Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel, away but yet close to big city

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: It might look old inside but nice and modern on inside. It is surrounded by forest, some room have great mountain views
Cons: Dinner menu, it's price to be exclusive but quite ordinary food for the money. My $40+ duck breast couldn't be cut with regular knife
Location: If you like hiking, enjoy hills and forest in addition to exploring Oslo, it's nice place and free parking.
Walking distance to tram to get to downtown Oslo (30 min ride) if you prefer not to drive. Nice breakfast buffet, nice pool and sauna. For dinner I would recommend nearby restaurant in Holmenkollen but don't miss breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Runar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jillian from United States

Great hotel!

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed staying at Lysebu. The hotel staff was great, they have a beautiful pool and sauna area and the breakfast was outstanding. The only thing we disliked was the shower. The water splashed out all over the bathroom floor leaving it soaked so we had to throw all of our towels down on the floor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Two nights. Great welcome and very helpful desk staff. Huge breakfast choice. Close to the metro stop and a soft glided into Oslo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and Relaxing Hotel!

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Our stay at the Lysebu Hotel was nothing short of wonderful! The hotel is located about 30 mins outside of Oslo (short and cheap tram ride), but its location in the foothills of northern Oslo really allowed us to experience both the city culture and enjoy the opportunity to take in the nature of Norway. There are multiple hiking trails that begin on the doorstep of the hotel. The hotel facilities (pool, sauna, bar/lounge) combined with its historical significance make it a unique stay off the usual tourist-beaten track. In addition, the hotel has the best customer service my wife and I have experienced from a European hotel in awhile. Kit and other colleagues went well out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable stay even without request from us, providing us with several helpful suggestions for our future travel plans. Don't be discouraged from booking this hotel due to its seemingly detached location! It's well worth the time and money saved to stay in this relaxing hotel just outside of Oslo!
5 out of 5
by David

Mountain retreat that is very private.

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
I forgot my toothpaste, so I had to buy a brush and paste from reception. Great coffee machine, nice areas to sit and beautiful country. Breakfast buffet is put out on serving plates not metal trays. Nice touch, but it is difficult to keep them filled.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Special comfortable place to the North of the city

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Unusual stay, warm reception, lots of breakfast items, though some of the warm food was cold on our weekend. Gym and pool. You need a car or the metro to get downtown. The in-room shower room is very tight. Free coffee, free parking. A sign or two would help to find the hotel and parking area more easily.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by James from Greensboro,NC

Lysebu is an Oslo gem

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic place from every point of view. Beautiful setting in hills 20 minutes outside Oslo but opposite side from airport so don't take taxi. Modern but homey. Great rooms, food, service, pool & sauna. Book ahead for dinner. 10 minute walk to Metro station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from hamburg

For nature lovers and quality aficionados

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Room cleaning service
Location: 500m above sea level , walking distance to ski slopes. 2 train stops to Holmenkollen and only 20 minutes by taxi or 45 minutes by train
Super food and wine, top Sommeliers and one of the best hotel experience in a long time.