Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
I know this is budget hotel but the condition is really bad. Hotel not clean and smelly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice budget hotel for backpackers

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Location, price, staff, individual room.
Cons: Provide hot water facilities on each floor, heaters in all room during winter months.
Conveniently located, the hotel is ideal for single traveler or small group of people. Individual room, yet small, provides enough privacy at this budget price. Showering and toilet facilities are adequate and in great condition. Staff are very friendly and one of the staff was helping me to bring the luggage upstairs to my room at check-in. There is no elevator so it maybe inconvenient for people with big or multiple luggage. If you are a light sleeper, make sure you have ear plugs as sound proofing isn't ideal between rooms and the hallway. Also, if you are going in the winter months, spend a little more to book a room with air-conditioning (which is also a heater) as it gets really chilly for rooms without. There is no hot water other than the ground floor facilities. You will have to wash your hands or brush your teeth with cold water if you use the facilities on each floor. Wifi was ok but during peak hours in the evening it gets rather slow. Despite the minor inconveniences, Hotel Toyo has met my expectations at the price I am paying.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great price and location, quite run down

Posted Dec 31, 2016
This hostel is great if you're on a budget. The best thing about it is the individual rooms. The location is good in the sense that it's very close to a JR station and a metro station... However the location is also one where I may feel uncomfortable at night if I venture outside of that route. The showers are great but remember to bring your own towel or you will be charged a fee. The only other issue I have is that the hostel itself is quite run down other than the showers. I suppose it is as clean as it could be, since it is run down, but the hallways had tiles coming out, the wallpaper in the room was peeling with water damage visible underneath and there are no real Windows on the ground floor. Overall the stay was cheap but you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Cheap Hotel, Easy Location from Airport to City

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Cheap and location
Cons: Cleanness shall be improved
Location: Tennoji Station is only 10min away. Zoo Park Subway station is just 2 min walking. Lot of supermarkets and convienance stores around.
This hostel is very cheap and also popular as well. I was first at an room at 4th Floor. That room was bad. I usually had no allergy, but somehow my whole body started feeling itchy. I stayed there only for one day. After I had travelled to Kyoto and Nara. I came back to this hostel, no because I like it. Just because I booked and paid already. I planned to find other hostel or hotel. However, I got an room at 3rd floor which was way better than the first one. I stayed at that room for three nights. The price is definitely worth and the staffs are very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kirkland, Etats-Unis d'Amérique

Convenient and budget-friendly hostel.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The cost.
Cons: Providing basic amenities like towels for free.
Close to MTR station. Basic amenities, beds weren't the most comfortable but overall experience was okay. Didn't spend much time in the commons area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from US

Close to subways

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Cheap.
Cons: elevator
Location: near family mart and market. Convenient for a backpacker.
after walking all day, it would be nice that I don't have to climb stairs to 3rd floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Staff were super friendly and helpful but room left a lot to be desired. Very close to a subway and JR station but generally quite out of the way for the main Osaka attractions. I didn't use the showers but the toilets were spotless and there seemed to be a lot of activities hosted by the hostel so would probably be a Good place for solo travellers to mingle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Very small room. Cleanliness could be better. Bathroom and toilet were inconvenient and more cleanliness is required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from YONKERS, United States of America

Good value

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location: It's very close to Doubutsuen station, and about 30 minutes walk to the Namba area.
I stayed for 2 nights and I liked it because the privacy and convenience of a separate room and the great price. The separate shower stalls were great and the staff spoke English well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Easy access to transportation

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The place is okay. The staffs are very accommodating. The room I stayyed in was clean. I liked the book stand at the common area all in all the ambience of the place is very good.