Ratings based on 1,405 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Nice and Very Convenient Hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Convenient to connect public transit, restaurant, and shopping centres
Cons: Room furniture and carpet need to be changed!
Location: Good location to go to Wakayama for sight seeing
We enjoy staying in Start Gate Hotel which is very convenient to public transit, tourist information center, restaurant and shopping centre. Our room is quite big and has very beautiful view. However, the furniture is quite old but acceptable. On the whole, the Hotel is very nice. I would strongly recommend any one who travels first time in Japan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

Very convenient to Osaka airport KIX

Posted May 22, 2017
Good sized rooms and comfortable. Close to the airport and Rinku Station and the outlet shops. Great breakfast buffet and spectacular views from the dining room as it located on the 54th floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
The hotel was better than I expected. Clean rooms, nice staff throughout the hotel, breakfast area is on 54th fl, which has the best view of Rinko Town city. Train station is on second floor. Train line connects to many other subway lines. By the way, hotel is on water, so enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Great view, great room, breakfast not that special but good enough
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Excellent hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Fantasic restaurant choices and friendliness of staff
Cons: Rooms could do with updating/modernising
Location: A bit too far from central Osaka but easy access by train
The hotel is a little dated but the friendliness of the staff more than make up for this. We had a week at this hotel not realising how far away from the centre of Osaka it was and had no complaints. We soon got used to the train journey into Osaka and Kyoto. On our last day we visited the shopping centre next door and realised why people visit Rinku Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from beijing

A good choice if u r staying close to airport

Posted May 8, 2017
I was upgraded and I got a very nice city view from my room. It's connected to the rinku town station, easy to find and access. Only one stop from the airport. And there was shuttle bus to the airport! Very good choice if you have an early flight to catch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel, close to Kansai Airport (KIX)

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Delicious buffet breakfast in dining room overlooking Osaka Bay.
We arrived in the evening at Kansai Airport and stayed at the Star Gate Hotel, just a few minutes by train from the airport. The hotel is right at a train station called Rinku Town, so it was very convenient to get to, and very convenient the next morning when we took a train to Nara.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

overnight stay

Posted May 2, 2017
only stayed for a few hours before a morning flight, everything was fine, shuttle bus to hotel was quick, view was pretty good but was too tired to enjoy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

business hotel, 80s design

Posted Apr 29, 2017
good as a transit hotel. no warm welcome upon check-in, just business/commercial type of stay. Room design looks tired and old, need to refurbish if still charging on this price range. right outside train station exit. room is spacious and clean. great kansai view from hotel room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice hotel and great view

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Hotel was very nice and I enjoyed staying there. The view from the room was great with ocean view. But I made mistake to take taxi to the hotel. It cost me about 3700yen from the airport. I recommend to take a train or hotel's shuttle bus which runs from the airport. I will stay again but the next time I will take the shuttle bus.