Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Hotel in the Middle of Nowhere

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The breakfast buffet = amazing!
Cons: Staff friendliness.
Location: McDonald's is nearby...and it's expensive. The lines are always long. STAY AWAY! No restaurants nearby, only other hotels.
My travel partner selected this hotel so that we could stay close to the airport since we had a short time in Oslo. Poor decision. LOCATION This hotel was about a 10 minute drive to the airport. That is a $6 bus ride, $8.50 shuttle ride, and $35 taxi ride. It's my thought that you stay at hotels that close to avoid such transportation charges. The hotel also was about a 30 minute drive from the city of Oslo, which you can also get to by train from the airport. Don't cut corners by staying at any hotel in the airport hotel park...waste of money! HOTEL Hotel staff members seemed a bit chilly in the personality department, but they weren't mean. Rooms were clean, but the bed wasn't comfortable. If you're looking for a nice view, stay away from this place. Best part about the hotel was the food. Breakfast was amazingly delicious the entire time I was there. My review of the hotel is mostly hanging on the location. It's just not worth it the amount of money you pay (which was a decent amount). If you want to stay close to the airport, then stay at one of the two hotels that are attached the airport. Avoid this area if at all possible!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA. USA

Terrible front desk service

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The breakfast bar
Cons: Front desk service, night shift Room amenities up to the industry standards
Location: Close to Oslo airport
Arrived at midnight travel- weary. Clerk spent 15 minutes with non-customers while I waited (fully paid in advance). Directed outside to find my room. No rooms out there. On return, a flight attendant in the lobby directed me to where the rooms were inside. Once settled, no cup or glass in room, and no wifi code. I return to desk where the clerk found me a glass and gave me wifi code but said it sometimes didn't work. I also asked for a 6:15 wake up call. Well, it did NOT work! I had to call a friend in the States to wake me at 6 so I wouldn't miss my 8:30 flight. I got a wake up call at 2:15 am, then one at 6:15 after hearing from my friend first. The clerk always said, "You're welcome!" Never waiting for a thank you first. I will cancel my 4 bookings this month with this hotel and re-book with Radisson Blu by the airport. It may cost more, but I know the service will be strong. I am a writer researching all over Norway and do not like shoddy service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Good for overnight before flight.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Near airport and gas station.
Hotel still 6-7 Km to airport. Hotel has shuttle to airport with 70 NOK fee paid in front door machine. It is good for rental car tourist to stay before flight. Hotel is clean, comfortable with good breakfast. Bath room with heated floor and very comfortable. There is a McDonald restaurant and a gas station in front of hotel. I had a rental car to return. I can full the tank and easy to return car from this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bunk beds

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: close to airport
we needed a room for three people near the airport and this fit the bill. did not know we would end up with bunk beds....in a very small room that couldn't fit more than us and our luggage. for $175 it was pretty pricey. room was clean and well kept but I wish we had booked something in the city and just left earlier. McDonald's is right outside as was a gas station. breakfast looked good but we did not make time to eat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grefsen

Bra hotell med god beliggenhet

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Hyggelig betjening og bra beliggenhet
Cons: Renhold og luft på rom
Location: Nærheten til flyplass og Jessheim
Bra hotell men dårlig funksjon av klima-anlegg så dårlig luftventilasjon på rommet. Dårlig renhold o hjørner dusj
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheerful reception even at 02.45!

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Friendly helpful reception, a comfortable room, a superb breakfast. It was just what we needed after the delayed flight.
Location: We were only there overnight between planes. It is quite far from the airport, and an expensive taxi-ride if you miss the shuttle bus.
Our plane finally arrived at Gardermoen 4 hours late. We'd been able to phone reception at Scandic from Gatwick, London and were reassured that reception would still be open when we arrived. This took a lot of the pressure off us. On leaving the hotel, when the airport shuttle bus for was 30 minutes late, the receptionist brought out chocolate bars for the waiting passengers - very thoughtful and much appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Theressa, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for visiting Scandic Gardermoen and thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Our staff is on every day to give our guests good experiences, so we are very pleased to hear that you are satisfied with your stay and the service level at the front desk :) Feedback is very important to us and we will share this with the relevant departments at the hotel. We are looking forward to see you again! Best regards Theressa Hansen and Team Scandic Gardermoen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

God beliggenhet

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Beliggenhet og betjeningen
Cons: Renhold på toalett/bad ikke godt nok.
Location: Shopping - atraksjoner - pubber.
Hotellet ligger fint og sentralt. God mat. Hyggelig betjening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lübeck

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Schnelle, unkomplizierte Verbindung zum Airport. Hilfsbereites, kompetentes Personal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2016 by Scandic Gardermoen, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, Vielen Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung Willkommen zurück zu uns ein zweites Mal Freundliche Grüße Theressa Hansen Scandic Gardermoen
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK für Übernachtung, um auf Flug zu warten

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Frühstück
Cons: Anlage liegt ungünstig und ist ein reiner Platten-Zweckbau, der von vorneherein völlig Flair-frei geplant und errichtet wurde.
Location: Flughafen - McDonalds - Tankstelle - Fliegen
Habe schon oft und sehr gerne in SCANDIC Hotels genächtigt und war daher immer vom gebotenen Standart sehr angetan. Abgesehen vom hervorragenden Frühstück bietet das Gardemoen - Scandic allerdings allenfalls Komfort und Atmosphäre eines amerikanischen billigen Motels........
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Standard hotel, needs a regeneration. Dated and very worn