Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient, great service

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was great and service was very good. The hotel itself is a little old and could use a little sprucing up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Staff at front

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Staff at front talked bad to customers and could not communicate in English (stayed on 13-17 Sep 16). Suggested to get someone who could be more polite to customers. My expectation was actually not that high at this price but I'm quite serious about this service.
5 out of 5
by Natthawut from Dublin

Good location

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Good location close to subway
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BKK thailand

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Small room but big comfy. We had a great time there. Thanks smile hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by marta from Irving

A smile is worth a thousand words..

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Upon arriving, found out that my luggage did not get here yet..so front desk Morimoto asked for my receipt and asked Japan postal for me. Found out my name was not on label but I got my luggage later that nite. Front desk speaks enough English for me..only wish their name on nametag was in English. Kohei always greeted me upon arriving. Breakfast was Japanese style so some Westerners may not like it, but I love This kind of food, was healthy and delicious. There was always coffee and hot tea! Room was quiet and comfortable but the maid came in twice on different days while I was in the shower. I know I put the sign out! I am glad that I had 2 pillows instead of one. Hotel was hard to find on a rainy day, and really no restaurant around except Royal Host plus a Coffee Shop but it closes early. Maybe some of you want to go to Dotombori Street. I come to Japan to see old friends and eat this healthy cuisine
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location isn't great

Posted Jun 12, 2016
All staff never say hello to us and each time we pass reception never smile but they let's us check out late.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Our holiday was ruined by rude hotel staff!

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Upon entering 'SMILE Hotel' we thought it ironic that we were greeted by the coldest and rudest staff we have ever met in Japan! We travel to Japan on a yearly basis, and have met plenty of locals who have always showed us a good time and delivered impeccable customer service. We can't say the same about the staff at SMILE. The staff on concierge were incredibly rude to me and my group of friends during our stay. Not once were we greeted in a friendly or helpful manner. One of our friends didn't know how to use the washing machine and instead of helping us, the lady at the concierge laughed at her sarcastically and refused to help. During our stay, we had removed the key from its bulky packaging and left it in the room. One of the cleaners must have taken the packaging back to reception. Upon checking out and returning our key, the lady at the concierge gave me a rude look before fetching a male colleague who physically tried to intimidate me! He came up really close, and started waving the key's original packaging in my face, and yelling "WHY? WHY? WHY? WHY!?" He was making such a scene that everyone in the lobby looked our way. I was completely taken back by his rudeness, and had to tell him to back off. I am still in shock that we received such rude customer service at a hotel that received such a high rating on Expedia. We will never return and can't recommend this hotel to anyone based on the experience we had with the staff there. What a shame!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Near Metro Station

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: Update rooms.
Location: Near Metro didn't see anything around to really do.
This is a hotel to use for 1 to 2 nights in Osaka. There are no thrills here but it is located near a metro entrance and has breakfast. Not as tiny as a lot of Japanese hotels but definitely a budget hotel.