through the poorly lit parking lot a friend of ours fell into a hole that was six or more inches in depth. When they went to get an incident report the staff acted in such a way that it was his fault the motel owners had neglected to fix this hazard. His ankle was swollen and turned purple within minutes. Later that night the same young staff member from earlier came by and said to the man that had fallen "I see you're standing" in a sarcastic tone. In response the man said "oh yeah, I'm hopping" to that the rude little boy said "Well hop away". I have never in my life experienced such a disrespectful staff member anywhere. To add to the experience the hotel is in bad shape. The damage may be from the recent hurricane Irma but the looks of it are almost terrifying. There are many cracks and breaks in the concrete walks especially in the 2nd and 3rd floor. I would really be surprised if there weren't many others getting hurt with the out of date and perilous issues in this establishment. Hopefully this review will get your attention and help you to make the right decisions in updating and keeping a hotel to the safety that people expect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by The Makai Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with our property. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear about the experience you had while here. These are not the standards we have set in place. We hope you will give us another try when in the Daytona beach area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This HAS TO BE THE NASTIEST HOTEL IN ORMOND BEACH!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: CLOSE IT DOWN
This HAS TO BE THE NASTIEST HOTEL IN ORMOND BEACH! This place is Dirty, nasty and thats just the front office! The Room smelled like clorox, there was rust all over the room, the lights didn't work the FRONT DOOR WOULD NOT LOCK The guy at the front desk was VERY RUDE when I asked to move to anther room becuase the slates used to cover the window didn't close all the way and 1/2 of them were missing. Looking at the other rooms this was more of the norm! This RUDE guy reluctantly gave us another room THAT SMELLED!!!! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by The Makai Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with our property. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear about the experience you had while here. These are not the standards we have set in place. We hope you will give us another try when in the Daytona beach area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Dump

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Dump!! Beware toilet not bolted to the floor. ROCKING WHEN U SIT DOWN. SLIDING DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN AND CLOSE. TOWELS LOOKED AND SMELLED OF URINE. COUCH IN ROOM SMELLED OF URINE. AND WAS FILTHY...NEED I SAY MORE!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by The Makai Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with our property. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not what you were expecting. Please give us a call anytime to speak with Steve to help resolve some of your issues.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from starke fl.

nasty and stunk

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: new owners and remodel
Location: location was fine resturants were close
poop on sheets had to have sheets changed and mold on curtans, matteress had big stains room smelled moldy would never stay there again even for free
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by The Makai Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with our property. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear about the experience you had while here. These are not the standards we have set in place. We hope you will give us another try when in the Daytona beach area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Nice place to stay with friendly staff and good amenities
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by The Makai Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with our property. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to hosting you and your guest again when in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Was expensive considering quality but takes pets and we were in need as we were displaced by Irma.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by The Makai Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with our property. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to hosting you and your guest again when in the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ormonf beach

Bad hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We checked in for Saturday and Sunday stay for Labor Day Weekend. When we arrived we couldn't find any parking space. We checked in and our room keys did not work. The room was dirty and smelled like pets. The towels in the restroom got stains on them. We spent one night there . My family couldn't sleep the whole night. We had to checked out the next day and go home early. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by The Makai Front Desk, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not what you were expecting. We were not aware of the problems you mentioned with your reservation. We would have loved to have had a chance to make it right before you left. We hope you will give us another try when staying in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ocala, Florida

Old hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Nice waffles for breakfast and friendly staff, the hotel is old and needs renovation. Terrible music playing by the pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by The Makai , Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with our property. We appreciate your business and the positive feedback from your stay. We are sorry to hear that the music was no good and will look into this further. We hope you choose to stay with us again when in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Hotel could use some renovations. A lot of the area was in poor condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by The Makai, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with our property. We appreciate your feedback and hope you choose to stay with us again when in the Daytona Beach area.