Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from missouri

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Place was not quite clean and the pool was gross. Too many stairs to climb and no easy access to your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Maggie Montejo , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are sorry we could not provide you with a better service. We do apologize for the inconvenience of your room not being easy access we will try to do a better next time if you decide to give us another chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from des moines, ia

Quiet

Posted Jul 18, 2017
My room was extremely comfortable, quiet, bed very comfortable, room had microwave, small fridge, and small coffee maker. I had a small view of lake, I will absolutely stay here again especially for the cost of room
2 out of 5
by LISA

Not worth it.

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
It was a musty stinky room , with food left in refrigerator. Uncomfortable bed will never stay there again. We always stay at Inn at Grand Glaze, will continue our tradition there next year.
4 out of 5
by Bruce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

May Be The Worst Place I've Ever Stayed

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
We never had one bit of housekeeping the whole four days we were there, unless you count dumping the trash once. We even had to pick up clean towels at the office! The hotel was fairly clean, but I had paint on my sheets, and they were never changed, nor was the bed ever made except by me. They "cleaned the pool" one morning about 8:00; I was the first one down about 9:30, but ash trays were full and beer cans were still on the pool edging. Yes, it was a tad less expensive, but not that much less for such slovenly service. The only work I saw being done was by two little girls under 12.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

May not be the worst, but worse I've been to

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Nonsmoking rooms but people smoke outside and force all the smoke inside. Very loud!!!! I couldn't have one minute of sleep all night. I think the owners live in the lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, good price.......

Posted Jun 30, 2017
But that's all that was good about this hotel. Bed was NOT comfortable, rooms could be updated, saw several spiders, had no trouble with wifi. Even though the room was nonsmoking, when people smoked outside, you could smell it. Hotel front desk is open from 9-5 which is odd for a hotel on the lake during summer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Decatur, Illinois

Run Down Hotel, and Dirty!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Staff could be available in the office, and they could clean those rooms. Especially clean or replace the dirty carpets.
Location: There is not much nearby unless you want to rent a boat. It is impossible to get close to the lake. Condo's own the properties. Towing enforced!!!
I thought I had already written a review about my stay at Hawk's Nest Lodge. But I will do so again. When arriving at the hotel we had to search for someone to check us in. There was a note on the door saying manager on site and to call a number. In fact each time we had a question, there was nobody in the office to ask. We went to our room and it was not only dirty, it reeked of smoke. I returned to the gal and said this room is not going to work, it reeks of smoke and it is dirty. She told me that this was the only room she had and I said it was unacceptable. She then told me she would have to clean a room first, my response was how long will it take you to do that, we will wait. She then put us in the room next door that was empty. The room didn't reek of smoke, so we accepted it. The carpet in this hotel was disgusting, after taking a shower my feet were black just from walking from the shower to the bed. I had to get a wash cloth and clean my feet before putting my shoes on. I asked the next morning if we would get a refund, as the place was terribly dirty. The gal told me that I would have to give a 72 hour notice. The swimming pool was another disappointment, it looked as if it had never been cleaned. We left the next day and lost money. I would tell anyone who is thinking of staying here to look elsewhere. There are several other hotels, and I would like to believe any one of them is cleaner than this one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
It was ok you get what you pay for, reasonable accommodations for the price. Friendly enough good to wake up with the sun coming in....
2 out of 5
by Amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels