Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located medium budget Ryokan in Osaka

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Location (central, very close to shopping & restaurant options) Welcoming and helpful staff (speaks English) Ryokan option in central Osaka - clean
Cons: Hotel closes doors early in the evening Some furniture inside could be refurbished
Location (central, very close to shopping & restaurant options) Welcoming and helpful staff (speaks English) Ryokan option in central Osaka
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Ryokan in by the water

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Stayed here on my last day in Osaka. This place is right by Dotonbori and Denden town. The room was a little old but still quite clean and had a great view of the Dotonbori. The front desk staff also spoke English. Recommended overnight stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok, Thailand

Comfortable, convenient ryokan in Dotonburi

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The extremely convenient location, the well-lit guest room, the private bathroom, and the very accommodating front desk
Location: The ryokan is right on the edge of Dotonburi. The entire area is a shoppers' and diners' paradise, and Nipponbashi station is right there as well.
Heading into Osaka from Himeji and planning some serious sightseeing and shopping on my last day in Japan, I headed to Kaneyoshi Ryokan to drop off my luggage two hours before the check-in time, since their website stated that they were willing to hold luggage for guests. To my surprise, I was immediately checked in and shown to my room (as was the couple before me and the gentleman who came in after). I was handed a packet consisting of both hotel and Osaka information (the latter of which I didn't need seeing that it was my last day there, but it was a very thoughtful gesture nonetheless), including the wifi password. As it turns out, unlike what the FAQ on their website says, their wifi was very much accessible in the guest room (or at least, in the room I got). And while they do not have non-smoking rooms, there was absolutely no sign or smell of tobacco in my room. Public baths in Japan are wonderful, but it was very nice to have a private bathroom and shower in the room as well. My stay at Kaneyoshi Ryokan was most pleasant, and I look forward to staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great clean place in the centre of osaka

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Wotif
great stay. traditional set up is awesome [as long as you're ok with futon] staff speak good english and are very helpful with local information our room was a bit stuffy when we turned up, but had a nice large window and soon cleared up
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, great staff, great stay.

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
This place was great! The staff was polite, spoke English and were very helpful! Our room was nice and had an awesome view. Way better than expected, despite the great reviews. The location was perfect, nothing less.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfy ryokan close to shopping centre

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Scenery outside the room was good because it had the view of the river. Noisy neighbourhood because of close to entertainment centres
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great traditional Ryokan

Posted May 24, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The staff; they were super efficient in service and in ensuring you had a great traditional experience.
Location: It is located in foodies paradise, Dōtonbori, with a great view of canal.
In a great location. The staff went above and beyond what of was expected of them. I would recommend this to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wildomar, Ca

Nice ryokan by the Dotonbori Canal/street

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Excellent service from the staffs. Love the location. Close to everything. The owner was very nice and staffs are welcoming and helpful. Love the traditional room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Great location!

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: Very nice staff
Cons: The Extra Fees should be spelled out clearly on Hotel'S website so that there is no surprises. We reserved a Non Smoking room but the balcony
Location: reaked of smoke. They did provide a humidifier which helped a lot but if you slide the door open, it stink!
Hotel a bit old but clean. Very nice staff. Next to walking street Dontonburi with tons of snacks. Might not be best location if traveling with kids as it it on the same street as a few 'Entertainment Club'.