Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Adrian

Traditional and comfortable

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
This was a traditional building with no lift but our room was only on the first floor (2nd to Americans) so not too bad. The room was well fitted, quiet and comfortable. The only downside was that the wifi in the room was very weak, dropping out some times. The Tiramisu in the restaurant was the strangest I've ever had with the cake bit very dry.
5 out of 5
by Colin

Rufford Arms Hotel was Good.

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Food was fantastic. Staff had a great helpful attitude. We got into our room early as requested but not entitled to and it was ready. We will stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel but problem with our room

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Room number 1 is only metres from A59 Traffic zoomed passed virtually all night consequently got little sleep as I am not used to sleeping with high traffic noise. Otherwise place was ok and staff very helpful.
3 out of 5
by Wayne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Close to martenmere wwt

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Good food and drink and clean room and comfortable bed
Cons: No separate residents bar
Location: Go to martinmere wwt and also southport
Nice friendly atmosphere good staff lovely restaurant easy to find
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Picked this hotel as it was close to family in ormskirk staff very welcoming. The first room we went in the bathroom had a rather nasty smell but we immediately put into another room which was really comfortable
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from swindon

Lovely hotel very reasonably priced.

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Price, location and food.
Lovely hotel very reasonably priced. Great on site restaurant with stunning food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A home away from home.

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
A home away from home. After a week of staying in two well known chains The Old Presbytery was a welcome change. An incredibly comfortable room with a lovely sitting room downstairs in front of a log fire if needed. A proper home cooked breakfast in the morning instead of the school dinner sausages and tinned tomatoes I had experienced the rest of the week. Could not have been made more welcome and I would stay there again without question. Set in beautiful surroundings, in a charming village.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be lovely

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
We really loved the area. Very quiet and relaxing. Unfortunately although the room was lovely and clean and the staff very nice, we hardly got any sleep. The busy A59 runs right past the hotel which would be fine except the double glazing did nothing to stop the traffic noise and being two exceptionally hot nights with no air conditioning in the room the choices were either to not sleep at all but have the window open or close the window and boil to try and get a little bit of sleep. Such a shame.