Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Posted Jun 24, 2018
Lovely hotel, clean, well equipped and in good repair with really helpful staff. On what is probably the quieter side of Ortigia, it made for a relaxing place to stay. Fantastic buffet breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2018
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Stylist hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2018
Pros: The rooms were fabulous
Cons: The restaurant for dinner was very mediocre both in terms of food and atmosphere the night we dined there.
Location: The historic island was great to wander around and take in the sights. Also did a boat tour of the bay so saw a lot without having to drive anywhere.
The room was really stylish and spacious. We enjoyed the communal lounge in the annexe as well as the bar. Complimentary wine and tea and coffee in these areas was also a nice touch. The breakfast had a great range of local foods as well as international options. The location made it very easy to walk around the island to see the sights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New jersey

Posted Jun 13, 2018
Totally loved this hotel . The staff was both polite, friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and being able to order omelette and more at no additional cost was a big plus. This was a wonderful experience in a truly amazing city. I can’t wait to return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Posted May 8, 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2018 by Gianluca, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again! Warmest regards Algilà Ortigia Charme Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Very charming hotel in old town

Posted Apr 24, 2018
The staff was very helpful. We felt completely at home from the first moment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2018 by Gianluca, Hotel Management
Dear David, thank you so much for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again! Warmest regards Algilà Ortigia Charme Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Beautiful hotel, near the sea

Posted Apr 19, 2018
Pros: Public rooms, availability of drinks in the public rooms, the décor and breakfasts
Cons: Lighting in the bedrooms. Ensuring that air conditioning worked
Location: Syracuse is a wonderful place for people interested in archaeology, architecture, walking as well as having wonderful restaurants.
The hotel itself is beautiful, made up of two buildings with wonderful public rooms. Breakfasts offer a large range of choice - all locally produced and fresh. Good staff throughout the hotel. Because the hotel was originally a 17th century palace the rooms vary in size and also in outlook. The best rooms are in the second palace (the annex). This was our third stay here and unfortunately our rooms looked into a dingy courtyard. The rooms were spacious and quiet, but the lighting inadequate, the air conditioning did not work and the wardrobe was falling apart and difficult to hang clothes in. The lack of air conditioning which I think had gone wrong, made sleeping really difficult as the weather became warmer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2018 by Gianluca, Hotel Management
Dear Katherine, thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I'm pleased you chose for the third time our hotel, it means you had great time with us. I'm very sorry for the issues about air conditioning, we have solved immediately the problem fixing the problem of that room. Thank you for your suggestions about lighting, they are very valuable for us to improve our service. We really hope to welcome you again in the near future at our Hotel in Siracusa. Warmest regards Algilà Ortigia Charme Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Very polite and helpful staff, wonderful position and great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, very comfortable and well located

Posted Apr 3, 2018
The hotel was very comfortable and well located. The breakfast was excellent. The restaurant was very nice for dinner, with a superb fish course. The rooms were lovely, and the free mineral water and soft drinks was a nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, BC, Canada

Posh yet friendly

Posted Mar 29, 2018
Pros: In addition to the facilities above, there was free wine, coffee, tea available all afternoon. The position on the waterfront meant that the views...
Cons: I can’t imagine what to improve!
Location: On the waterfront, astonishing views over the Ionian Sea. Visit the Papyrus museum and wander. I think the archaeological park was a huge waste of..
We had one of the special rooms: hot rub, two patios! What a treat. It was very private and lovely. Breakfast was sumptuous with many Sicilian options and one could order eggs any way from the chef. The Staff were so happy and friendly from the receptionists to the breakfast waiters/waitresses and cleaners. All advice on restaurants was correct, meaning that they listened to what we wanted (real Sicilian food and great wines) and made us happy! :). Kudos to the managers of this gorgeous place. We are also pleased because we paid in advance and, therefore, were able to snag a very reasonable deal on an exquisite hotel. I’d also like to say that it is heartening to see that people are taking the effort, money time to renovate these beautiful old buildings in Ortigia. We tourists help by booking and being encouraging.