Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane,Australia

Great Ryokan close to Dotomburi.

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The location is good and the people are very helpful.
Cons: The lighting in the common areas could be brighter.
Location: It is located near Dotomburi, the fun part of Osaka.There is lots to eat and shop and the atmosphere is young.
The ryokan is well located and the staff are very nice and hardworking.The place is clean but common areas are quite dimly lit.The hotel is very clean and well priced.Great experience!
3 out of 5
by Thanapong from Thailand

good

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
good
3 out of 5
by Lauren from Florida

Good for a night

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
This place is just okay if you need somewhere to stay for a night. Staff was very nice and responsive to all our questions. The two older ladies who own the place don't speak English, but if you have questions make sure to ask the older gentleman. The room is clean and comfortable, if a little dark. The futons were nice and squishy. I was surprised there was no drinking water in the room. Also, they call it a ryokan, but I didn't see anything about meals on offer. We didn't try the public baths, so I can't speak to that. The location is not super convenient. It's actually quite a walk to Dotonbori and there weren't any cabs around. The area around the hotel is mostly host bars and apartments, parking. Cheaper than most western-style hotels in Osaka. There was nothing really bad about the place, but I probably wouldn't stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but needs updating

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Very reasonably priced for its great location. However, hotel itself is dated and needs updating. Carpets are old and smells of smoke. Sheets have been washed so thin that there are tiny holes. I would recommend this hotel if it can spend a little money to replace the old/dated hardware.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only two blocks away from the shopping district!

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: More rooms so more guests can stay there!
Location: Shinsaibashi station is right in the middle of a major shopping district catered to tourists which is about 3-4 blocks away from Kuramoto!
As we entered we were assisted by a lovely gentlemen at the front desk. Unfortunately I made the mistake of booking for one instead of two but thankfully there was a room available and he was happy to accommodate us. A lady then showed us to our rooms and explained all the facilities and amenities available to us. All other staff members we encountered during our stay were extremely friendly and helpful!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Needs renovation

Posted Dec 21, 2015
We have stayed in Osaka before, but usually in a business hotel closer. This time we decided to go for a traditional ryokan. Although the staff was very friendly and overall looks and feel of the hotel was OK, I must say that is is long due a renovation. The walls and paper dividers in our room had stains from years of use, and the electricity sockets were flashing and coming out unless you held it with your hand. (not very safe) The bathroom is a standard Japanese size, but it looks like something from the 70s. Same for the reception area and elevator. The area is very close to Dotombori and shopping streets, but the hotels immediate neighborhood is mainly where the Chinese and Korean small businesses are to be found, and is a bit rough.
4 out of 5
by Wendy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Nice Ryokan

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: good location, nice staff
Cons: Facilities rather old
Location: Kuromon Ichiba Market & Dotonbori are good places to enjoy Japanese food. Shinsaibashi is good for shopping, especially clothing & drugstore items.
We are a group with 7 family members, booked a 5-bed and a 2-bed room for 6 nights' stay. Hotel Kuramoto is a nice hotel with tatami, similar to a traditional Japanese ryokan. Large tables available inside the room so we could chat & have snacks around the table. Perfect for those travelled with family members. Traditional Japanese hot bath available free of charge in the hotel but it was a pity that we did not have time to enjoy it. Hotel staff were nice and helpful, despite the fact that we requested to return to the hotel room while staff were cleaning up the room in the afternoon. The room cleanliness is just OK, and the hotel is rather old. However, the room is quite spacious compared with standard Japanese hotels. Also, the location is quite good, just 5-10 minutes to Dotonbori, Kuromon Ichiba Market and Nipponbashi metro station.
5 out of 5
by Richard from San Francisco

Osaka

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels
Always a great place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Comfortable hotel right next to Dotonbori!

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful! The old man there directed us to a very cheap laundromat just down the street and a few other places. Traditional Japanese style living with lots of lounge space. Was a little sore from sleeping on the floor as the beds are a bit thin. Conveniently within 5 mins walk to Dotonbori!