Ratings based on 534 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay, friendly staff, fantastic breakfast, reasonable price
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome breakfast

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast is included and it's surprisingly good, although this was my first and only time in Norway, so not sure if complementary continental breakfast is like that in hotels everywhere in Norway.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Aiport Hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
A great airport hotel option. Less than ten minutes to the airport by car, I also noticed that they have a bus go straight to the hotel. The room is a good size, nice bathroom, nothing to critique in that regard. They also include a buffet breakfast which starts super early for people catching a morning flight. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Hotel in the Middle of Nowhere

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The breakfast buffet = amazing!
Cons: Staff friendliness.
Location: McDonald's is nearby...and it's expensive. The lines are always long. STAY AWAY! No restaurants nearby, only other hotels.
My travel partner selected this hotel so that we could stay close to the airport since we had a short time in Oslo. Poor decision. LOCATION This hotel was about a 10 minute drive to the airport. That is a $6 bus ride, $8.50 shuttle ride, and $35 taxi ride. It's my thought that you stay at hotels that close to avoid such transportation charges. The hotel also was about a 30 minute drive from the city of Oslo, which you can also get to by train from the airport. Don't cut corners by staying at any hotel in the airport hotel park...waste of money! HOTEL Hotel staff members seemed a bit chilly in the personality department, but they weren't mean. Rooms were clean, but the bed wasn't comfortable. If you're looking for a nice view, stay away from this place. Best part about the hotel was the food. Breakfast was amazingly delicious the entire time I was there. My review of the hotel is mostly hanging on the location. It's just not worth it the amount of money you pay (which was a decent amount). If you want to stay close to the airport, then stay at one of the two hotels that are attached the airport. Avoid this area if at all possible!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA. USA

Terrible front desk service

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The breakfast bar
Cons: Front desk service, night shift Room amenities up to the industry standards
Location: Close to Oslo airport
Arrived at midnight travel- weary. Clerk spent 15 minutes with non-customers while I waited (fully paid in advance). Directed outside to find my room. No rooms out there. On return, a flight attendant in the lobby directed me to where the rooms were inside. Once settled, no cup or glass in room, and no wifi code. I return to desk where the clerk found me a glass and gave me wifi code but said it sometimes didn't work. I also asked for a 6:15 wake up call. Well, it did NOT work! I had to call a friend in the States to wake me at 6 so I wouldn't miss my 8:30 flight. I got a wake up call at 2:15 am, then one at 6:15 after hearing from my friend first. The clerk always said, "You're welcome!" Never waiting for a thank you first. I will cancel my 4 bookings this month with this hotel and re-book with Radisson Blu by the airport. It may cost more, but I know the service will be strong. I am a writer researching all over Norway and do not like shoddy service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Good for overnight before flight.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Near airport and gas station.
Hotel still 6-7 Km to airport. Hotel has shuttle to airport with 70 NOK fee paid in front door machine. It is good for rental car tourist to stay before flight. Hotel is clean, comfortable with good breakfast. Bath room with heated floor and very comfortable. There is a McDonald restaurant and a gas station in front of hotel. I had a rental car to return. I can full the tank and easy to return car from this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bunk beds

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: close to airport
we needed a room for three people near the airport and this fit the bill. did not know we would end up with bunk beds....in a very small room that couldn't fit more than us and our luggage. for $175 it was pretty pricey. room was clean and well kept but I wish we had booked something in the city and just left earlier. McDonald's is right outside as was a gas station. breakfast looked good but we did not make time to eat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near Oslo airport

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Ebookers
The hotel is dated. The staff weren't very friendly. Only 2 lumpy pillows on the queen sized bed and when i asked for 2 more it seemed to be a big deal. Hair dryer was pathetic. Red stains on bed sheet. I asked for the quietest room possible but they put us right next to the very old stairs and on the side facing the road and there were t many people staying there so I don't know why they placed us there. It was very noisy. Room too warm, no way to regulate temp. The landing between the top of the stairs and the hallway has a very large hump that is an accident waiting to happen, never mind a fire hazard. The stairs are almost as bad.
4 out of 5
by Sanjay s a

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Scandic Gardermoen, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, would like to thank you for your kind rating after your recent stay with us at Scandic Gardermoen. Hope to see you again :) Best regards Theressa Hansen and Team Scandic Gardermoen
5 out of 5
by April from California

Great Place to Stay

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
The receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful in giving directions, and setting up a Scandic account. When we asked where we could find an Apple store to see if my broken iPhone could be fixed, another guest (who was a tour guide who stays there regularly) volunteered to take us to a mall 10 min. from the hotel. It was in a location we probably would have never found without his help. After, he also helped acclimate us to Norway and gave us invaluable travel tips. Both the receptionist and guest gave us a great introduction to Norway and its friendly people. The hotel was exceptionally clean, the dinner was great and the breakfast perhaps the best hotel breakfast I've had. The only problem was in finding it in the first place. GPS didn't work to get us there and we had to stop at another hotel to find that they were tucked into a strange area just down the street close to an McDonalds and ESSO station. Not the hotel's fault, but frustrating to keep circling the area but couldn't find our hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Scandic Gardermoen, Hotel Management
Dear April, Thank you for visiting Scandic Gardermoen and thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Our staff is on every day to give our guests good experiences, so we are very pleased to hear that you are satisfied with your stay and the service level at the front desk :) Feedback is very important to us and we will share this with the relevant departments at the hotel. We are looking forward to see you again! Best regards Theressa Hansen and Team Scandic Gardermoen