Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

More light, more plugs

Posted Oct 20, 2017
In today's plugged in world, it's surprising and distressing that so many hotels don't provide convenient outlets for all of our devices. The desk light in this room didn't work because a previous guest had unplugged it to get to the outlet hidden behind the desk. I didn't feel like moving the desk to get to power., so I strung a power cord across the refrigerator to run my laptop. I did move the night stand and un-plugged the radio to charge my phone. Come on folks. Put a power strip on the desk and the night stand. There really wasn't enough light in the room. Needs more or brighter fixtures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Most attentive staff

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms that made it more comfortable than any general hotel rooms. Close to Wittman airport.
Large clean rooms, easy to access from highway, !bonus - outlet stores within walking distance! Staff extremely helpful, especially Vicky at front desk who went up and beyond to help with special needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Vkoch, Hotel Management
Wow! Thank you for the amazing review. It was great having you here. We look forward to seeing you again. We hope it is soon. Thank you for sharing your stay with the world! At your service, Vicki K
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The people in the room abobe us were too loud most of the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Vicki K, Hotel Management
Lois, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the guest staying on the floor above you were loud. Some people do not reason they are not the only people in the hotel. Next time please let us know so we can speak to them. We want you to have a restful stay. Thank you again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iron River, MI

Nice hotel close to shopping and restaurants

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Nice pool area, continental breakfast was also good compared to some others I have had.
Location: Right next to the outlet mall and close to many restaurants.
We had a nice stay. The only issue was the fire alarm kept going off as someone kept pulling it, otherwise had a nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Vicki K, Hotel Management
Thank you Becca for the nice review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay, beside the fire-alarm 'test' by the little person interested in pulling the alarm. We hope to see you again real soon. Thank you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was great. However flooring in reception area and halls need replaced. Also breakfast area was hard to find.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by VickiK, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay. We will let the owner of the hall know your review of his hall is on our hotel review. We are sorry to hear you had a hard time finding breakfast, we try and point it out to every guest. We know most places do not have an actual Buffet Area in their hotels. Thank you again - we are so happy you stayed with us and that you enjoyed your rooms. We look forward to your next visit. At your service, Vicki K
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by VickiK, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your stay. It looks as though you had a nice stay, we will work on getting you a 5 Star stay next time. Thank you again At your service, Vicki K
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Hotels mistake made right by Hawthorn

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very helpful in changing our reservation when the description on Hotels.com was incorrect. Hotels.com had the room listed as a 2 bedroom suite when in fact this hotel has no 2 bedroom suites. They have a 1 bedroom suite with a sofa bed (not appropriate for us since it was 2 adults with 2 teens travelling) that Hotels is listing as a 2 bedroom. Hawthorn has apparently been trying to get Hotels to change the description with little success. Hawthorn ended up giving us 2 rooms to make up for the problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by VickiK, Hotel Management
Thomas, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Oshkosh. We are happy we had an extra room open that we could accommodate your stay and make it more comfortable for your young adults you had with you. We hope that this room description is fix soon so we do not have to disappoint any future guests. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future. At your service, Vicki K
5 out of 5
by Peggy

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by VickiK, Hotel Management
Thank you Peggy for the wonderful review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay at the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oshkosh, We look forward to your next visit. At your Service, Vicki K
2 out of 5
by Theresa

I will not stay here again.

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
We were very disappointed with our stay. We arrived around 5:30pm and our room was not ready. The guy working the desk kept telling us about how short staffed they were, and how he had to manage the desk by himself, and how there were not housekeepers, and no one else to answer the phone, etc. When he said that it would be about another half hour for our room, I told him that was not acceptable, and that the room was supposed to have been ready by 3pm, and if our room was not ready, to assign us to a different room, since we needed to arrive at our event by 6:30pm, and had to have time to drive there. After many more comments about how short staffed he was, he finally assigned us another room, and we went upstairs. There is one elevator, that is slower than slow. The good: Our room was spacious and although we were just down the hall from the elevators, we heard no noise from other guests. The frustrating: 1. The TV did not work. 2. The door to the toilet/tub room did not close completely. It was warped and would not latch, although it did stick if you pulled it tight enough, however, you could clearly see the person standing at the sink if you looked through the crack where the door did not close tightly. 3. The pillows were flat and hard and noisy. 4. The bed was VERY firm, which is not my personal preference. 5. The shower had more water coming out the tub faucet than the shower head, and no adjustments made it better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017 by VickiK, Hotel Management
Theresa, This may be a 2nd post, it seems my first reply did not apply to your review. I just would like to tell you we are sorry that is stay was not up to our standards. Many issues we do not like to hear our guests having. We like our guest to have a quiet nights stay an look forward to coming back. We do hope you let us show you the 5 star stay we like our guests to have. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. At your service, Vicki K
2 out of 5
by Ashley

Ehh not family friendly

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
I saved up for this minivacation for weeks. I chose this hotel for its family friendly claim and because it had a kids slide and pool. I didn't get that family friendly feeling at all. First of all they didn't have automatic doors which made it difficult to get the cart in and out of the double doors. Surfaces were fairly dusty. The room wasn't terrible. But it was not the cleanest. Stained wash clothes and lipstick stains on the comforter. The grout in the bathroom was filthy and there was dust and hair along the molding. I immediatly took the kids swimming (4yo and 10m old) since my 4yo was so excited. However disappointment hit when the sign said the kids slide was closed. At a closer look thr pool area was not very clean. There was a lot of dirt in the kids pool and a huge hairball by the big pool. There was a pool table but no game room. Also there were no pool towels and werent restocked the whole time we were in there. Later, found out that the Wi-Fi was terrible and I got no cell service (us cellular) in my room. The breakfast was pretty good and a really nice area. Good variety. No highchair no trays no napkins was all frustrating. This hotel would be okish for a quick overnight solo stay but if you are looking for a little mini getaway especially with family I'd pass. I used to work in a hotel of similar size so maybe I'm a little more critical but I also understand the hotel business so I can be forgiving too. But this place waa not what it claimed to be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by VickiK, Hotel Management
Ashley, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry the action of others made the get away you were looking for a bust. The Slide mat has been ordered but it is special made and takes month to get. We feel terrible you had a 2 star stay. We would be happy to let you know when the new slide pad comes in - we would be happy to try and show you a 5 star stay on your next mini-get-away. We hope we can make this stay up to you. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. At your service, Vicki K