Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family visit to the north west

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The family room was very comfortable and well decorated
Location: Southport is close by but we were visiting Formby, beach was amazing.
As a family, we were looking for a base camp close to Formby so we could visit family with minimal fuss. The journey from the hotel was pleasant travelling along the costal road. The hotel staff were all very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Decent enough but not overly inspiring

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Had a pleasant enough stay at this pretty average hotel. Things are looking a little rough around the edges. Room was OK, but nothing special, food was OK but nothing special. Staff were OK but nothing special. I think you're probably getting the idea. If you find yourself there, you won't be running for the hills, but you also won't be leaving with any lasting memories!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire Coast

Delightful hotel close to Wetlands Reserve

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: It was quiet, convenient, welcoming and kept immaculately clean. The food was excellent and reasonably priced and the staff helpful and attentive.
Cons: The bedside lamps could have been brighter with a wider spread of light to facilitate reading in bed!
Location: Martin Mere Wetlands Centre was just 4 miles away and we look forward to returning and exploring more of the Ribble Coast and Welands Regional Park.
We were warmly welcomed on arrival and immediately impressed with the reception and attentiveness of the staff and the high standard of cleanliness and comfort of the room with its super-kingsize bed.We chose to eat in the restaurant on our first evening and enjoyed the meal so much that we alsoate there the next night and were not disappointed. Breakfast, also served in the restaurant, offered an excellent value 3 price-range choice which suited our requirements very well. I would recommend the fruit platter, while my husband really enjoyed the full English Breakfast, cooked to order.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A very nice hotel in village area.

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: The location is great, the rooms are very clean.
Cons: The noise isolation between rooms could be better. Nevertheless, all guests were very quiet.
Location: Village area. Quite and green place.
The hotel has very clean rooms and excellent staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

convenient for business

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: the food is good
it's fine .. not a lot of character but you pay for what you get
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Location: An excellent location for getting to Aintree Racecourse.
The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The room was very comfortable and clean with quality clean bed linen and towels. Would strongly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

pleasant short break

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: The service and facilities were fine, everywhere was very clean. Left to come and go as we please, with no fuss.
Cons: Would point out that the PAT test on the hairdryer is 4 years out of date, the kettle and bedside lamps have not been tested at all- your Insurance?
Location: Conveniently situated for 'historical' things - Old Rufford Hall,etc, and travel to Blackpool, Liverpool,etc.
Have stayed here before as it is a pleasant hotel near to Ormskirk and Edge Hill University. Booking in (and out) was polite and efficient. Room was a good size and of a good standard. Did not have a main meal in the restaurant, but the breakfast was very good. Although situated on a main road, the traffic noise was not intrusive at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable stay, slightly noisy, excellent food

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: clean, comfortable, evening meals
Cons: insulate rooms to reduce noise, breakfast ok
very comfortable clean room, walls are a bit thin so can hear the neighbors, restaurant meals in the evening are excellent
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italy

An extremely disappointing stay.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: The hotel itself was clean but noise was extreme and facilities were poor. I will not be staying here again.
Cons: Pay attention to your customer care - do not rely on the restaurant for good reviews. Have air conditioning installed. Upgrade your internet.
Be aware that the majority of 'excellent' reviews for this place are for the restaurant, not for the hotel. The hotel is on an extremely noisy main road and the traffic is fairly relentless all night. The room was small and it was a hot spell so I needed to open the windows - no air conditioning - so could not block the noise out at all. I see from other reviews that the hotel manager has told other people (on review sites, as a response to similar complaints) they "should have asked for a fan". Well, I did not see that until after my stay but in any event, ***it should not be necessary*** for me to have to ask for a fan! It should be provided as standard, or at the very least guests should automatically be asked if they want one in warm weather - particularly since this has obviously been a complaint before. Very, very poor customer care in my view. The internet access did not work in my room, and barely worked in other areas which was highly inconvenient. There was no bar or lounge area, the only place to have a drink was in the restaurant. And breakfast was not included which at this price I would expect it to be. I ate at the restaurant which was expensive. It was late-ish (about 9) by the time I was able to eat and a lot of dishes were unavailable. The food I was able to get was nice. I visit this area relatively frequently. There are other, less expensive and more customer-focused hotels in this area. I have no intention of staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2015 by Sue, Hotel Management
Dear Sir Thank you for your review. I am sorry you feel you did not receive good service. I would however refer you back to your booking made via Expedia. It makes perfectly clear both prices and facilities available stating that breakfast is an additional charge, Wifi is free in public areas and air conditioning is not a facility provided in bedrooms . We endeavour to provide guest with additional items should guests request them - from shaving foam to anti slip mats to additional heating/cooling in the rooms and a vast range of requests in between. Were possible we accommodate. Our prices are competitive with the other establishments in this area. If however you feel you could have obtained better value else were, it leaves me to question why you stayed here? Regards WIFI – high speed fibre optic broad band does not run in this area as yet. The hotel operates on a satellite connection. The hotel relies on this connection for all booking, till and music systems. Every endeavour has been made to secure this connection, with additional booster fitted around the building. Connection is strong in public areas and fair in rooms. Were guests are having problems we are always happy to assist and or offer a fixed PC to work off should the need arise. With regards Trip Advisor reviews – we have no input in to how the reviews are displayed as it is the general public that create both the listing and the review. Our property has two listings on this site as guests have reviewed it as both a hotel and as a restaurant. Our staff are always happy to offer assistance and help guests, however sometimes it is necessary for the guest to tell us what issues they have. Usually they can be resolved at the time, leaveing everyone happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela

Comfortable cheerful hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2013