Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from COLORADO

500 YEAR OLD VILLA IN GOOD LOCATION

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Style, nice owners, great restaurant, location
Cons: coffee maker in room
Location: Orvieto has one of the best Duomos in Italy. Lovely town, not as crowded and easier to park than some miedival towns.
This family owned huge 500 year old stone villa has a lot of classic old time style. Large rooms, large windows in our corner room, on large private park. Owners are at front desk. It is less than 1 mile from the main entry road to Orvieto, which is very worth visiting. Excellent restaurant. We were there in the shoulder season and they hadn't turned on the heat yet. Only real complaint is no coffee maker in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario canada

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Nice location. Had dinner at the hotel and it was terrific. Very rustic atmosphere. I would love to know more about the history of the home. Pool was relaxing and refreshing after a day of walking.
3 out of 5
by Bonnie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Took our passports and left them there unattended

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
After reading through the many reviews, we were so looking forward to our stay. The check in process was very odd. There was only one person manning the reception desk. The lady took our passports, put them in the open slot under our room number, then just proceed to take us to our room. She didn't offer to show us a map of the area or things to do. We saw at least 5 sets of other guests' passports in different room number slots just in plain open view. Any one could easily come through the door and take the passports. This is because that lady was the only person running the front desk, doing guest services. Later in our stay, we saw her help clearing the restaurant tables too. Overall, the property was unique ( very old villa), the pool at the back yard was nice. Service was lacking for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Beautiful, relaxing small luxury hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We had a great 2 night stay at Hotel Villa Ciconia. Our room (no.31) was elegantly furnished, comfortable & spacious. Breakfast was very good, especially the croissants which were absolutely delicious as was the yoghurt. The hotel restaurant was excellent & reasonably priced too. Staff were welcoming & helpful. The hotel is in a very good location - not far from A1 Firenze-Roma autostrada exit & also 1.5km from the funicular train that takes you up to the old walled town part of Orvieto. The hotel phoned a taxi to take us to the funicular, €15 but worth it, though there is a bus stop not far from the hotel or you could walk. Duomo di Orvieto is truely outstanding.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing restaurant for menu, wine list and historic dining room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and Historic Property

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Historic building, clean quiet rooms and very friendly staff. Definitely would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel great for visiting Orvieto Great restaurant and very helpful staff especially the waitresses
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay in historic villa

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay in extraordinary historic bldg. good amenities, wonderful restaurant, easy parking, free wifi, helpful staff.