Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Not terrible Not great

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly
Cons: Offer more in the vending machines. Cleaner rooms. More toiletries in rooms for multiple people. Improve night time cooking staff..
The staff are very friendly for the most part. Finding a glass of OJ is almost impossible in the morning! We had to wait until the café opened and stand in a long line to receive it, (this is after walking the whole hotel and casino looking for some). The pool and hot tub were down for repairs. (I had read a review from months back with the same issue, thought for sure it would be fixed by now ) Our lake side view was that of a swamp of some sorts.. Tho there is a beautiful lake view from the walkway to the Casino! The bathrooms could for sure use some sweeping as I don't think it has been done in some time. There are 3 towels available in a double room and 2 wash clothes. Almost $20 for a surf and turf buffet that was mostly uneatable. The fried foods were way over cooked. even okra and cod that you could barely chew it was so tough. truly not much good to say at all about that one. However the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning was Great! the food was well cooked the staff super friendly. Could have used some fruit on the buffet but truly no complaints there! No receipt at check out. when traveling I like to know what I have spent at that time. Honestly for the money it cost it was a disappointment in full. Tho we did make the best it I would most likely not stay there again. But if in the area I would stop in for breakfast.. The casino was average but nice. $4.50 for a tiny drink that you have to go to the bar and wait to get seemed a bit much also. friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Well there a reason we keep staying there. Friendly staff, nice rooms, good food. We always have good time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
At check-in we were given a room occupied by someone else. Other guests we heard complain about their room at check-in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Overall, a very good experience. Ordered food instead of buffet. It was good. Liked not having to leave hotel. Nice rooms, restaurant and casino
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Overpriced smoky smelling hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
While we were given a "non-smoking room, the smell of cigarette smoke permeated the entire hotel, and it smelled like smoke was coming through our air conditioner all night. For $126.00 a night at a discounted rate, there was no breakfast, not even a discount for any of the restaurants. Room keys didn't work for fitness room. We weren't planning on staying here, but a change in our plans forced us to find a place in this area. It won't ever be on our itinerary.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice Place to Spend a Weekend

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Cons: Although the food is well prepared and the service is excellent, the menu offers too few choices for lunch and dinner.
When I make my regular late summer visit to the Midwest I try to include two or three overnights at Lakeside. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the small casino provides entertainment at the end of the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AR

Very convenient when traveling

Posted Aug 17, 2017
My main complaint is the smoke smell because the hotel and casino are connected by an open hallway. There is a restaurant but again you deal with smoke smell. I wish the hotel had a breakfast bar not connected to the casino, then I could give it 5 stars!! The room looked like it had just been redecorated and a wonderful shower. Very comfortable beds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elgin, IL

Trip to Chicago

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel pretty, clean except a simple fix in bathrooms use bleach on shower stall it will get rid of black stuff & clean air vent dusty, otherwise very nice. View of lake was great to see out our window. Didn't gamble because of smoke & just bought a drink and couldn't bring it in to casino. Regulations that make sense.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Asked already, but will repeat this time ....

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Was not informed if additional charge by hotel. Would have made other arrangements. There was definately cigerate odor through the hotel. The restaurant not so good either. Bathroom sink drain very dirty. Dirty towel & wash cloth behind the door. I could go on and on, but why? You will not reciting your problems. Thanks4/asking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ames, ia

Bug infested, horrible staff

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Staff rude and not accommodating when our party found cockroaches in our room.