Ratings based on 1,403 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Able to reach by walk from station, nice staff

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Moderate price with easy to access by walk. Staffs are welcome and keep standard service though late check in and early check out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
The hotel is dirty, specially the toilet is very smelly. The wall is not soundproof well, so you can get noise easily from everywhere around you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good in the offered price

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Te hotel provide quite chap accommodation. Everything seems to be ok except for pillows, which need to be replaced with better one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

You get what you pay for. Good enough.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Had to do a last minute booking as we missed our train. Staff was alright, location was great - very close to the subway station and conveniently located near Tsutenkaku (5 minute walk by foot). Close to lots of restaurants all hours of the day. The building is old. The interior is rather poorly maintained. The shared traditional Japanese bath has a scheduled time for men & women. Not all floors have bathrooms. Overall cleanliness of the hotel isn't great but the rooms are alright. Didn't mind much, because you do get what you pay for and we paid less than 50USD for a private room for two at the last minute. However, the walls are paper thin and you can hear the people in the next room very clearly. So for my friend who was a light sleeper, she had to wear her earplugs. Other than that, it was alright for a hostel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
I think I'll stay here next time.
4 out of 5
by Mina

Convenient and budget friendly

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Taiyo is the perfect stay for those on a budget. There's nothing fancy about this place but you can't beat the location or the chill atmosphere. The rooms are a decent size for Japan and the showers are comfortable. The shared bathroom smelled of urine but the heated toilet seat made up for that. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend for those that don't mind a place with a lot of personality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Close to the subway station

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The room condition is still acceptable at this cheap price. Wish the curtain and air-con can be cleaned as well. A bit noisy during night time as the wall and door is not sound-proof.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary, canada

Hotel Close to the Station

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the train station
We had friendly staff that greeted us as we arrived quite "late" into the day. Washrooms on our floor can be better ventilated - there was always an odour of some sort emanating from the washrooms. Shower itself was quite clean, but since someone used the shower room prior to us, there was no way to change the wet towel that was on the floor. Could use some hangers/shelves in the room to place clean clothes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is OK, but could be better maintained. Location is good, nearby metro station. Room is small, doom door rather tiny, bathrooms non conventionally located on 1, 2 and 3rd floors. WIFI available but very slow.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old hotel, decent facilities

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Polite and helpful staff, cheap place to stay. Can't complain about the price
Cons: Needs an overall makeover to make it more appealing. the towels offered are a nice gesture but would be to good have newer ones.
Location: Good location just right next to the subway station ,very convenient.
Depressing looking place. Room is 3 tatami mat size exactly (which is small) but has a TV & personal fridge. Toilets & shower rooms are clean. Didn't use the public bath so can't comment about that. Spent 1 night here so it's alright for me but may not suit all types of travelers. During my stay, there was quite a fair bit of tourists staying too. Quiet environment, which didn't affect my sleep overnight. Overall if need to I would stay again, but would prefer to stay elsewhere.