Ratings based on 2,303 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City hotel in good location

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Liked the breakfast.
Cons: Internet needs to be fixed to be reliable and cut off constantly.
We liked the location. Close to bus stop for connection to train station. Many restaurants in walking distance. - Room was small but clean. Breakfast was very nice, even though the setting was factory cantina style. The big problem was the internet connection which was horrible and nobody seemed to care. When the hotel is busy it is common that the internet does not work properly but nothing is done to change it. We had lots of work trouble due to this situation and will not return. If you don´t need a reliable internet connection, the hotel is fine. City / Business style.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great neighbourhood, great restaurants

Posted May 27, 2017
We loved the easy access to everything, without being in the middle of the central station chaos. The traffic from the trams was a bit noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich England

The Anker Hotel

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: covered above
Cons: Perhaps the coffee facilities in the room, we had to ask at reception although they were free and plentiful throughout our stay
Location: see above
We were worried the Hotel would not be an easy walk from the City Railway Station but we found it was only 10 minutes at a very leisurely pace. From the Cathedral it was a straight walk along Storgata so you couldn't get lost and it was not a busy road. The hotel is next to the river, with a nice river walk. There are plenty of eating places if you didn't want to walk back to the City Centre. It was not far from Mathallen, a Food Hall by the river. We were also worried about the transfer from Oslo Airport to the City Centre as the taxi fares were very expensive. We pre booked with Flytoget return. As you walk from the arrival lounge, you see the signs for the Airport Express Train (Flytoget). They run every 10 minutes. They take 22 minutes to reach the City Centre. Very comfortable, plenty of seats, we had to catch a 8am flight, the trains run very early( we caught the 5am). The hotel room was fine, beds comfortable, shower facilities adequate,large dining room. Continental breakfast was good and the staff very helpful. They gave us a packed breakfast as we had to leave at 4-30am. The hotel was everything you need for a short stay visit. Very walkable to most of the Tourist Locations. The only down side was the cost of a pint, upwards of £10 and the lack of Traditional Restaurants. Plenty of fast food, but these were very expensive, pizza(£15),Burgers £7-9, Fish and Chips £11.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron, Ohio

Great Hotel.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Staff were warm and friendly. We enjoyed meeting Rafael at the desk, and eating at the large breakfast buffet.
Cons: Hotel was great in every way.
Location: Great location and central to shopping, restaurants, and sightseeing.
Hotel was conveniently located near train and sightseeing. Our warm was clean and quiet. We stayed for three days and wish we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Simple but nice

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Like it, like its cleaness, friendly staff, nice free breakfast, convenient location, Olso Pass for sale.
Cons: It would be nice to have a safe in the room, and have student discount Oslo Pass for sale.
Location: Close to Oslo central station, lots bus and tram lines accessible. On nice day, even in March, one can walk to water front, royal palace.
Stayed for 3 nights. The room is simple but nice and clean. Nice staff and convenient location, nice free breakfast. However, it seemed some young people lived next door and make lot of noises.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed in the Anker for 2 nights attending a conference, was given a room with a great view on the 7th floor, enjoyed the comfy bed and ok wifi. Saw very little of hotel as I left early and returned late.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
The room was quite nice. Great bed. Great location
4 out of 5
by Nicole

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel is centrally located, a short walk to the center. Very friendly and helpful staff, extensive breakfast included with the price. Rooms were a decent size, great price, and we had a really nice view of the river. The only minor thing was that when the cleaning staff came, they swapped out the towels but that was all. They did not make beds or appear to clean or vacuum anything else. We didn't care, but some might. I would definitely recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
by Borge from Oslo

Pleasant stay

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Good location, indoor parking, problem free stay. Only negative was lack of fridge in the room which led to the finding of milk from previous guests behind the curtain (guests left it there for keeping it cool). Maid should have found that, but it was no problem for me to throw it in the garbage myself.