Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay , very homely , nice and quiet , very relaxing , reasonably priced , excellent , will be calling again ,
4 out of 5
by Laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Lovely Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Management and staff were super friendly and helpful, kept everything in tip-top condition. Arranged transportation, introduced us to other guests, went to bat for us with auto rental company.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Orkneylodge, Hotel Management
Dear Orkneylodge Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a Review on Orkneylodge. We appreciate your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and your visit to Orkney Islands. We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Orkney. Kindest Regards Orkneylodge :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Wonderful, close to all sites.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Rooms and staff were wonderful.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Easy access to Stromness and Kirkwall as well as ferry to Hoy.
Clean, modern, close to all sites. Breakfast was fine and staff very helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Orkneylodge, Hotel Management
Dear Orkneylodge Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a Review on Orkneylodge. We appreciate your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and your visit to Orkney Islands. We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Orkney. Kindest Regards Orkneylodge :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, low-quality infrastructure

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The rooms are all large, with a sitting area, a desk, a walk-in closet, and a coffee table as well as a large bed and a toilet/shower room.
Cons: The shower cycles between above-boiling and frigid, the toilet tank takes forever to refill, and you can hear conversations clearly through the walls.
Location: HBL is adjacent to a ferry terminal which runs trips to Hoy. There is nothing in HB but the ferry and HBL.
My husband and I stayed at HBL for a few nights. It was adequate overall; great staff who went out of their way to give us information and help, and who were efficient and attentive, but woeful building and plumbing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Orkneylodge, Hotel Management
Dear Orkneylodge Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a Review on Orkneylodge. We appreciate your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and your visit to Orkney Islands. We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Orkney. Kindest Regards Orkneylodge :)
5 out of 5
by Shawna from Alaska, USA

Quiet B&B

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels
Nice quiet B&B outside of town. When we checked in we got a free upgrade to the giant honeymoon sweet which was awesome! The room was huge, comfortable, and well maintained. We really enjoyed our stay here. Only down side was that it was out of town so there weren't any nearby restaurants and the lodge doesn't serve dinner. It had a very nice bar but we were there out of season so it was closed for the winter. Definitely will stay here next time we're in the Orkney's. Owner was very nice, helpful, and had recommendations on sites to see on the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest. Thank you very much for your very kind Review on Houton Bay Lodge also your High Recommendations to future guests. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff. :)
3 out of 5
by Scottish Lass

Not the best

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels
The room was a nice size and tidy. We only seen the owner when we arrived and when we left as there was never anyone on reception. The bathroom was not up to standard as the toilet seat was broken and water was coming out of the bottom of the shower unit and you had to turn the shower up to high to get the water to come through the shower head at any speed. Also the water would get very hot then cold without warning. The sink was in the room which meant you had to come out of the bathroom to wash your hands. When we used the coffee etc it wasn't replaced. The view from the window would have been very nice if they had tended the garden but all we could see was weeds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest. Thank you very much for your very kind Review on Houton Bay Lodge also your High Recommendations to future guests. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M. from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: We come for the peace and quiet - and we got it
Location: Take a stroll at the shore then have lunch/dinner/bar 5 min. drive.
Love Ralph, the proprietor. He was assisted by his newly graduated high schooler nephew and another friend of the family. They are very nice and helpfull. Good family atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by The Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest. Thank you very much for your very kind Review on Houton Bay Lodge also your High Recommendations to future guests. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Canada

Houton Bay Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: location on water
Cons: no restaurant
Location: on Bay beside ferry terminal
rooms vary as to size .the front rooms have a view of the bay.small fridge in room helps keep drinks and lunch cold. staff is very helpful. No restaurant on site so only brekfast is available for purchase - not included with overnight rate. more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by The manager, Hotel Management
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest. Thank you very much for your very kind Review on Houton Bay Lodge also your High Recommendations to our future guests. For future guests information. Breakfast is a Scottish Complimentary Continental now and we do not charge for breakfast. Breakfasts can no longer be paid for or purchased at Houton Bay Lodge. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff. :)