Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Small rooms, but close to everything in Namba

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Free coffee and tea and hot water in the room. Easy to use coin laundry (detergent is included in the machine). Close to so many great restaurants.
The Tokyu REI hotel was a very nice hotel to stay at for our one night in Osaka. It's walkable even with luggage from the Osaka station, and there are tons of restaurants, bars, cafes, pachinko houses, and spas in the area. We took a limousine bus from the airport, which drops you off sort of behind the Osaka station. This made it a little confusing to figure out where to walk for the hotel, but we were really hungry and ended up finding a fast-food pasta restaurant that was more than good enough to satiate us after our short flight from Korea. The staff spoke English very well, and was always very eager help. The room was very small, but it did have a full-sized double bed, which even that is sometimes hard to find in Asia at a cheap price. The room provided free coffee and tea and hot water. The bathtub filled up incredibly fast for a nice soak, and the shower head was quite powerful. All of the necessary toiletries are provided for free, including toothbrushes. (I can't remember if it supplied razors, though.) Every second floor has a coin laundry machine, which was helpful for me, since I was just coming off a business trip and needed some clean undies! There are so many hotels in the Namba area that I'd probably want to try a different one next time, but REI is so well-priced and so clean and nice with excellent staff, that I might just go back to them anyway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and close to subway

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Very nice hotel and quiet surroundings .the staff was helpful in giving directions . I would highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice location near food and conveniences

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: More english channels on TV
Location: Its about 2-3 mins walk to Ichiran Ramen and a 10 min walk to a really nice sushi place called Harukoma!
Hotel is clean and comfortable and fuss-free. Layout of the room is not too cramped as compared to other similar priced hotels in Japan. Accessible from Osaka station via the underground shopping arcades, about 7-10 mins walk. Would definitely stay here again the next time!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent and affordable hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
This is an excellent and affordable hotel located within walking distance from the Osaka and Umeda station. It is best to walk to the hotel through the underground mall though it can be a challenge the first time round. From Osaka station you need first to aim for the underground mall, then look out for the Hanshin department store. With this store on your right,walk down the passage for about 20 minutes till you reach a round water fountain feature.Climb to the road through exit M10. The hotel is just down the road from this exit. Check in was speedy and the front desk were pleasant and helpful. The rooms as per Japan standards are small. For 2 persons, you need to book the twin sharing room. This gives you just enough space. The rooms are clean and the bathroom and toilet are small but very clean and fully equipped. Breakfast was included in the room price and was excellent with ample choices of both Japanese and Western food items. There were both scrambled and fried eggs available. The pastry and bread available was scrumptious. Fresh fruit juices were also part of breakfast. The hotel seems to be a business hotel for Japanese businessmen. The hotel lobby was small but functional. There are at least four 24-hours mini marts within 2 mins walking distance of the hotel. This made it convenient to stock up on water,drinks and snacks. In the underground mall are many cafes and restaurants. The location near Osaka station makes it convenient as a base for trips out of Osaka.
4 out of 5
by Pavithra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to Umeda Akaso live music venue

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Clean, comfortable, helpful staff, walking distance to both Umeda Akaso and Club Quattro live music venues. I came to attend a live gig, this was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Requested for twin badeoom, but with a sofa bed instead.
3 out of 5
by PohChing

Convenient and clean hotel.

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Booked a standard twin room but was given a a single room with extra bed!!! Instead of 2 single beds one of the single bed is a roll-away bed. Stayed in Room 1105. Complained to the reception but was not entertained. As it was only for 1 night, we just bear with it. Overall hotel is in good location and close to Osaka Umeda Station. We were thankful that they extended our check out to 11am and stored our bags until 5pm.